We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible professionalism” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge

Save Saved
You added Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7630 N Lake Blvd, Tahoe Vista, CA 96148   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Tahoe Vista
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Terrible professionalism”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Called several times before my reservation to see if I could change it to another of their properties. Of course could not talk to an actual person, always had to leave a message. The company does not have the professional integrity to even return a phone call. Then, once we showed up around 10 pm, it was 35 degrees outside, and about 50 degrees in the room. It never did heat up much above 60. Never again and would not recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    31
    7
    3
    8
See reviews for
66
73
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Clean, comfy, great! We had Room 20… spacious living room area with table 4 chairs, extra rocker style chair with ottoman, fireplace, solid rustic décor, good sized kitchen with granite countertops, plenty of storage, cutting board plenty of knives, microwave, electric 4 burner stove, dishwasher, toaster, oven, fridge, little welcome basket with tea, coffee, popcorn, chocolate bar, funny picture over fireplace. Storage cabinets in all rooms, tv, dvd, vcr, cd player, radio…ironing bar, lots of windows that do open for airy feel large couch-probably opens up. 2 bedrooms both with tv’s, dvd players. Plenty of pillows. Lights both sides of bed, bathrooms have liquid soap mounted in shower but they give you a bar of ‘massaging’ soap. Tile inlay in shower has wolf design, nice touch, lots of counter space in master bath. Massaging showerhead. Jacuzzi jets in both tub/showers. Good solid towel hooks / rods, cute towel dog left on bed. Storage areas in bedrooms. Brown comfy thick robes. Jacuzzi great for two people, pool is huge. What a view from the pool area! Deck, lower deck area with barbeque and plenty of seating, including a hammock! They allow you to take out their kayaks and paddle boat-off their own private pier and beach. They had paddle ball set up. They offered free pancakes, coffee, sausage in the office area. Very helpful manager gave good suggestions for dining.

Room Tip: we had room 20- I think we scored as I read other reviews and it seems like our room was totally dif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedarville, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Our studio unit was beautiful with a rustic charm and fully equipped with jacuzzi tub, fireplace and complete kitchen. The resort is stunning with mutiple terraced patios around pool and hot tub, overlooking the lake leading down to more patios ending at the beach. Heated pool and jacuzzi's were a plus.

The entire resort staff were professional, warm and welcoming. I rate customer service a triple A+.

Plenty of hiking with breathtaking views, water sports. We especially enjoyed the Donner/Emmigrant Trail museum in Truckee, and watching the salmon run in Tahoe City.

We will be booking again at the Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge. Hopefully very soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed at the Red Wolf for one night. Unfortunately we got there quite late, past the check-in desk hours. They had a phone outside and once I rang for help, they gave me the safe code to get my room key.

The room: HUGE, it's a mini department basically. Fully equipped kitchen with oven, hob, microwave, dishwasher, fridge, cutlery/crockery, etc. and free coffee, tea. The lounge area has a TV and a separate table. There are 2 entrances to the room. Bathroom is good and has toiletries, bedroom is big and it has some mega comfy pillows! really nice bed to sleep on. Free WiFi!

The hotel: parking available for each room, they do BBQs, it has a nice little pool with a jacuzzi, and you can hire pedal boats and kayaks for free.

Service: really friendly, very nice people! We wanted to check out late and they said it was totally fine, and gave us advice on where to eat etc.

Location: it's just so amazing! Lake Tahoe is SOOO beautiful and this hotel being by the lake is great for watersports, the views are just grand and it's really really peaceful. It's on a road that goes onto Nevada and nearby there are lots of restaurants, a Safeway supermarket, etc.

Would I stay there again? Absolutely! it was really cheap, a great experience, very quaint and comfortable and I definitely want to go back!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the upper floors overlooking the lake (if you want a good view).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

What a gem this place is. Stay with the family in a second floor room overlooking the lake. Very spacious apartment for 2 adults and 2 kids. Beautifully appointed decor and very clean. Only disappointment is not staying here long enough.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placerville
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This is an old motel which was converted to a timeshare. The grounds, the staff, the amenities are all top notch. The rooms can be hit and miss in terms of location. All rooms are updated and very comfortable/clean. If you end up close to the road, not so good, as traffic can be noisy at certain hours of the day, and no views. There are only a couple of rooms with a lakeview. However, this is a small resort so it is a short walk down to the lake/beach from anywhere (200 yards max from anywhere) and this is what makes Red Wolf so special. . The pool and hot tub on the lake are just great....in the winter put on your robe and walk down to the hot tub next the the pool for sunset...you will be impressed! Kayaks, paddleboats, and a nice pier and beach with bbq's etc.etc. Aaron and Kelly at the front are very nice, and know the area very well. Don't hesitate to ask them for recommendations for dining as No. Shore has many excellent restaurants from swank to the local favorites. I recommend Soule Domain, Lone Eagle Grill, Sunnyside, Big Water Grille, and Garwoods. Local less expensive places would be Steamer's, Jason's, Rookie's, and the Log Cabin, the Old Post Office, and the Blue Onion for breakfast. So bottom line, when in Tahoe enjoy the place and the outdoors. Go back to your comfortable room, and enjoy the pier/beach/lake/hot tub. Don't expect great views....although a few rooms do have them. The Red Wolf Lakeside feels like Tahoe was back in the 60's when I first visited Lake Tahoe and the Sierra Nevada mountains!

Room Tip: All rooms are comfortable, updated, equipped. The closer to the Lake the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dollar point california
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

This is great place to stay the view is awsome. Their rooms is big with a full kitchen with a very comfortable hot tub that over looks the lake. I come to this place because all my friends do you like to cook when we are out and about's colorful kitchen is a plus.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge

Address: 7630 N Lake Blvd, Tahoe Vista, CA 96148
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe Vista
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tahoe Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, BookIt.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Wolf Lakeside Hotel Tahoe Vista

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.