We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a wonderful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shore House at Lake Tahoe

Save Saved
You added Shore House at Lake Tahoe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shore House at Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   7170 N. Lake Blvd., P.O. Box 499, Tahoe Vista, CA 96148   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Tahoe Vista B&B and Inns
Oakland
1 review
“Always a wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Above and beyond the best place to stay in Tahoe. Not only do you have a private beach, Marty is just wonderful. He truly cares about your overall experience from your breakfast, afternoon wine/appetizers, and dinner reservations. We have stayed at the Shore House several times and try to stay in a different room each time. The morning breakfast is just awesome! During our last visit, we got couples massages with a view of the lake, just amazing! Best Location and service in Tahoe!

Room Tip: Any room, but we love the Pine Room, Opa's Room, and the studio
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    238
    20
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
221
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

My boyfriend booked a stay for us at The Shore House as a belated Valentine's gift. As soon as we arrived, Marty was so accommodating and friendly and the view of the lake is unbeatable. Complimentary glasses of wine and homemade cookies awaited us! We stayed in the Art Studio and it was the definition of cozy. Perfect for a romantic weekend. The bed was so comfy and the dual shower heads were great! And everything was spotless. Breakfast by the fire the next morning was delicious with the first course of cinnamon bananas and strawberries with whipped cream and the main dish of a loaded omelette and biscuits. After breakfast, Marty made sure we had a map with all of the activities that he recommended clearly labeled. This was a very special experience and I couldn't have asked for a better Valentines Day surprise! I highly recommend The Shore House to everyone!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tooele, Utah, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Above and beyond guest service. The food was world class. Marty is a great host who cares about your experience. Its fun to meet with other guests in a great environment. The location cannot be beat. We will definitely try our hardest to return to the Shore House when we return to Lake Tahoe.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Visited with my 94 year old dad and we stayed in "the studio" which is handicap accessible. Every possible amenity was provided including a little flashlight at the bedside. Pine furnishings are beautiful and views of the lake superb. Next time will use the hot tub. Breakfast was terrific and Marty was an excellent host. Would highly recommend the shore house.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocklin, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

If I had a grandmother waiting for me in a delux lake side cottage in Lake Tahoe, it couldn't have been a more warm, memorable and inviting atmosphere. From the perfect decorations in the rooms, the daily fresh cookies in a jar in each room, the beautifully adorned and maintained cabin rooms, the 5 star amenities, lotions and extras to the custom breakfasts that look like your plate is a masterpiece of art from some exotic restaurant....this place is incredible for the price!!! I mean you have to be a miserable wretch of a person to not LOVE this place!!! What else could you possible want in a bed and breakfast??? Each day there started on a cloud, warmed up in the jicuzzi and ended in the stars! We even had clouds on the ceiling of our room!!! Thanks, for a perfect get away! Charles and Lanea

Room Tip: Tell Marty what you're there for and he'll get you the right room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

My girlfriend and I booked this B&B not knowing what to expect. We arrived and were welcomed with open arms! Wine, appetizers, board games, cards, and snacks all at our fingertips to watch an unreal sunset after a long day of skiing. The place is right on the water with a dock that you can walk out on. The room was perfect as well. We stayed in the Pine room which had a very comfortable king-sized bed, jacuzzi tub for two, two reading chairs, etc.

Breakfast the next morning hit the spot. All of the owners/staff are beyond friendly. I will be staying here again and again and again.

I recommend this place to the highest regard.

-Sean

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I love everything about Shore House at Lake Tahoe. It is located on the North side of Tahoe ~ Tahoe Vista, to be exact. I personally prefer this area compare to South Lake Tahoe as it can get pretty crowded and very touristy.

Shore House located right on the beach. My favorite of all was to sit at the backyard, facing the lake, waiting for the sunset. Pure heaven. On earth.

I loved the extra perks offered by Shore House: the afternoon h'or deurves coupled with wine (and the view of the lake & sunset!!) ~ and those cookies in the room. (fresh, home-baked cookies!!) Our room, the Opa, had a whirlpool in the room. First I thought it would be kinda weird, but we ended up loving it! Munching on yummy cookies while whirlpooling ... turned out to be kinda fun.

Marty, the owner/inn-keeper, was super friendly and helpful from the moment I called to reserve a room (and being the planner-me, I called him approximately a year in advance, yo!).

Breakfast was always delish. The bed was super comfy. Having a cup of coffee on the dock facing the lake with the fresh air & birds chirping ... another heaven-on-earth type of deal, for sure.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tahoe Vista
Free Parking, B...
Show More
20.6 mi away
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
#12 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 329 reviews
Luxury, Restaur...
Show More
4.8 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
Free internet...
Show More
0.5 mi away
Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge
Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge
#2 of 7 in Tahoe Vista
4.5 of 5 stars 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Romantic, Free...
Show More
20.3 mi away
Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe
Marriott Grand Residence Club Ta...
#10 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 514 reviews
Pool, Free Brea...
Show More
0.6 mi away
Cedar Glen Lodge
Cedar Glen Lodge
#1 of 7 in Tahoe Vista
4.5 of 5 stars 568 reviews
Free Breakfast...
Show More
21.2 mi away
Heavenly Valley Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Heavenly Valley Lodge Bed & Brea...
#1 of 5 in South Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 stars 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shore House at Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore House at Lake Tahoe

Address: 7170 N. Lake Blvd., P.O. Box 499, Tahoe Vista, CA 96148
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe Vista
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Tahoe Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shore House at Lake Tahoe 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shore House at Lake Tahoe is the Ultimate Romantic Getaway, perfect for Honeymoons, Anniversaries, Birthdays or a simple Romantic Escape. Located at the water's edge in the center of the North Shore of Lake Tahoe. Enjoy fabulous views of this pristine Lake and her surrounding snow-capped mountains from the outdoor, lake front Hot Tub. Your stay includes a full gourmet breakfast each morning and wine and appetizers each afternoon. Perfect for intimate Weddings. On site Massage Studio specializing in Couples Massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Shore House at Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shore House At Lake Tahoe Hotel Tahoe Vista

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shore House at Lake Tahoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.