We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Red Wolf is Heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge

Save Saved
You added Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7630 N Lake Blvd, Tahoe Vista, CA 96148   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Tahoe Vista
La Jolla
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Red Wolf is Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2008

We l,ove, love, love Red Wolf. Stunning little cottages, beuatifully decorated with full kitchens and amenities.Superb location right on the lake on the beautiful, quiet North Shore. Outstanding staff, diligent maintenance, and we always feel welcome.

I would recommend Red Wolf to anyone, any time. We like to go in October, when the weather is temperate and changeable, the crowds are down, and traffic is manageable.

The pool is gorgeous, and it and the spa overlook the lake. In the fall Canada geese fly overhead, and one day it may be blazingly hot, the next day snowing. Red Wolf provides kayaks and equipment, and has pleasant activities for families -- barbecues, crafts, breakfast, orientations, films and hikes.

Stayed October 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    31
    7
    3
    8
See reviews for
66
73
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester Hills, MI
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2008

Stayed there June 15-22, 2008. This was thru an RCI exchange. We had an studio which had a Murphy bed. At first it seems small, but you get used to it pretty quickly. It did have a full kitchen which we used for breakfasts and most lunches. It had a very cozy feel to it with it's wood interior. All in all, I liked the unit and the place. One drawback, was the carpet does need a cleaning. They are right on the Lake with a nice little beach. As part of your resort fee, you get to use their kayaks and paddle boats which are brand new. They have nice activities which we particpated in a few including their bbq on the last full day. You do pay $6/person for this. One thing we had to experience which no one will have to do the rest of this year anyway, is the construction on the pool and general maintenance on the units. The pool was closed until Saturday and our checkout was Sunday. It is now very nice and will be used quite a bit is my guess. The staff is very helpful and they respond pretty quickly. Erin is very knowledgeable about local hikes and activities. It's not the Hyatt up the road, but it serves your purpose of visiting the north shore of Lake Tahoe very nicely.

  • Liked — Right on the lake with nice little beach.
  • Disliked — Resort fee was high considering we didn't have use of pool.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2008

The lodge itself is ideally located on the NW shore of Lake Tahoe with bach access. We stayed in a one bedroom unit that was nicely furnished, but the coffee maker did not work for my wife and it tok three days before they assisted us with it after she had called each day. The resort had a dscount card available to use at local restaurants and merchants, but they did not provide this at check-in time. Instead, you have to attend a meeting the next morning to get the card. Due to a prior commitment, we were unable to get the card until the day after the meeting.

There was construction work being done on the pool & spa which we were aware of before the trip. However, there were also several units being upgraded, one of which was adjacent to our unit. We were not informed this was being done. The resort manager gave each occupant a letter indicating the pool construction work would not start until 9:00 AM. That work actually began at or before 7:00 AM each morning in addtion to the upgrade work. The workers in the unit adjacent to ours blasted a radio all day long which was quite annoying.

There were picnic tables available to use as well as beach chairs, but they decided to paint all of them in two days and they were not available to use for nearly the entire week as they were roped off for use.

After the upgrade work was completed in the unit adjacvent to urs near the end of the week, an alarm clock started going off at 5:00 AM the next morning and it sounded as if it was right in our unit itself. Since there is nobody at the desk at that time, it continued to go off for the next three hours. Extrremely annoying.

The staff was generally very responsive to our needs when we had a concern. Parking is very tight and due to the construction, some vehicles had very difficult times getting out of their assigned parking spaces. Several units left early due to the issues related above.

It is nice placd to stay, but obviously we picked the wrong week to go there for vacation. We'll look elsewhere before we would ever consider this resort in the future.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erincedarwolf, Resort Manager at Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge, responded to this review, February 5, 2009
Great news, the pool remodel was completed on time by July 1st. We appreciate all of our guest’s patience during this time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2008

When we go on vacation we like to lounge by the pool and relax in the hot tub. Unfortunately, they were both closed for maintenance and will remain closed until further notice. The staff said they were sorry but offered no compensation. We are sorry too -- sorry that nobody told us in advance and sorry that we ever booked this place. This vacation cost us thousands of dollars, and what we got was noise and a view of a construction area. We will never stay here again!

