We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal North Tahoe spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Firelite Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Firelite Lodge to your Saves list
Firelite Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   7035 North Lake Blvd, Tahoe Vista, CA 96148   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
SAVE 10% - BOOK DIRECT
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Tahoe Vista
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Oakland, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Ideal North Tahoe spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Unlike most north shore motels, most of Firelite's rooms run parallel to the shore, so many rooms have great lake views. Third floor rooms 25, 26, 27 all have fabulous views with balconies. (Other rooms may also, especially on the third floor.) Squeaky clean; gas fireplaces; 'fridge, microwave, sink; good TV; comfortable bed; lovely pool & hot tub; breakfast. Immediately across the street from a small public beach. Close to all north shore activities. We will definitely stay here again. A gem.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms have best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    65
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
46
55
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

A great place to stay on North Shore, California side of Tahoe. Friendly and helpful hosts. Good location across from easy lake access. Clean rooms with fireplace/heaters. Lots of breakfast choices. Midweek winter rates are especially good.

Room Tip: top floor has partial lake views. bottom floor has easy access to swim pool in summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Stayed Friday and Saturday nights over MLK day weekend on the second level (room 17). The room was SUPER clean and obviously recently refurbished (very faint smell of paint, everything looking brand new and some unfinished wood trim).

We had everything we needed: reliable and easily accessible wi-fi, microwave, fridge, coffee maker. The continental breakfast was perfect: coffee, hot cocoa, hard-boiled eggs, cereal, waffles that you make yourself, fruit, muffins. The beds are comfortable too and you get lots of pillows!

Our room did not have a view, but most of the rooms seemed to have a fantastic view of the lake and mountains. The room was heated by a gas fireplace controlled by the thermostat and it worked great. Front desk staff are friendly and professional. Location is close to ski resorts. Lots of restaurants and safeway nearby if you need groceries.

I must say, you have GOT to visit the little hole-in-the-wall Mexican restaurant next door to the hotel called El Sancho's -- it was AWESOME.

The one and only con (and reason for the 4 stars) is that the walls are thin. We could hear our neighbor's TV (I'm sure it was turned up pretty loud) while we were trying to sleep. Luckily I had earplugs which worked great!

For the price, I expected much less, but was VERY pleasantly surprised.

Room Tip: Our room did not have a view, but most looked like they did, so request a room with a view if you wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aptos, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

My wife and I stayed here 1 week ago for snow skiing. We stayed in one of the larger upstairs King Rooms with a view of the lake. It had been recently remodeled and it appears the whole place is in the remodel process. The room was very nice and conveniently had a small bar, sink, fridge and microwave. Unfortunately after the first night my wife became ill and we had to leave after one day of a four day reservation. The manager was very understanding and refunded our balance. We have stayed there several times and will be going back to ski again as soon as my wife is well.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I am always reticent to stay in a place that doesn't have the consistancy of a chain 4 or 5 star hotel. This hotel was a charm. The rooms had just been refurbished carpet new heating worked extremely well and new bathroom. Beds were quality. It is nicely situated close enough to resorts and plenty of parking. The reception staff was very friendly one of the great pluses. The price was right. We did have a problem that by luck during high season of the holidays Expedia completely messed up...common for them (the only reason I gave this a 4 rating. Would suggest not to use Expedia for booking). We only had one room when we booked two. The lodge was very accomodating and gave us the last available.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We were only an hour away when we called to get lodging. What a find! The view of Lake Tahoe from our room could not have been better. Room was a little dated but nice, and more importantly, CLEAN! We were told the next morning, while enjoying a complimentary breakfast, that they were closing that afternoon for extensive renovations. So, it will probably cost more when it reopens, but it will be worth it. You can throw a rock and hit the lake!

Post office is almost next door and great restaurants abound. Try this place. We loved it. My only complaint is that I wish they had an elevator! We were on the third floor. Which of course afforded a better view!

Room Tip: Get a lake view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed here for two nights and were lucky enough to be allocated a room on the second floor with a lovely view of the lake. Sliding doors opened onto a balcony - perfect for relaxing with a glass of wine. The room was spacious, clean and well furnished. There was also small kitchenette. The lodge has a pool and hot tub and reliable free wifi.
The buffet breakfast was good - being Brits, we found the waffle maker a great novelty! The lodge is on the main road, which inevitably means some traffic noise, but it's worth it for the view of Lake Tahoe.

Room Tip: The rooms with King sized beds guarantee a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Firelite Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Firelite Lodge

Address: 7035 North Lake Blvd, Tahoe Vista, CA 96148
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe Vista
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#3 Family Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tahoe Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Firelite Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Firelite Lodge resides directly across from a sandy beach and small marina, allowing our guests great views and access to Lake Tahoe. Kayak, Stand-Up Paddle board rental and sailing school/rental located at the beach. North Tahoe Regional Park is located less than 1 mile from the lodge. Great starting point to hiking and mountain biking. Mountain bike rental located at the property. During winter season discount ski passes available to Squaw Valley, Northstar, Alpine Meadows and Homewood. Outdoor hot spa and seasonal swimming pool. All guest rooms are equipped with gas fireplaces, microwave ovens, refrigerators, coffee makers, 42" LCD TV with premium programming: 5 HBO and 4 ESPN channels, Blue-Ray DVD players. WiFi and Continental Breakfast is included in our room rate. 100% Non smoking lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Firelite Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Firelite Hotel Tahoe Vista
Firelite Motel Tahoe Vista

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Firelite Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.