We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"25th Wedding Anniversery"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge

Save Saved
You added Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7630 N Lake Blvd, Tahoe Vista, CA 96148   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Rates as low as $229!
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Tahoe Vista
San Leandro, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“"25th Wedding Anniversery"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

My wife and I were extremely happy with our stay. The Staff from the front desk to housekeeping to grounds/ maintenance are all a pleasure to be with. We felt like it was our home away from home. We felt like the Lodge staff were a part of our extended family. We enjoyed the grounds. The view from the dock. The water of the Lake. We brought our food and cooked spending time together. We took some day trips, and slept well, back @ "home" in our place. We would recommend the Lodge to anyone wanting a really nice place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rwll, Manager at Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Davidscott1,
Happy 25th Wedding Anniversary!!! We too feel as if our Owners and Guests are our family. The many amenities available make staying at Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge fun and relaxing. I am so happy you were able to celebrate such an amazing day at your "home away from home".
We can't wait to see you again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Erin O'Brien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    110
    28
    7
    4
    8
See reviews for
57
70
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

I really enjoyed our stay but unfortunately I came down with a bad virus. The staff was very understanding when we had to go home a day early. I was really hoping to go back this year however the rates went way up & they now require that you pay up front the entire room rate. The property is great but the new rates are too much for my budget.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rwll, Manager at Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Jojongo,
Sorry to hear about the illness in your family, the staff at Red Wolf is very kind and understanding.
The rates do fluctuate from high and low season. We do offer specials during the slower times; for the best rates and availability please call ResorTime.com at 877-477-7368 or find our rates at www.redwolflakesidelodge.com I'm sure you'll find something within your budget.

Thank you,
Erin O'Brien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We arrived in the evening and every thing was set up for us to get into our unit. The unit was very clean and cozy. If you are staying for a few days, there is not much kitchen cupboard space for your goods. The cupboards are filled with plates, pots and pans etc. We came in early September '12. It can still be a bit warm but the large fan (provided) in the window cooled off the bedroom nicely. There is no a/c. The workers do an outstanding job on maintaining the property and giving tips on the area. You can't beat the view from the deck or pool area adjacent to to this beautiful lake. The grass area with tables and bbq's is a good social gathering spot. The lodge staff were also very helpful. Try not to get a unit near the roadway if you can because it could be noisy. Ours was in the middle and was fine. Nice little place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rwll, Manager at Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear 993Mikej,
So pleased that the resorts late arrival system worked for you, its quite handy. The kitchens are very well stocked for weekly and nightly guests.
The guest barbeque area's are quite the mecca for socializing and eating. As always the team at Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge goes above and beyond for all guests, glad to hear they did so for you. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Thank you,
Erin O'Brien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We really enjoyed our trip and I honestly don't know what people who are giving low reviews are complaining about. Yes it is a little bit snug with some of the amenities. As far as I can tell Red Wolf used to be a regular lodge hotel but in order to become part of Gold-Crown Resorts they had to add and convert some things to all rooms, which makes for some interesting quirks. For instance the hairdryer in one bathroom is connected to the reset outlet in the OTHER bathroom (took me a little bit to figure that one out). But it's a really nice comfortable little cabin lodge.

The rooms are really clean and nicely set up.

The maids not only came in and switched the towels like they are suppose to but they also cleaned some of our leftover dirty pots from breakfast.

Erin and Vanessa were very nice and helpful. They have some nice things available to take out (like Snowshoes - which was a blast) and games for a quiet night in. And they aren't picky about singing things in and out. They just trust that you will return them, which is a breathe of fresh air.

Having the free laundry on site is also really nice.

The view from the pier in the back of the property is AMAZING!

They only low mark that I would have to give is for the bed. I'm a big guy (6'4") and so the beds are a little small for a couple. I'm used to this problem, but they were also very very firm and my fiance has back issues.

Other than that, everything was great!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rwll, Manager at Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Hi Jeffcomedy,
Thank you for reviewing Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and had a relaxing stay. There's plenty to do and the view from the pier is truly amazing. We hope to welcome you back for some fresh air again soon!