Stayed May 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, VA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2008

We stayed at the Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge May 4-10, 2008, Unit #8. The unit was a one bedroom, one bath. The bathroom was accessible from the LR/DR/Kitchen combo and the bedroom. Interior features included slate floors in the bathroom and kitchen area, carpeting in all other areas, granite counters, good quality pine wood furniture, queen size bed, two TV sets with cable and DVD players, CD player, plenty of blankets, sheets, towels, and pillows. The unit was clean. There was maid service on Tuesday; however on request, they came on Thursday also. There is a complimentary washer/dryer on premises and a wonderful Safeway grocery store and RedBox DVD 1.49 rentals within an 8 minute walk or 2 minute drive if you prefer not walking on the dirt path of N. Lake Blvd.. It was still cool so we didn't take advantage of the kayaks but we did admire views of Lake Tahoe and the sunset from the beach at the resort. We left the windows open (night temperatures went down to what felt like the 50's) since it was warm in the unit and there is no AC. Most of the nights it was fairly quiet. On Friday, however, we did not sleep very well because there were lots of noises (friends yelling at each other, car noises, etc) to be heard. I agree with a previous review and avoid at all costs the unit that faces the heavily traveled N. Lake Blvd. I would recommend staying here when we did (off-season around mid- May). Yes, the pool is not open then, but it least it's quieter, less problems negotiating the parking lot, easy accomodations in all the great restaurants, and nice hiking. When it's busy, I can see how it would not be as pleasant at the resort.

  • Liked — Convenience to grocery store, eateries in North Lake Tahoe
  • Disliked — No AC or fan in bedroom, parking lot can be a tight squeeze if you have an SUV.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2008

This review pertains to Unit #13 (1 bedroom unit):

If you are assigned to Unit #13, demand to be moved to another unit. You would be surprised at how the rest of the 1 bedroom unit differ from Unit #13. Unit 13 does not look like the pictures we saw on the resort's web page and our Shell Owner RCI traveler book. The entire place, size, etc., looks like a "cheap" motel converted cheaply into a 'TINY" condo.

The desk clerk (who is not a regular employee at the resort but an employee with Squaw Valley Lodge) was also very surprised at how small the unit was and how structurally different from the rest of the units. The edge of the sofa bed (when open) sits next to the kitchen floor. The blankets had holes in them. The television was on a stand right next to the refrigerator. There is only 1 sofa bed and the dining area is the living room area. In the bedroom unit, to get to the other sideo of the room, you would have to walk side-ways.

The unit is good for 1 person or a couple. But it is not made to accommodate a family of 4.

We were eventually moved to Unit #9. The unit looked just what we expected from the pictures we saw. However, there were also problems not with the unit but with the overall resort. The porch lights were on a timer and didn't turn on until 9 to 10 p.m. We mentioned this to the manager at the time but was of no help. The lights in the jacuzzi area didn't turn on until after 10 p.m. Again, the manager was no help.

The resort was considered to "Gold Crown". I say that it is below that. I've stayed at other resorts that were not considered a "gold crown" and was much better than this resort.

We didn't consider the resort to be of high standards. We were extremely disappointed with how we were handled. If it were not for the nice person at the desk (who wasn't the regular employee), we probably would have had a terrible experience.
In addition, the person from RCI was of no help either. He insist that the unit was like the others. The person had the attitude that he couldn't care less what happens to our vacation. He could care less if we had young children (4 and 9) with us. He just had an extremely poor and unprofessinal attitude.

Stayed February 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2008

This place could use a good superintendent and manager to bring this place to a minimum standard and address the plumbing and insulation issues. Yikes! I really rely on other's reviews and want to share this info only to save someone else from the same disappointment.

We were really looking forward to a quiet, restful weekend in North Tahoe. Red Wolf was marketed as a quiet lakeside cottage with lake view rooms. But beware the view is restricted for a limited few. What a disappointment!
We booked our room 2 1/2 months prior to arriving. At a rate of $225/nite we expected something decent, at least some peace and quiet with some amenities. When we arrived on thurs, the front desk said the lake view rooms couldn't be given out cause they were being held for timeshare owners who could show up anytime. No mention of this at time of booking! Then we received contradictory info from a guest who arrived on Friday and told us she had gotten a lakeview room. I said, oh you must be an owner. She said she wasn't but that the room they gave her was noisy. What a noisy place this is, she kept repeating.

They put us in a room with the bedroom facing N. Lake Tahoe Blvd. The cars were zooming down the street and it was so noisy we couldn't take it. So we changed rooms and while we were no longer dealing with traffic noise, we had neighbors directly above us who we think kept their ski boots on and stomped around all day and night. They sounded like they were moving the furniture around!

They also took long showers at 2am and with the old plumbing in this place, when they turned on the faucet, you could forget getting back to sleep.
When they flushed their toilet, our shower went blazing hot. You could hear the flushing toilets through the walls. what an embarrasment.

The amenities were minimal at most. The rooms were advertised with coffee, tea, hot chocolate. Our supply looked like the maids had forgotten to refill. And when we asked for a refill of hot choc packs, it was like pulling teeth. They said they didn't have any and we'd have to wait til the next day.

We love Lake Tahoe but will never stay here again.

  • Liked — They provided free snow shoes and plastic sleds
  • Disliked — The lodge was misleading
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge

Address: 7630 N Lake Blvd, Tahoe Vista, CA 96148
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe Vista
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tahoe Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, BookIt.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Wolf Lakeside Hotel Tahoe Vista

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.