We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You wont beat the location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday House to your Saves list
Holiday House
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7276 North Lake Blvd., P.O.Box 229, Tahoe Vista, CA 96148   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Tahoe Vista
Bristol
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“You wont beat the location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

My husband and I only stayed at the Holiday House for one night. The view is totally outstanding with a nice decking area to sit out on. We ate lunch next door at Captain John's which is set out on decking with again, fantastic views and dinner a little further on at the SteakHouse which was good quality and value. There is also a Safeway for stocks about a mile away and a Laundry attached to the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    15
    4
    2
    5
See reviews for
15
19
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pueblo, Colorado, United States
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This is one of the few hotels that actually face the lake - a real jewel with only 6 suites. It has beautiful views - could not get enough of the scenery through the huge windows. The kitchenette was perfect for breakfast and lunch preparation and even a simple dinner - small refrigerator, coffee machine, microwave, toaster, small cooktop and oven. I don't go on vacation to cook, so it worked out well for my husband and me. It is very rustic - tongue and groove pine paneling in all rooms, even the bathroom. Coffee, Tazo tea, salt and pepper, and sugar were all provided by Alvina, the owner, who is a jewel herself. Comfortable bed with lovely sheets, fresh towels everyday if you want them, nice sofa was a queen sleeper but we never opened it, lots of chairs/pillows/coverlets outside on the deck for your comfort. It was a little chilly when we were there but the sun was warm, so the coverlets were a nice addition if you got a little cool while enjoying the great outdoors. If you like rustic, charming inns, you will love the Holiday House. If you like the glitz and luxury of the Ritz-Carlton or the Sheraton, you might not be happy here - but you will miss a great experience!

Room Tip: All rooms face the lake and there are only two levels - so the only decision is whether you want to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I live in reno nv. I was a long term lake tahoe resident with my doggies. To my frustration, where to go with the kids. Yes. Holiday house inn not only is the the best view, lake front lodging, but takes dogs!!!!! The owner of this wonderful lodge, to me, is the best treasure. She is not only a dog lover herself, but someone who is full of life. Wait until you meet her. She well prove to you, you get better with age. The most gorgous view of lake tahoe at your front window!!!!!!! JAMIE

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Gary and I booked the Holiday House from 9/21/12-9/30/12, for 10 days and was sooooooooo pleased. The view alone from our condo was worth a MILLION dollars !!!! Alvina the gracious hostess is an angel !!! Gary had to have emergency knee surgery the next day and Alvina made me feel so comfortable and reasurring during this scarry time that I felt like I was home away from home, she literally let me lean on her shoulders during Gary's four day stay in the hospital, being from Michigan and soooooooooo far away. She took it upon herself to make sure I had a really nice stay and as a result I have a new wonderful friend in Tahoe Vista that is simply the "best" !!!! I would not stay anywhere else in Tahoe, but the HOLIDAY HOUSE. The atmosphere is clean, cozy, warm and puts a "smile" on your face until you have to leave!!! Thanks Alvina for EVERYTHING !!!! You really have a special place that all travelers need to see and appreciate...I was so lucky to find you and your "Holiday House" the pleasure was all mine !!!!!! Michele

P.S. Gary is doing much better...and you already know we'll definitely be back !!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

This has to be one of the best hotels I've ever stayed in.The rooms are fantastically equipped with everything you could want for a longish stay,the clealiness is superb and there's a big Safe way down the road!! The views are something else.Spectacular yet soothing.Will I be back? Can't wait.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

The Holiday House is such a special place. We had never stayed here before and the main reason we booked with the Holiday House was we could bring our dog... what a pleasant surprise this little hotel is!

First, the Holiday House offers THE BEST lake views, hands down, for the price. The property is right on the lake and all the rooms either open up to a shared deck or balcony with chairs and tables. There isn't a beach, but you can walk down the stairs right to the water and swim out to a floating dock. Your also walking distance to a few different restaurants (Spindleshanks and Captain John's).

The woman who runs/owns the property, Alvina, is very friendly and welcoming, and just a lovely hostess. If we needed anything, she was happy to accommodate us.

While it's a small property (I think just 8 rooms), we felt like we had privacy. The rooms are spacious, and the room we stayed in had a separate bedroom and living room, with a full kitchen. My husband, dog, and I were very comfortable staying there for a week. Keep in mind that the coffee mugs may not match, etc., but that's really the charm of the place. And I have to say the shower was really nice!

We had such a lovely time, we ended up adding a day to our 7 day stay, because we didn't want to leave. I'm so glad we found this Tahoe treasure!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Bragg, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

The Holiday House was in an excellent location with fantastic views. The furniture was a little worn but it was only one of very few on the lake side that allows dogs. The owner even brought some throw blankets for the couch and bed just in case your dog jumps on the furniture along with a towel if your dog gets wet and doggie biscuits. The little kitchenette was just the right size for preparing breakfast although new fry pans would be appreciated. There is a Bar B Q for anyone to use. Parking is a little tight but not a problem.

Room Tip: All rooms have full lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday House

Address: 7276 North Lake Blvd., P.O.Box 229, Tahoe Vista, CA 96148
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe Vista
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Tahoe Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday House Hotel Tahoe Vista
Holiday Hotel Tahoe Vista

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.