We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Children Friendly!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge

Save Saved
You added Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7630 N Lake Blvd, Tahoe Vista, CA 96148   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Tahoe Vista
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Children Friendly!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

The lodge is quiet clean with great amenities. The staff spends the extra effort to ensure that we have a great time. I love that there are so many activities that we can participate in: Barbecues, s'mores, pottery, etc.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rwll, General Manager at Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Nicky408,
We pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our guest units, common area's and recreational area's. We love to make sure that all of our guests have enjoy our activities. We offer a wide variety of them, that way you can pick your favourites.
We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Erin M. O'Brien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    31
    7
    3
    8
See reviews for
66
73
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oceanside, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We had a fantastic vacation re-aquainting ourselves with the Tahoe area! It had been over 20 years since our last visit. Staying at Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge was the best part of our week! The resort is right on the lake and the views were breathtaking. It snowed for 3 days in a row and we enjoyed going snowshoeing in the fresh powder. Erin made our stay comfortable and memorable. She made us breakfast our first morning there, loaned us snow shoes, recommended local eateries (with discount cards), and made sure we were always taken care. The unit had amazing views of the lake. We enjoyed our well stocked kitchen, balcony, cozy robes and comfortable bed. Erin and her staff made us feel welcome from the very start!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rwll, Manager at Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Hello Dana S,
I am so pleased to hear that you enoyed yourselves while getting reaquainted with Lake Tahoe. Complimentary snow shoes are just another one of the great amentities we have for our guests. Our views of Lake Tahoe cannot be beat. As always we strive to make sure each guest feels like family and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Erin M. O'Brien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Live Oak, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We always try to get reservations the first week in June if possible. The weather up here is so much nicer than it is in the Sacramento Valley this time of year. The days are typically in the 70's and 80's and the nights drop down into the high 40's to low 50's. Perfect weather for relaxing and beating the summer heat! The lodge is always well maintained and new items have been added this year. All the units now have flat screen TV's and new toilets that are higher than the old ones (nice for people that have challenges in getting up and down). Many of the units have new furnishings this year.
The Maintenance crew always keep the grounds well groomed and the buildings in good repair. The beach area - with private dock- is looking great. There's a great deck below the swimming pool that you can hang out or dine, play games, etc. The pool area has glass walls which help break the breezes that come off the lake and mountains and it makes a great area for watching the beautiful sunsets that happen up here. The Lodge is on the North Shore of Lake Tahoe, so it's less crowded than the South Shore.
If you haven't been before, please try it - you will fall in love with Red Wolf and their staff just as we have!

Room Tip: The rooms closest to the Lake are the ones you always try to get because of the great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rwll, Manager at Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Hi GPRFAN,
The cooler temperatures in North Lake Tahoe are very comfortable. Taking advantage of our lakeside pool and jacuzzi make it even more relaxing for you and your family.
I'm glad you noticed we have replaced all of the televisions to HD Flat Screens and new DVD players.
We can't wait to see you again.

Sincerely,
Erin M. O'Brien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, California
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

There are 2 bedroom suites that are large, modern, comfy and near the pool and hottubs. There are really comfortably sized 1 bedroom apartments, and then there are studio apartments that, frankly, are very small once the murphy bed comes out. Wth our ski gear and suitcases, we had trouble rearranging cushions and stuff in a way that made the 'studio' room liveable once the bed came down. They have bbqs which are a must for me. There's a hottub near the reception area and a nicer, bigger one on the beach next to the pool. If you ask for a room, get one near the hotubs because it's a cold walk back.

Value-wise I'd stay in a ski resort itself rather than commute to Northstar, Homewood, Alpine meadow or Squaw Valley or Mt Rose or Diamond Peak.

Room Tip: get a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rwll, Manager at Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Hi Velkytatry,
Thank you for reviewing your stay at Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your two bedroom suites, the barbeques, and the hot tub. We hope you come back to Lake Tahoe again in the future.

Sincerely,
Erin M. O'Brien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Love this place. Breakfast. S'mores. Pool lakefront. Perfect weekend. Love Erin and Trini. New flat screens. New toilets. Lake was perfect. Kids had a blast catching craw dads. The room was clean. The beds are so comfortable. A home away from home.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rwll, Manager at Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Hi Zacksplace,
I'm pleased you are happy with the upgrades to our units. The kids always have a great time catching crawdads. Your home away from home and the entire staff appreciate and love you too. Thanks for your continued support.

Sincerely,
Erin M. O'Brien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Leandro, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

My wife and I were extremely happy with our stay. The Staff from the front desk to housekeeping to grounds/ maintenance are all a pleasure to be with. We felt like it was our home away from home. We felt like the Lodge staff were a part of our extended family. We enjoyed the grounds. The view from the dock. The water of the Lake. We brought our food and cooked spending time together. We took some day trips, and slept well, back @ "home" in our place. We would recommend the Lodge to anyone wanting a really nice place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rwll, Manager at Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Davidscott1,
Happy 25th Wedding Anniversary!!! We too feel as if our Owners and Guests are our family. The many amenities available make staying at Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge fun and relaxing. I am so happy you were able to celebrate such an amazing day at your "home away from home".
We can't wait to see you again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Erin O'Brien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

I really enjoyed our stay but unfortunately I came down with a bad virus. The staff was very understanding when we had to go home a day early. I was really hoping to go back this year however the rates went way up & they now require that you pay up front the entire room rate. The property is great but the new rates are too much for my budget.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rwll, Manager at Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Jojongo,
Sorry to hear about the illness in your family, the staff at Red Wolf is very kind and understanding.
The rates do fluctuate from high and low season. We do offer specials during the slower times; for the best rates and availability please call ResorTime.com at 877-477-7368 or find our rates at www.redwolflakesidelodge.com I'm sure you'll find something within your budget.

Thank you,
Erin O'Brien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge

Address: 7630 N Lake Blvd, Tahoe Vista, CA 96148
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe Vista
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#2 Family Hotel in Tahoe Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, BookIt.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Wolf Lakeside Hotel Tahoe Vista

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.