We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dream about it everyday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge to your Saves list
Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7630 N Lake Blvd, Tahoe Vista, CA 96148   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Tahoe Vista
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Dream about it everyday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed at Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge from 9/4-9/8. The weather was spectacular during the side which allowed us to make good use of the beautiful pool and kayaks available. The view from the pool or laying beachside at the lake was breathtaking, peaceful and serence. We loved our little cottage although I do wish it was closer to the pool. We had to walk through the parking lot but seriously it was no big deal.The cottages are not luxury rooms with top notch amenities but it certainly fit our needs and was comfortable. We didnt get a chance to make use of the available BBQ pits and some of the fun activites they had on the ground but next time we will plan better. I cannot stop thinking about how clean the pool was and how serene the lake was. It was a lot of fun swimming at the lake and Kayak. The proximity to the beach, supermarkets and dining was PERFECT seriously 2 -3 minutes to everything. You even receive a VIP discount card from the Lodge to receive discounts at nearby restaurants. I dont have anything terrible to say about Red Wolf. I look forward to visiting again and again. Did i mention the beautiful sunset? Ahhh ...

Room Tip: We stayed in room that was very close to the reception area. I suggest asking for a room closer to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rwll, General Manager at Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Tiffany004,
The view from the pool and lakeside area is incredible. The resort has numerous amenities such as the bbq's and all of our great activities. Our location cannot be beat, close to everything you need.
We look forward to you visiting again.

SIncerely,
Erin M. O'Brien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    31
    7
    3
    8
See reviews for
71
76
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thousand Oaks, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the Red Wolf Lodge. The rooms were very nice and clean and the facility itself was great. We took the complementary Kayaks out one afternoon and it was wonderful.
Only a couple of negatives, one - when taking a shower, if someone flushes the toilet or uses the water in an adjoining unit, the temperature in the shower gets freezing or scorching hot..... no fun! Also, there is no wifi late at night or early in the morning. The office staff wasn't sure why but it happened every early morning.
Next time I might stay somewhere closer to Tahoe City but we were centrally located to where we were going. Would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rwll, Manager at Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Hi Jim V,
I am so pleased you enjoyd the cleanliness of our units and the upkeep of the entire resort. The kayaks are fun and a added bonus as there is no fee for them.
We have had another wireless transformer installed to better service the resort, and it is now availalbe at the pool area as well.
We hope that you plan a return visit to our resort. We look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,
Erin M. O'Brien
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

The lodge itself was lovely, the staff were so helpful, there were free pedlos and kayaks, the scenes were insane, the pool was clean, as was the hot tub and their private beach. Though, all of the lodges are on a time share so we were VERY lucky to get in with 2 weeks notice!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rwll, Manager at Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Charlotte,
We're thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay with us. There are plenty of activities for our guests to enjoy and we hope you were able to partake in some kayaking. We're glad we could accommodate you on such short notice and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Sincerely,
Erin M. O'Brien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

My husband's niece, himself and family members stayed at Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge a couple of weeks ago and absolutely loved it. His niece is quite ill and has special needs which were accommodated without hesitation and always with a smile. All staff encountered were friendly, courteous and assisted with anything asked of them. All went out of their way to make sure we had a great stay. The room was clean and the view was amazing. We highly recommend Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge to anyone visiting North Lake Tahoe - you will NOT be disappointed!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rwll, Manager at Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear ECulver,
It warms my heart to hear how great of a job the team did during your stay. They always go above and beyond for everyone.
The resort does boast some spectacular views of Lake Tahoe, especially from the pool and lakefront areas.
I sincerely hope we do see you and you family again.

Fondly,
Erin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

The 2 BR place we had was very clean and very nice. We found the staff to be helpful as well. Do not expect an ocean front unit because there are none. The place is RCI timeshare and the units closest to the lake are RCI units. However, walking 2 minutes to the pool and lake was no problem. There were always empty lounge chairs, and we had jet skiis brought to the Red Wolf beach. You will be overlooking a parking lot if you actually stay in your room which we did not.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rwll, Manager at Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Dave,
The two bedroom units are quite spacious. The resort does a few units that do face the lake, as you said the walk to the lake is very short and enjoyable while you stroll through the parking area and enjoy looking at the beautifully adorned window boxes full of fragrant flowers.
I'm glad you took advantage of the dockside jet skiing, what a bonus.
I hope to see you and your family soon.

Sincerely,
Erin M. O'Brien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Always a great time here on the lake with friends that we've gotten to know through the years. Trini as always runs a great BBQ at the lakeside deck with his famous quacamole. They've added turkey and chicken burgers to the hamburgers, hot dogs and veggie burgers. Also new kayaks and paddle boats, new pool furniture and loungers. The rooms have new flat screen tvs which are nice.

Room Tip: The rooms near the pool have the best views of the lake but can be a bit noisy if you want to sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rwll, General Manager at Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Hi Bruce,
So nice to see you and your family again, it's always a pleasure.
I'm glad you were able to rekindle with friends at the resort and relax at the bbq. And yes Trini does make the BEST guacamole. Thank you for noticing all of the recent upgrades. We've had rave reviews from our guests.
I look forward to seeing you all again soon.

Fondly,
Erin M. O'Brien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

The lodge is quiet clean with great amenities. The staff spends the extra effort to ensure that we have a great time. I love that there are so many activities that we can participate in: Barbecues, s'mores, pottery, etc.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rwll, General Manager at Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Nicky408,
We pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our guest units, common area's and recreational area's. We love to make sure that all of our guests have enjoy our activities. We offer a wide variety of them, that way you can pick your favourites.
We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Erin M. O'Brien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge

Address: 7630 N Lake Blvd, Tahoe Vista, CA 96148
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe Vista
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#2 Family Hotel in Tahoe Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Wolf Lakeside Hotel Tahoe Vista

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.