We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location! Location! Location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shore House at Lake Tahoe

Save Saved
You added Shore House at Lake Tahoe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shore House at Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   7170 N. Lake Blvd., P.O. Box 499, Tahoe Vista, CA 96148   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Tahoe Vista B&B and Inns
Arizona
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Location! Location! Location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The very best thing about this place - the location! You are on the north side of Lake Tahoe (quieter than South Lake) right on the water - and the B&B is small only 8 rooms and one, stand alone cottage. The lovely grounds are shaded with lots of trees; there is lawn with lounge chairs and tables and a private dock to sit out on and watch the sunrise or sunset. You are able to sit inside or out for breakfast each morning - it was lovely while we were there in late June so we were always outside taking in that gorgeous Lake Tahoe view. Barb, the owner, was there each morning and evening to give any advice about activities for the day or where to eat dinner that evening. The staff is friendly and helpful. The treats you will find inside your room each afternoon are delicious as were the breakfasts each morning. We have stayed here several times in the last 10 years and will return again. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: We had the Art Studio - ground floor - no one walking in front of the room, a view of the lake throu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    22
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
236
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

A wonderful B&B. Friendly staff. Great breakfast; they accommodated my wife's special dietary needs. Very nice and clean room. Found some brownies on the table in our room; yummy! Every need was met. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Very good location in Tahoe Vista. The room was nicely furnished. The shower was good. The breakfasts were outstanding. The service was good. There is some road noise but it didn't affect our sleep. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Terrace room. It has a small view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Stunning, spectacular, serene, pristine, peaceful are just some of the adjectives to describe this property and the view. The location is perfectly situated between Tahoe City and Kings Beach, away from all the crowds and tourist entrapments. The breakfasts were outstanding as was the care and attention of the innkeepers. You have a private dock as well as a private lawn area complete with lounge chairs and umbrellas at waters edge. The only drawback is the that the rooms and bathrooms are rather small.

Room Tip: The rooms are rather small and have picture windows that look out on the courtyard & gardens. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty C, Owner at Shore House at Lake Tahoe, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thanks for a very flattering review. One clarification on the size of our rooms: our rooms are not all the same size. Our smallest rooms are also our lowest priced rooms. Here's a little guide: our Larger Rooms are Pine, Opa's, Moon and Forest. Our medium sized rooms are Honeymoon Cottage, Art Studio, Terrace and Lakeview. Our smallest (and lowest priced) room is our Tree House. There are other amenities to consider, besides room size, when choosing a room at the Shore House. They are view, whirlpool tubs, big screen TVs. All of these things are included in the room descriptions. Please call if you would like further assistance and we will help you to choose the room that has the amenities most important to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willmington, NC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed at the Shore House for two wonderful nights. We've stayed at a lot of very nice B&B's the last few years and this one is right up there with the best. The breakfasts were wonderful, our room was as clean as any place I've ever stayed. I don't usually use the jucuzzie tubs (I always wonder how clean they are) but this place was so clean I felt comfortable using the tub. The hospitiality was great also. We made use of the kayaks that are available for guests too., Totally enjoyed our stay in every way!

Room Tip: Our room was the moon room on the first floor. It was in the corner so no view of the lake but we sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I have to say, first off, I'm impressed with the level of work and care the owners put into this place, taking time to chat with all the guests. The rooms are beautifully decorated, like a log cabin, with paintings.

The mattresses are topped with a memory foam padding that gave me some of the best sleep I've ever had.

Some minor downsides:
* The power outlets are surrounded with some fairly "deep" settings. Some power adapters won't stay in them.
* Pricey.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed at the Shore House for 2 nights on 16th and 17th May 2013. It was everything we were hoping for and we had a fantastic stay. Our initial welcome was by Rusty who showed us our room (the Lakeview) and the facilities including tea, coffee, snacks etc available in the kitchen 24/7. She made us feel so welcome it was like visiting an old friend - great after a long drive. Breakfast was fantastic, fresh ingredients beautifully cooked and presented. It was also nice to meet people over breakfast and wine in the evenings if you desired (there was no feeling of having to be social if that's not your thing). Marty is a very interesting and helpful host supplying local information from dining and where to visit to which route to take to our next destination. We were on a two week 'road-trip' of California and Nevada for our 25th wedding anniversary and this short stay was definitely one of the highlights. The bathroom was not large, but had everything we needed including shower gels, hairdryer, robes etc. The Shore House's position right on the lake is perfect - I know one reviewer commented on the road noise and there is a little, but because of the peaceful nature of Tahoe Vista it is short-lived and if you have enjoyed Lake Tahoe to the full, you'll be asleep in seconds in the fabulously comfy beds and beautiful linen. One evening we ate at Spindleshanks and both had the specials, both were very good. I would definitely recommend The Shore House and would definitely return if we find ourselves in this beautiful part of the world again.

Room Tip: To watch the day day come alive or night fall from the bed of the Lakeview room is magic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shore House at Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore House at Lake Tahoe

Address: 7170 N. Lake Blvd., P.O. Box 499, Tahoe Vista, CA 96148
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe Vista
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Tahoe Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shore House at Lake Tahoe 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shore House at Lake Tahoe is the Ultimate Romantic Getaway, perfect for Honeymoons, Anniversaries, Birthdays or a simple Romantic Escape. Located at the water's edge in the center of the North Shore of Lake Tahoe. Enjoy fabulous views of this pristine Lake and her surrounding snow-capped mountains from the outdoor, lake front Hot Tub. Your stay includes a full gourmet breakfast each morning and wine and appetizers each afternoon. Perfect for intimate Weddings. On site Massage Studio specializing in Couples Massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Shore House at Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shore House At Lake Tahoe Hotel Tahoe Vista

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shore House at Lake Tahoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.