We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could Not Be Cleaner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tahoe Lake Cottages

Tahoe Lake Cottages
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tahoma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tahoe Lake Cottages
7030 Hwy. 89, Tahoma, CA 96142   |  
Hotel amenities
Southern California
1 review
“Could Not Be Cleaner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2008

My wife and I were looking for a safe and clean place to stay in the Tahoma area. We stayed at the Tahoe Lake Cottages and was very pleased overall. Although a little pricey compared to renting a house, it was just right for the two of us AND no cleaning fee!!

When I say our cabin was clean I mean it was clean. We did not use the pool so cannot comment on it. The location was great for us and we would definitely stay there again.

Bottom line: If you are looking for a quiet, non hectic, clean place to stay in the Homewood, Tahoma area I suggest you include these cottages on your short list of places to stay.

Paul Gorsky

  • Liked — The cabin was spotless
  • Disliked — Cable TV reception could have been better
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    1
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
1
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    1 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Napa Valley
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2008

You can find a house at Lake Tahoe to rent for the price we paid for this shack. The experience from arrival was an omen. No one was there to check us in. Outside the office is a wall mounted phone with a number to call. A man answered and said the key was on the desk and the cottage was unlocked. We found out later he was in Maine.
The only staff around was a family who did the housekeeping and gardening. Their kids were playing around our cottage. Not the quiet getaway we envisioned.
The last day the host was in the office. He had not given us a credit card charge to sign. I asked him to make one and give me a receipt before we departed the next morning. He never did.
Do yourself a favor and rent a house. You might pay less than the $225 rate we paid.

  • Liked — It was clean
  • Disliked — price was robbery for what we got
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piedmont, CA
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2008

We stayed in one of the motel rooms. It's tiny, no closet and not enough hooks to hang wet clothes after a day of skiing. The shower curtain doesn't really work and water does get all over the floor as other reviews have noted. However, it's clean, cheap, quiet and just a few miles from Homewood.

  • Liked — Great price for ski season
  • Disliked — Shower curtain doesn't work -- water all over the floor.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2006

As previous reviewer stated, the motel rooms were TINY and the shower was a joke (Our friends staying in a 2-room cabin had the same awkward tiny shower with an inadequate curtain). We weren't expecting the ritz, but even with moderate expectations we were disappointed. Our room was heated by two space heaters, the bed was not firm, pillows were flat, there was no maid service, furniture was ripped (in both rooms that we frequented during the weekend) and the hot tub was only luke warm. We made our reservation by phone, never received a written confirmation and were charged for the entire stay (not just a deposit, as the website indicates) when we made the reservation.

On a positive note, the room did provide a toaster oven, fridge, alarm clock, cable tv and coffee maker (though no coffee!), along with 6 bars of soap (but no shampoo). Each room/cabin has a nice, small deck in front so you can sit outside and enjoy your morning coffee or evening coctail if you desire. And of course, the lake is beautiful...isn't that why we come to Tahoe anyway??

Overall, I felt that the place was overpriced even with the off-season rates. There were no "extras" in the room, and the overall condition of the room was worn. We weren't even sure what time to check out, since there was no sign in the room, and we didn't see anyone in the office during the two days that we were there. There is no way I would stay in one of the motel rooms if I was in Tahoe to ski since there is no room to hang wet clothes or stash gear. The cabins would be a better bet for a ski vacation...and only then if the other places in town were booked!

  • Liked — Nice to have an in-room fridge and toaster oven.
  • Disliked — Shower was awful, no service (maid service, front desk, etc).
  • Tips/Secrets — Bring your own pillow! We loved the Christy Hill Restaurant (dinner) and the Sawtooth Cafe (breakfast), both in Tahoe City.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2006

The motel-style rooms are tiny. There was no closet and we had to hang our clothes on a hook on the wall. The bathroom has only a tiny shower with a disfuntional curtain - water got all over the bathroom floor. There was no maid service and no additional towels. The rooms overlooked a plot of dirt.

On the positive end, the pool and hot tub were great. It's an quick hop to the lake (although you do have to cross a busy street). The larger cabins looked nicer and the christmas lights, even in Summer, are a nice touch.

Pisanos pizza, just north of Tahoma, is fantastic.

Stayed August 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2003

The pool was great! Nice and warm- the hot tub was warmer- nice and relaxing. Loved the bon fires- marshmellows and fluffy bunnies. Cabins REALLY are clean, cozy and comfortable. Really nice towels! For a relaxing Tahoe vacation "Tahoe Lake Cottages" is the place to go.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tahoe Lake Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tahoe Lake Cottages

Address: 7030 Hwy. 89, Tahoma, CA 96142
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoma
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty lodging in Tahoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
Tahoe Lake Cottages Hotel Tahoma

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tahoe Lake Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Tahoe Lake Cottages to your Saves list