We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful RUSTIC Surprise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tahoma Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tahoma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tahoma Lodge
Save
You added Tahoma Lodge to your Saves list
7018 Westlake Blvd., Tahoma, CA 96142   |  
Hotel amenities
Roseville, CA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful RUSTIC Surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Just returned from a great stay at the Tahoma Lodge on the West Shore of Lake Tahoe. While most other lodges have fallen in these hard times (several are now foreclosed), the Tahoma Lodge is still alive and well!

It has to be due to the outstanding customer service given by the manager, Natalia, or the wonderful owners (who's names escape me). They were fabulous in all aspects of providing a safe, warm, clean, and lovely setting for a relaxing weekend!

Yep...not the 4 Seasons, Westin etc. but WHY would one pay those prices? And let me ask...when you do pay that, do you get the owner, personally checking in the evening to be sure you have all you need and bringing coffee and mugs for the group? I don't think soooooo! Do yourself a favor and give a rustic cabin a try - after all, you are in old Tahoe! :)

Room Tip: The Aspen Cabin and apartment are right near the road/entrance however, those who have stayed there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    6
    1
    3
    2
See reviews for
9
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

It irritates me for those that expect a, 'Four Seasons' experience.. Ya sure, just back from Bacara - in Santa Barbara - but also paid $750/night. So let's keep things in perspective folks...

We love this place - cozy cabin with a fireplace in one of the best quiet areas on the lake. We like to go here to get away from it all; make dinner-in most nights and enjoy the fresh air and beauty the lake and mountains have to offer.

Our favorite cabin has a traditional wood-burning fireplace with endless free wood, where there are also stocked (pots/pans, glassware, plates, utensils -etc) kitchens, outside grilles, a pool and spa with access to a cute beach down the street (walking distance about a block) and little market up the road. Although we didn't take advantage of them, there are also books and games in the room as well.

Natalia, the property manager is very, very sweet. Besides performing her expected duties (and being available 24/7 via cell), she even watched our Boxer one evening while we went our for dinner with some local friends (as our doggie has separation anxiety when left alone, and it was too cold to leave him in the car/snowing).

So sorry - no, not the Ritz, but if you want a fun little affordable cabin at the lake 'to get away from it all' - this place should be on your short list.

Room Tip: Ask for Natalia!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

We stayed 6 nights at the Jeffrey cottage with 3 other skiers and we all loved this cottage..
Some furniture were old but comfortable and beds were great to sleep on. No wonder we slept well and so warmly ( the outside temp was 4 deg.), Our bed had 4 fleece blankets, Tks to the German lady Natallia who carefully provided the details for our maximum comfort.

Kitchen is well equipped and complete, it had more pans and pots than our condo in Manhattan, NYC. Even steak knives was so sharp. If we come back to the Lake Tahoe
again, we'd stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

We stayed in the Aspen Cabin for three nights in October.

The good.... A nice kitchen with full-sized refrigerator. A new couch in the living room and a new flat panel TV! The bed had new, clean (SOFT!) linens and was very warm. The location is within walking distance to West Side Pizza (VERY good!), the local general store, and the beach.

The bad... The pull-down stairs leading up the loft where the bed is...that was interesting. The heater made a noise that kept us up. The futon looked to be in a sad state (we didn't use it).

Natalia, when I finally met her, was very nice. She gave us wood and matches for a fire (but we couldn't get it to work since the grate in the fireplace was broken). All the other cabins like this in Tahoma have closed. We hope that Natalia can stay in business!

Room Tip: The Aspen and Fir cabins are near the front of the property and are, therefore, by the busy street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacifica, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

They called this "rustic", that's a design term. This place was "old",incredible out dated. The furniture was uncomfortable, the room arrangement just did not work, the toilet didn't flush without holding down the handle, some of the lights worked, and some did not. Now,we are an older couple, the loft containing the bed had a drop down ladder that HAD to be lifted up when sleeping or you would take one step out of bed and find yourself on the ground floor via the hole for the retractable ladder. You think this would be worth mentioning when booking to see if people are comfortable with this. We were not slept in a pull out sofa on the ground floor that was not fit for human comfort. So keep driving, keep searching the net for a more comfortable environment. Oh yea, nice pool not heated, temp drops to 38 degrees at night, no swimmers in this pool.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san jose
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

When we arrived there were a couple of ants on the floor. We vacuumed them up. They multiplied. We vacuumed the entire place, removed the hall way runner carpet and found a bunch. Vacuumed more. We could not walk around without shoes. We called the management and they came the next day and let off bug bombs in our cabin. This meant having to pack up our food and stuff and get out of the place for a couple of hours. When we returned, the windows were open, bug spray cans scattered around and you guessed it, many ants crawling on the floor....alive.

Not my idea of a good vacation.

We won't be back.

About the town of Tahoma. We aren't outdoorsy people, so Tahoma is not a good location for us. If you're into hiking and stuff, you'll like the location. If you want shopping and dining, book something in South Shore.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viroqua, WI
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

Natalia is great! We booked ahead and had the whole resort to ourselves (8 cabins). Many
options to suit all our different families. Just like we each had our own house, but yet right together for 3 days. Lots of beauty and funs things to do in the area.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tahoma Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tahoma Lodge

Address: 7018 Westlake Blvd., Tahoma, CA 96142
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoma
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Tahoma
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Tahoma Hotel Tahoma

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tahoma Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.