We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Takes dining in Tahoe to another level” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rustic Lounge at Cedar Glen Lodge

Rustic Lounge at Cedar Glen Lodge
6589 N Lake Blvd, Tahoe Vista, CA 96148-0188
+1 530-546-4281
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $19 - $36
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Rustic Lounge, is an Award Winning restaurant and wine bar that offers a unique dining experience for the guests of Cedar Glen Lodge while providing the local community a casual fine dining experience. The menu features seasonal offerings ranging from classically-inspired entrees to festive fusions. An adjacent wine bar and cozy fireplace will entice the outdoor enthusiasts as well as those simply looking for a relaxing environment to unwind and reflect on the day. Both the restaurant and bar offer stunning views of beautiful Lake Tahoe.
Los Osos, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Takes dining in Tahoe to another level”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This is a small restaurant and part of the lodge we stayed at. All family owned and operated. The food and service was outstanding. The quality of preparation,seasoning, and plating makes obvious what we learned later, which is that the chefs were trained at the best.

I had a flank steak salad and Debra had scallops with bacon. We also had an incredible crostini and a soup that was corn based but to call it a corn chowder would be a disservice. With the continental breakfast comes pastries made be their own pastry chef.

We'll be back

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha B, Pastry Chef at Rustic Lounge at Cedar Glen Lodge, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Jeffrey,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review and kind comments about our food and service, we all work very hard to ensure that our guests are taken care of while they are here with us. Although I would love to take credit for the pastries that the hotel provides for our guests, we have several wonderful local vendors that provide fresh pastries, breads, and lovely seasonal fruit that is grown near by.
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we all look forward to seeing you in beautiful Lake Tahoe again soon.
David – Pastry Chef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    15
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful and to die for......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We were staying at the Cedar Glen Lodge back in March, so I must apologies Martha that I haven't done this sooner!!

This is our second time back to Cedar Glen Lodge and I must say that the Rustic Lounge is a nice touch. We ate there our first night and was won over by the amazing food, kind and welcoming staff and the cosy atmosphere. All the flavours complement each other and the presentation is out of this world. I would go as far to say that this is one of the best restaurants that I have eaten at, if not THE best.
I don't like to say it as the Lone Eagle Grill in Incline is also a favourite of mine, but the Rustic Lounge beats the dinning experience hands down, with a steak leaving you wanting more. Needless to say that we had to come back for a second meal before we moved on to our next holiday destination.

I am happy to say that we will be returning in 2014 but hopefully before that to get another taste of the Rustic Lounge.

Love Lindsey, Russell, James & Tereza xx

Note: There terrible for outdoor seating is only owing to the fact that there isn't any.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A fizzy fun place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

This is a very small restaurant with excellent food. We were there in the very off-season of early May and the place was still hopping with people having a great time. If you want an intimate conversation, be sure and ask for the corner table where you can sit close to each other. Otherwise, you will be using your best projecting voice to communicate across the rather broad tables because the noise gets up there. But delicious food, very friendly staff and fun.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollister, California
2 reviews
“A Delicious Experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

The Rustic Lounge is frought with great food, warm ambience, and a breathtaking view. It is a bacon-lover's fantasy, with rich flavors and excellent service. The restaurant is small enough to remain intimate even when it's full to the brim with other bacon-loving visitors.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Tahoe, NV
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Number one for a many reasons”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We celebrated our 23rd wedding aniversary here and we made a great choice. Besides being number one in the area it was also recomended by a co-worker. It is a small restaurant only seating about 24. The rustic decor is perfect for Tahoe. We actually had a lake view table. Our meal started with the wonderful home made parmesan cheese bread, next came the wonderful California Orchard salad for me, my wife had the scallops, we both had the Filet Mignon, which in both of our opinions was in the top 2 that we have ever had. It truely melted like butter in our mouths. The potato puree was an excellent companion. We ended with the Banana desert for the cherry on top of the wonderful meal. We wanted to let Chef Ana and David know how much we enjoyed it and had a wonderful conversation with them before we left. We definitely recommend trying it out it you are in the North shore of Lake Tahoe.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rustic Lounge at Cedar Glen Lodge also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Lake Tahoe (California), CA
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Rustic Lounge at Cedar Glen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rustic Lounge at Cedar Glen Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.