Thank you,
Erin O'Brien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poway, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Our family of 4 truly enjoyed our stay at Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge. Perfect location in North Lake Tahoe. Great staff, private pier, beautiful pool/Jacuzzi area with view of lake. Drove to Homewood for affordable skiing. Local restaurants were amazing. Follow staff recommendations for hikes, activities, and restaurants.1 bedroom was a bit tight for our family of four, but we will return regardless.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from main road. If you are able to get lake view, all the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rwll, Manager at Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Hello. Glad to hear you and your family had such a great time while visiting. Homewood Ski Resort has great views and is excellent for the the family.
Hopefully next time we may be able to accomidate you into a two bedroom unit.
We hope to see you next ski season or sooner!

Thanks again.

Erin O'Brien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Missed this place after staying there for 7 nights! It didn't snow much in the week we were there - staying here made all the difference to having a relaxing time despite this.

We were in the 1-bedroom unit, which was well-furnished with ample space for two. Kitchen was fully equipped, we cooked most nights which was easy with the full complement of pans and pots, cutlery and crockery, including casserole and cake dishes. The supermarket Safeway was just round the corner (walkable), which was great.

Loved the furnishings - rustic with wolf motifs here and there. Water pressure was strong in the bath, our tub also had jacuzzi jets which worked well. Nice to have, but there were also two large outdoor jacuzzis; we used the one by the pool during dusk, magical looking out onto sunset over Lake Tahoe. Jacuzzis were clean with no bits in them :) The private pier (with lovely ground lights) and small beach area were fantastic - great views on stormy windy nights when the waves from the lake whip in, and on clear nights when you can see lots of stars. On our last night we saw a family sit out at the end of the pier for the full sunset (we enjoyed this from the pool jacuzzi).

Large bed in the separate room, comfortable. Pillows a bit too thick for us though. Our unit faced the recycling bins, and was nearest the main road, but there was no smell or noise from this at all, and it was easy to recycle all our Amazon boxes that we had delivered. The occasional traffic noise is mostly noticeable only in the morning when we were just waking, but the windows are soundproof and shutting these fully addressed the issue.

Very pleased with the front desk service - Erin and Kelly were helpful, informative and friendly.

Great to have free laundry and dryer facilities as well - you just need to buy the powder for a dollar. When it snows (we had one day of this), they also shovel the main areas and your front porch to the doorstep. Free wifi, although connection was a little slow.

Overall, loved the place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rwll, Manager at Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
The Red Wolf does aim to please. The complimentary laundry facility is handy when you are spending the week. The Front Team are very well informed with our local area, giving the best dining and activitiy suggestions for our guests.
Next stay we can have smaller pillows available for you, please call the Front Desk and they will ensure they'll be brought to your unit.
We can't for your next visit.

Thank you,
Erin O'Brien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Dates of stay: Sunday 3/1 - Sunday 3/10
Purpose of visit: Winter sports, sight-seeing, relaxing and having fun in a mountain town

Our stay was due to an exchange of our timeshare in Park City through RCI. The lodge was the nicest-lookjng and highest rated property we could reserve during primo ski season.

Prior to our visit I contacted the lodge several times in the hopes of reserving a lake-facing 2 BR unit but we were told it was FC-FS -better get there early on check-in day. We arrived at 3pm (check-in at 4pm) with our rental car from San Fran (first timers to CA) and luckily got a lakefront unit (#21-ground floor).

Erin, the manager, gave us a packet with ski resort ticket info, resort activities weekly calendar, (ex- pancake breakfast, hot toddy day, ice cream Sunday day, nightly fires), map/explanation of what resort features were (hot tubs (2), laundry (free), etc), ability of renting movies ($3 ea or $12unlimited, free use of sleds, snowshoes, fluffy robes, beach towels) and when our units would be serviced by housekeeping (2 trash/linen service days and one mid-week mini-cleaning). We were also given a discount card and a booklet of vendors where the card could be used. This was handy and saved us some $ when we dined out.

The resort is very handsomely themed as a log-cabin lodge with wolf accents. The property is narrow so instead of a courtyard, there is a long parking lot connecting the units, and only those lucky enough to snag one of the 4 units directly facing the lake are likely to be happy with the view. We were resolved in the fact we would not likely get lake front and didn't get our hopes up - now having experienced it I would not go back unless I could get it! From our unit, we had a window and sliding glass door which looked out on the lake and pool area from our living area only (which was ideal). BRs and baths were in the back and either looked soon neighboring building or access porch. We are not talking about a wide panoramic view but one that far surpasses a view of the parking lot. There were just one or two days warm and dry enough to enjoy the porch - but it got a lot of sun and a gentle breeze - truly awesome.

