We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent steaks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Range Steakhouse

Old Range Steakhouse
7081 N. Lake Blvd., Tahoe Vista, CA 96148
530-546-4800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $16 - $32
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: A quaint, casual family owned restaurant with a lake view that serves high-quality Midwest beef in rewarding portions. The warm, cozy atmosphere with wooden tabletops and booths is welcoming for all occasions, and a traditional steakhouse menu that provides all-natural unseasoned steaks, Alaskan King Crab legs, or the locals’ favorite, Prime Rib. Seasonal Dinner Pricing Specials - Check for Availability
Calif.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent steaks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

The steaks had excellent flavor and the salad was huge. I had a fillet mignon and my husband had rib eye. That particular night there was a three course special for a very reasonable price. I had that which included a shrimp cocktail, salad and entree.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    25
    9
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Douglas, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Meaty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Casual experience, excellent steak. Low ceilings made for a lot of noise but I would certainly return.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
“Warm food and weak service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We arrived at the restaurant at 5:45pm. No one else there, we ordered the Specials. (2) Ol Buckaroo Prime Rib, (1) Short Ribs, and (1) Filet Mignon. Came with Shrimp Cocktail, Salad. Both were good. Both of our Prime Ribs (1 med, 1 end cut) were about room temperature. The plates were not hot. Waitress placed our food and did not come back until 2 of our group were finished eating. Didn't see her to flag her down. When we asked her for to go boxes we told her " FYI our Prime Ribs were not hot. She commented "why didn't you tell me before the end of your dinner?" My reply was " because you never came back. We are fine just need a to go box. Just want you to,advise the kitchen that the food wasn't hot." She boxed up our food, presented our bill with no I'm sorry, and no discount. Our bill was $111.00 we left her $122.00. Our table had a debate as to whether we should have left that much. Would not go back based on the waitress antagonistic response. We were ready to just heat up the meal ourselves but for $26.00 the food should have been hot and we should have got a 10% off to encourage us to return, not scolded for not flagging her down immediately. Madam waitress...here's Waitressing 101... After dropping the food, go back and check to see if its okay!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent food. Great customer service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We ordered the cowgirl cut steaks and it was really good! The service we received was great. I recommend this place to anyone who loves steaks!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“North Lake Tahoe”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Watch your BILL. We were OVER charge for coffee and a drink that we didn't get. That was about $10. Just think if they did that to every other customer. Our waitress acted like it was out fault and she has been a waitress for 18 year!! Food was fair

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Range Steakhouse also viewed

Tahoe Vista, Lake Tahoe (California)
Tahoe Vista, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Kings Beach, Lake Tahoe (California)
Kings Beach, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Old Range Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Range Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.