We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picture Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge

Save Saved
You added Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7630 N Lake Blvd, Tahoe Vista, CA 96148   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Tahoe Vista
Napa, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Picture Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I've stayed here a few times and all I can say is "What a beautiful little resort" The icing on the cake is the beach front. Kayaks and paddle boats are included!!!! We met some very nice people and Erin and Kelly at the Front Desk were super sweet. As a photographer I found it picture perfect.

Room Tip: The 2 bedrooms have killer lakeviews but are booked up pretty early
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rwll, General Manager at Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Kelly at the Front Desk is an exceptional team member, glad to hear she was helpful during your stay. Thank you for sharing your pictures from your trip. We look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,
Erin M. O'Brien
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    120
    31
    7
    3
    8
See reviews for
64
73
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Jolla
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Delightful location, perfectly maintained, wonderful hospitality, gorgeous pool, kayaks, resort activities, dedicated staff -- Red Wolf Lodge just keeps getting better.. This is one of our favorite pools in the world, and walking down to the hot tub overlooking the lake, wrapped in a cozy Red Wolf robe on a clear cool autumn evening to watch the sun set is a great experience.

The kitchens are very well equipped and it is a joy to cook family meals (and a great way to save money). We've stayed in most of the rooms over the years, and always enjoyed it.

This is a true home away from home for us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

Had a wonderful 2 night stay here in number 2, which exceeded all our expectations. Apartment was clean, spacious, cosy and very well equipped. As previously mentioned there wasn't a view from the balcony, but this is not a hardship at all. It was a very short walk across the property to a gorgeous pool and private beach with beautiful views and plenty of loungers! The staff were very helpful and friendly and the complementary use of the kayak/paddle boats an added bonus! We couldn't fault the Redwolf and definitely the best place we stayed on our tour of northern California!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed 8 nights here last July on Unit 2. In spite of our confirmed and already paid advanced booking, when checking in , we were NOTIFIED - not suggested - that two days before our scheduled departure date we would have to change our baggage and things to another room. That was our first deception, since we did not intend to be packing and unpacking until last day , being free to do as we please. After arguing, we were told that these were the conditions of the Lodge that appear on the booking acceptance.Fortunately we had the written confirmation with dates, and which did not mention the "changing room condition". After that, we were told that our situation was going to be revised.. Two days later, we were given the OK to stay in our cabin until end of our stay. Second disappointment was, the advertised " balcony with a view"..¡ what a view:!! Trash Cans of the Lodge.,and behind them the main road with plenty of traffic and noise,- Windows could not be opened - and, if looking to the left, you could also enjoy the view of more cans..The cabin was well furnished, with full kitchen., good bed , Nice interiors. Thin walls to next cabin . One parking place in front of the room. Cleaning service not every day. Nice floral arrays at the Trash-Balcony. Excellent and well kept grounds. We enjoyed very much the lake, the swimming-pool, the jacuzzi tubs, the sourroundings. All the above mentioned inconveniences were soon forgotten while enjoying the beautiful Lake..

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold River, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Booked on short notice for two nights. Upon arrival greeted by Aaron and given a choice of available rooms. We selected a 1 bdr ground level unit with kitchenette, fridge, & woodsy furnishings. The grounds are well kept, easy access to the lake with sandy beach and plenty of seating, a great spot to enjoy the morning and evening. Two jacuzzi tubs and a heated pool were a plus. Weber gas grills and outdoor table space didn't hurt.

Within walking distance is Safeway and Lanza's, an Italian reatsurant. Be at Lanza's by 5:15PM to avoid a line; good for Monday night football too. Service is good as is the food, large portions. For breakfast head north about a mile and some change to the Log Cabin. Good stuff.

Aaron was great and easy to talk to...We will vist Red Wolf again, worth the drive.

Room Tip: Rooms in the rear of the property offer lake views. Check with Aaron, she is very helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California, USA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed in room 12, a 2 bedroom/2 bath condo. First the cons:
Road noise was very audible at night if you opened windows for fresh air.
No AC.
Pillows are extra thick and firm like bricks. Bring your own pillow!
Breakfast provided (pancakes,sausage, coffee, juice) - flier lists it as 8am, but wasn't served until 9:30am.
Hot tub in pool area was not heated.
Only one parking space allowed.
No pets (which could be a pro or a con depending on you)

PROS:
The grounds are very well kept
The staff is very helpful and accomodating
The condo was very clean and comfortable
The resort aspect was lovely (i.e. paddle boat and kayaks are included in price of rental, there are two hot tubs (usually heated i'm assuming), one pool, several BBQ's, ping pong table, lots of beach chairs and chaises)
42" flat screen TV's in each room
Small resort very family friendly
Full kitchen including dishwasher, stove/oven, microwave, fridge/freezer
Dining table for 6
living room with sleeper sofa
plenty of extra towels and linens



  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

A great lake side lodge at North Lake Tahoe. Each room has a nice kitchenette. They are decorated in a rustic wooded style. We even slept in the pull out bed and it was fine. The grounds are very clean. You can take out kayaks or paddle boats for free. There is a nice pool, b'bques many chairs and a small price beach with a rock wall which makes it perfect for small children. And of course, it is on the lake!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge

Address: 7630 N Lake Blvd, Tahoe Vista, CA 96148
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe Vista
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#2 Family Hotel in Tahoe Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Wolf Lakeside Hotel Tahoe Vista

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.