We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful RUSTIC Surprise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tahoma Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Tahoma Lodge to your Saves list
Tahoma Lodge
3.0 of 5 Ranch   |   7018 Westlake Blvd., Tahoma, CA 96142   |  
Hotel amenities
Roseville, CA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful RUSTIC Surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Just returned from a great stay at the Tahoma Lodge on the West Shore of Lake Tahoe. While most other lodges have fallen in these hard times (several are now foreclosed), the Tahoma Lodge is still alive and well!

It has to be due to the outstanding customer service given by the manager, Natalia, or the wonderful owners (who's names escape me). They were fabulous in all aspects of providing a safe, warm, clean, and lovely setting for a relaxing weekend!

Yep...not the 4 Seasons, Westin etc. but WHY would one pay those prices? And let me ask...when you do pay that, do you get the owner, personally checking in the evening to be sure you have all you need and bringing coffee and mugs for the group? I don't think soooooo! Do yourself a favor and give a rustic cabin a try - after all, you are in old Tahoe! :)

Room Tip: The Aspen Cabin and apartment are right near the road/entrance however, those who have stayed there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bluecrew6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

We stayed 6 nights at the Jeffrey cottage with 3 other skiers and we all loved this cottage..
Some furniture were old but comfortable and beds were great to sleep on. No wonder we slept well and so warmly ( the outside temp was 4 deg.), Our bed had 4 fleece blankets, Tks to the German lady Natallia who carefully provided the details for our maximum comfort.

Kitchen is well equipped and complete, it had more pans and pots than our condo in Manhattan, NYC. Even steak knives was so sharp. If we come back to the Lake Tahoe
again, we'd stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yuzo n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

We stayed in the Aspen Cabin for three nights in October.

The good.... A nice kitchen with full-sized refrigerator. A new couch in the living room and a new flat panel TV! The bed had new, clean (SOFT!) linens and was very warm. The location is within walking distance to West Side Pizza (VERY good!), the local general store, and the beach.

The bad... The pull-down stairs leading up the loft where the bed is...that was interesting. The heater made a noise that kept us up. The futon looked to be in a sad state (we didn't use it).

Natalia, when I finally met her, was very nice. She gave us wood and matches for a fire (but we couldn't get it to work since the grate in the fireplace was broken). All the other cabins like this in Tahoma have closed. We hope that Natalia can stay in business!

Room Tip: The Aspen and Fir cabins are near the front of the property and are, therefore, by the busy street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank donia1022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacifica, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

They called this "rustic", that's a design term. This place was "old",incredible out dated. The furniture was uncomfortable, the room arrangement just did not work, the toilet didn't flush without holding down the handle, some of the lights worked, and some did not. Now,we are an older couple, the loft containing the bed had a drop down ladder that HAD to be lifted up when sleeping or you would take one step out of bed and find yourself on the ground floor via the hole for the retractable ladder. You think this would be worth mentioning when booking to see if people are comfortable with this. We were not slept in a pull out sofa on the ground floor that was not fit for human comfort. So keep driving, keep searching the net for a more comfortable environment. Oh yea, nice pool not heated, temp drops to 38 degrees at night, no swimmers in this pool.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pacificajr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san jose
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

When we arrived there were a couple of ants on the floor. We vacuumed them up. They multiplied. We vacuumed the entire place, removed the hall way runner carpet and found a bunch. Vacuumed more. We could not walk around without shoes. We called the management and they came the next day and let off bug bombs in our cabin. This meant having to pack up our food and stuff and get out of the place for a couple of hours. When we returned, the windows were open, bug spray cans scattered around and you guessed it, many ants crawling on the floor....alive.

Not my idea of a good vacation.

We won't be back.

About the town of Tahoma. We aren't outdoorsy people, so Tahoma is not a good location for us. If you're into hiking and stuff, you'll like the location. If you want shopping and dining, book something in South Shore.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msmcelligott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viroqua, WI
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

Natalia is great! We booked ahead and had the whole resort to ourselves (8 cabins). Many
options to suit all our different families. Just like we each had our own house, but yet right together for 3 days. Lots of beauty and funs things to do in the area.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank dcaViroqua_WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

aspen cabin . nice and warm when 28f outside cannot fault price or value, nice and clean would stay here again when in tahoe ,

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank piraterob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tahoma
12.0 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#19 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 471 reviews
11.9 mi away
Inn by the Lake
Inn by the Lake
#24 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 518 reviews
10.3 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#5 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 stars 920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tahoma Meadows B&B Cottages
2.7 mi away
Cedar Crest Cottages
Cedar Crest Cottages
#1 of 3 in Homewood
5.0 of 5 stars 9 reviews
12.6 mi away
Cedar Glen Lodge
Cedar Glen Lodge
#1 of 7 in Tahoe Vista
5.0 of 5 stars 730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tahoma Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tahoma Lodge

Address: 7018 Westlake Blvd., Tahoma, CA 96142
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoma
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Tahoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Tahoma Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Tahoma Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tahoma Hotel Tahoma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing