We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable, cozy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Norfolk Woods Inn

Norfolk Woods Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tahoma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Norfolk Woods Inn
Save
You added Norfolk Woods Inn to your Saves list
6941 West Lake Blvd., Tahoma, CA 96142   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Tahoma B&B and Inns
Bay Area CA
1 review
“Clean, comfortable, cozy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2010

This inn has been in the area for a very long time and has seen so much Tahoe history. The rooms are small and on the older side but very clean and cute. We stayed here for a weekend and it was lively and colorful with a great staff and beautiful weather (grabbing a beer downstairs and drinking it while sitting on the chairs outside the room was very romantic!)

There seems to be a lot of changes going on there, a restaurant downstairs (89 and Pine) with excellent food, and a very nice staff. If you are checking in after hours with no reservation it might be tough to get the innkeeper on the phone since she lives on the property and there is no actual "reservation" person on duty downstairs, hence the locked door (to keep the current guests safe and sound and the bears/raccoons out!)

There are many little cabins on the property that are worth the week's stay as well. There used to be a pool and hopefully the owners can get it up and running again soon since it would be a fantastic draw to the sleepy little town. Down the street is the famous PDQ market and West Side Pizza is next door as well. It's only an 8 mile drive into Tahoe City and a short walk across the street to the lake. In the back of the property is a great community park and amphitheater.

All in all, this is a wonderful place for the cost and the atmosphere. If you are looking for a 5 star room, move on... but for a warm, cared for, historic inn you're at the right place. We are definitely going back this winter to ski and this summer for another quick vacation.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    1
    0
    0
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2009

I read the reviews and was a little scared but they must be old ones .
This place was clean and compy.We asked the Inn keeper for coffee when we checked in at 8 pm she was very nice and brought us coffee to our room.Great food>>>>
Good job! We'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2008

This is not the first time I''ve stayed at the Norfolk Woods Inn but after the first time I thought I would never go back. We could not ge a room anywhere else due to our trip being last minute but I ended up getting lucky and finding a room at Norfolk. Last time I was there the service sucked and the cabins were not up to par but this time it seemed to be much better. Before leaving I asked the front desk girl when they had made the changes and she told me that they were recently under new ownership. Finally some people buy that place that seem to know what they are doing. Keep up the good work and making changes!!!

Stayed December 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2006

My husband and I needed a place to stay near Homewood for one night while visiting the grandkids. When trying to check in (the sign stated OPEN) the front door was locked, using the phone outside the front door was useless as no one answered. The lady had told me on the phone that they lived there and were there all the time. Not true. I phoned later in the day around 3 PM and the daughter did answer and said that they were out that morning. Luckily we were only 2 miles away. When we came back that night we again had to use the outside phone to get the daughter again to open up. No outside lights were on. The vision of ours being the only vehicle in the parking lot should have told us something. She told us we could have the "quiet" room upstairs #6. I asked what time was breakfast and she hesitated and said about 9AM. The room was small, smelled like cat pee, no washcloths, no T.V. very bad lighting, shower was very tiny, only one paper wrapped bar of soap,one half roll of TP only. The traffic noise keep me awake most of the night. We wanted to get out of there early the next morning so went downstairs to check out. No one was there again, we called on their outside phone and no one answered. We left a check and the keys. Sure wish we had read your review before hand.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2006