The unit was well supplied. Linens, kitchen and appliances all very well provisioned. There was a hospitality basket of various goodies by the coffee maker. All appliances (dishwasher, oven, micro, fridge), TVs, worked well. All dishes/knives/etc in good shape and plenty for our use. There was a blender, toaster, roast pan, casserole dishes as well. Be careful you set coffee maker filter back just right or else the coffee and grounds will spill out all over counter. Everything you could need to cook for a week was provided. They even gave paper towels and dish soap (countertop spray would have been really great). The fireplace in the living area worked on a timer - we felt like it didn't last quite so long - had to keep winding it but that was ok. It took a very long time for water to get hot for showers and it seemed to waste a lot of water. Deep jacuzzi tubs in both baths were lovely and spray head of showers had good pressure. In bathroom, in addition to the fan there is a "heat" function which was nice.

The unit's 2nd BR didn't have much storage for clothing - not a big deal but we had to keep our clothes in the pine entertainment center in the living room. No closets in unit.

Both BRs and living room had TVs and dual DVD/VHS players. Only one BR had flat screen (our second BR) and other two were tubes. We rarely watched TV - programming was pretty crappy but that's not what we were there for. There are two red boxes at the Safeway inside and one at the ghetto 7-eleven up the road.

The temperature in unit was consistent for the most part except at night our room would get really warm and the other room would get so cold my mom would turn the heat fan in the bathroom on. Not sure of what the deal was and it wasn't a big enough deal to complain about.

Hot tubs were always piping hot (yeah a little dirty on the bottom from people dragging dirt in). The pools are not covered so of you want to jump in (as we did bw hot tub soakings) you could. Pool is not heated. You can walk around the poolroom the dock where you can get your "postcard" like shots.

On the first night we had the misfortune of locking ourselves out of the unit - and we made this revelation at about 9:30pm - the office closes at 6pm. There is some kind of after-hours access for such emergencies however it was not properly set up ( missing keys?) so we had to awaken the manager who lived (luckily) a short ways down the road. She obviously wasn't too thrilled to see us so soon but obliged us by letting us in and re-retiring for the evening. Other places may not have been so ingratiating - considering this hotel is clearly not staffed 24-7. The manager was probably as nice as she could have been under these circumstances. Our stupidity and a mistake we did not repeat.

A note on the location which, if you are renting a car and visiting in the winter, you should be aware of. The road to Truckee (and Northstar Resort) is likely to be restricted to either 4-wheel dr vehicles or vehicles with snow chains should you be lucky enough to get a snow storm. We had a rental from Budget, a 2-wheel dr Ford Escape. After the storm, we got chains on the drive axel tires (as required by Cali VDOT), however, the manager seemed pretty insistent that the hwy patrol would stop us if we didn't get chains on all 4 tires. Our two tire chains were sufficient as we expected - we were waved on at the check points. We paid $100 for the chains which we only had to use that one morning after the storm. We had to give the chains away before returning the rental at the airport bc rental companies won't often allow snow chains on cars (tires of course were fine after use). Considering we paid less for the rental with the chains than we would have for a 4-wheel dr vehicle for the week (not even considering fuel) we were happy with our decision of the car choice. Just be mindful that if you stay here-as opposed to staying at a ski resort - your travel options may be limited during/after a storm if you don't have chains or 4- wheel dr. We knew this could happen - but we were all too happy to get the snow all the same!!!! We traveled across the country by plane so bringing or taking the 20lb chains home was not an option.

We really enjoyed our stay because we got everything out of this trip that we wanted: Lake view, comfy lodgings, and a convenient location for home base. We still love Park City of course - though we don't think it fair to compare the two. We probably won't return anytime soon but if we have friends making the trip we would recommend the lodge.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rwll, Manager at Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Hello, sounds like you had an action packed week while visiting the resort. I'm glad you were able to enjoy the many amenities we have to offer here at the Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge. The lakeview units always are a pleaser for our guests, you can't beat the views.
We hope you'll come back and see us soon.

Thanks again for the great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge

Address: 7630 N Lake Blvd, Tahoe Vista, CA 96148
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe Vista
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#5 Family Hotel in Tahoe Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Wolf Lakeside Hotel Tahoe Vista

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.