We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent in Tehachapi” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Tehachapi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn Tehachapi to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn Tehachapi
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Steuber Rd., Tehachapi, CA 93561   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Tehachapi
Saint Joseph, Missouri
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Decent in Tehachapi”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I stayed here six days for work. The staff were courteous and friendly, the hotel layout can be a little daunting but the courtyard was nice. It would be nice if they had more than one washer and dryer for such a big hotel. Room was clean and the maids did a good job every day. They have a fridge and microwave in the room. There is a bar/eatery 50 ft from the hotel which was decent to eat at and a gas station within walking distance. The old style wall mount heater kept waking me at night as it was noisy. But overall I would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    61
    31
    21
    18
See reviews for
64
52
20
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Grass Valley, California
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed one night as a stopover as we needed a hotel accepting dogs. There is an area in an adjacent lot to walk the dog and a dog park 5 minutes away. Rooms were clean with no dog odors. All dog rooms are in one room at rear of hotel which is the quiet side as trains pass close to the front ( as they do for very place in town). Restaurant next to hotels has take out menu and you can bring food to your room. Breakfast was disappointing, customers eating earlier made a mess at serving area and choices were limited. Only ate yoghurt. Good value for dog friendly hotel. No extra charge for dogs.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Apparently I stayed in the newer wing of this motel, & it was very fresh & clean. There's a lot of road & some train noise, but with the room fan on it was hardly noticeable.Bed & pillows comfy; shower great. The gal at the front desk was exceptionally professional & personable. The breakfast was a typical white-bread, boring affair; if a mid-priced motel chain had the courage to do something different (diverse, healthy) it would make a HUGE difference for travelers. I didn't have my dog with me this trip, but I always have to commend La Quinta for the most fair & intelligent pet policy in the business. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Because of the location I thought I would give La Quinta another try. Unfortunately, once again my experience was less than ideal. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the property and room were clean. But, half way through the night, after the bedroom heater came on, the smoke detector began to beep and would not stop. Even after turning the heater off and running the vent fan to cool the room, I had to move to the couch in the other room to try and sleep. I did get a discount, but it did not make up for the lack of sleep.

Room Tip: The jacuzzi suite was relaxing, with a fireplace. Just be aware of the smoke detector issue mentione...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

It was an excellent choice to choose La Quinta Inn Tehachapi. The hotel staff and management are very professional and friendly. They make you feel that your at home. The room was really nice and big and was really clean. I indeed recomment to try and stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stay at this hotel monthly while doing workshops at the prison. The Staff is awesome and the rooms are comfortable & clean. The breakfast could stand a little more improvement but is adequate if you don't want eggs or meat. We don't have time to use the amenities but they have a nice exercise room and pool area. La Quinta is our favorite place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Springs, California, USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I routinely stay at this motel because it is clean, convenient and the staff is always very friendly and professional. Many improvements have been made inside and outside this year. The restaurant next door reopened and new service station and fast food stores will be opening soon. A large truck stop with several fast food restaurants is very close by. The rooms are older but very clean with refrigerators, microwave, coffee pot, ironing board and free wifi to name a few perks. The grounds are well maintained and clean thanks to many dog owners cleaning up after their four legged companions! This is one of my favorite places to rest during my travels!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn Tehachapi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Tehachapi

Address: 500 Steuber Rd., Tehachapi, CA 93561
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Tehachapi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Tehachapi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — La Quinta Inn Tehachapi 2*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right off Highway 58, exit # 151, the La Quinta Inn Tehachapi hotel greets guests with a courtyard setting, inviting lobby, and friendly staff. We are about halfway between Las Vegas and San Francisco. Enjoy the fresh air of Tehachapi Valley, here at the summit of the Tehachapi Mountains, where you will find something for everyone - from small town neighborhoods, mountains, horses, ...see moresprawling ranches, luxury homes, to quaint shops, arts, and dining in this cool oasis. Guests can enjoy a garden setting with our outdoor pool and Jacuzzi, a full business center complete with free wireless high-speed Internet access, free incoming fax, pc printer, and copy service and an on-site fitness centers.Restaurant and Bar just across from the hotel. 24/7 Subway and McDonalds just minutes away from the hotel.Each of our spacious guest rooms features free wireless high-speed internet access, Smart HD TV with cable very soon, refrigerator, microwave, and so much more. Wake up to a our Free Bright Side BreakfastTM each morning, near the lobby.Whether it's business, vacation, or you are just passing through, La Quinta Inn Tehachapi is where you can enjoy a level of comfort above most other hotels in Tehachapi, California ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, LaQuinta, Priceline, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your La Quinta Inn Tehachapi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn Tehachapi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.