As a family, we look forward to short getaways when we can and were looking forward to staying at Norfolk Woods Inn since it's a short distance away. It was a 3-day weekend and wanted to stay for 2 nights. We stayed at Norfolk 6 years ago and had a wonderful time and were hoping for the same, but we were heavily disappointed. The list is long for the "bad" and short on the "good".
THE ARRIVAL: First of all, there was no manager or other person to ck in with. You had to call on a phone located outside the front door. No information was taken from us once she arrived. She pulled a key out of her pocket (this was for the front door) and we had to ask twice for our room key. The place had a dusky, bad odor. There were dead plants, cobwebs and dust everywhere. She said we could watch TV, but it was broken. The glass cover in front of the fireplace was broken and looked like it was about to fall apart. The fireplace looked like it had not been cleaned out in months. The entrance looked more like a storage area than a sitting area with worn-out chairs and dirty carpet. It was very cold inside as well. The snow was not properly removed in the walkway and had to be careful when going in and out of the hotel. The manager (or whatever she is titled) parked her truck in the middle of the parking area and we were not able to get around her vehicle. Parking was very limited.
OUR ROOM: We stayed at the end in Rm #7. We had a nice king size bed and my children were to sleep on a trundle bed; however, the bottom mattress of the bed was missing and she said there was only a pad for my youngest son to sleep on. She only gave us sheets and no blankets for him to sleep on. The windows were single-paned and cold air leaked in. My son found the heater control just outside our door and we cranked it up to 85, but were still cold. On the plus side, in the large closet in the room where there was old hangers and newpapers, we had towels galore. There was no maid service, no trash pick-up. We cleaned our own room and took out our own garbage. The manager lived on the 3rd story and the ceiling/floor was so thin you could hear her (or whoever) walking around - a lot of creaks; not a lot of insulation obviously.
THE BATHROOM: It was cute, but very, very small. There was no place to put all your stuff except on the toilet seat/lid. Thank goodness the water was at least hot.
After unpacking, we thought it would be nice to have a fire to get warm by, but we were disappointed to find out that no one had started a fire. Instead, my husband stated one for us. While sitting by the fire, another guest arrived and had reservations for a cabin. She said the next day that they had to start their own fire with wood they bought and the highest temp it got inside was 64 degrees. She was very disappointed because they had people coming in to town as well to join them. Needless to say, she found other accomodations.
The next morning, there was just warm, not hot coffee and prewrapped pastries. Nothing to brag about. Our 2nd morning (why we stayed 2 nights, I'll never know) there was coffee, but it was from the day before! We couldn't wait to get out of there. We are a family who is easily pleased, but we were pushed to the max. When you work hard and want a get-away now and then, you hope to have a good experience. I am sorry to say that I will never stay here again. I can't express how seriously disappointed we were. One star rating is too high for this dump. There are more and better options in the area.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2005

The Norfolk Woods Inn has to be the worse place we've ever stayed at. If there were a lower rating than terrible, this place would merit it. Don't be fooled by the pictures on their website. Those are pictures of the one new cabin on the property and are not representative of the property as a whole. Some of the problems encountered were as follows:

1.No adult supervision or management available
2.No snow removal plan. We needed to shovel our steps and porch – with our own shovel! The walkway to our steps was not cleared after snowstorm on 12/29. Very painful watching a teenage girl trying to push a snow blower through 48” of snow. The restaurant owner could drive the bucket loader, but snow did not get cleared until well after breakfast hours. It took us over an hour to leave after digging out our 4-wheel drive GMC Envoy twice after getting stuck in the driveway. Again, thanks to the restaurant owner for finally clearing our path after he dealt with the fire department investigating a gas leak and red tagging his kitchen.
3.No heat in upstairs bedrooms
4.Windows not insulated – blowing snow on our face through bottom of back bedroom window. Lovely at 3:00 AM!
5.Cushions on sleeper sofa are old and do not adequately cover the large bar of the sleeper underneath. You end up sitting (or laying) on the cold bar. Sofa cushions had previous rips sewn closed
6.No other seating in the living room other than an uncomfortable “timber” chair or the dining chairs
7.Bathroom shower is useless for anyone over 5’5” tall (my husband is 6’ 2” tall)
8.Limited or no maid service (one day they pulled the covers over the pillows on the beds)
9.No daily cleaning or vacuuming
10.Cottage living room had cobwebs and dust
11.No microwave in this “fully equipped kitchen”, along with no light in refrigerator, or replacement bulb available, pilot light in oven would not stay lit, no soup bowls (eventually provided) or cooking utensils such as a spatula, etc.
12.Phone line was shared – when accessing a dial-up ISP we had to check to see if the line was already in use. And it was on numerous occasions.
13.Porch light not grounded, creating a shock hazard when you touched screws protruding through the inside wall
14.No cable TV all day and night Friday (12/31) and none on Saturday morning before we left.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tahoma
12.0 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#20 of 71 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 299 reviews
5.1 mi away
Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge
12.0 mi away
Inn by the Lake
Inn by the Lake
#28 of 71 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tahoma Meadows B&B Cottages
12.6 mi away
Cedar Glen Lodge
Cedar Glen Lodge
#1 of 7 in Tahoe Vista
4.5 of 5 stars 663 reviews
6.3 mi away
Granlibakken Tahoe
Granlibakken Tahoe
#1 of 7 in Tahoe City
4.0 of 5 stars 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norfolk Woods Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norfolk Woods Inn

Address: 6941 West Lake Blvd., Tahoma, CA 96142
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoma
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Tahoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Norfolk Woods Hotel Tahoma

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Norfolk Woods Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.