We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable... with a beautiful view!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Firelite Lodge

Save Saved
You added Firelite Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Firelite Lodge
7035 North Lake Blvd, Tahoe Vista, CA 96148   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Tahoe Vista
Santa Rosa, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable... with a beautiful view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Stayed Friday and Saturday nights over MLK day weekend on the second level (room 17). The room was SUPER clean and obviously recently refurbished (very faint smell of paint, everything looking brand new and some unfinished wood trim).

We had everything we needed: reliable and easily accessible wi-fi, microwave, fridge, coffee maker. The continental breakfast was perfect: coffee, hot cocoa, hard-boiled eggs, cereal, waffles that you make yourself, fruit, muffins. The beds are comfortable too and you get lots of pillows!

Our room did not have a view, but most of the rooms seemed to have a fantastic view of the lake and mountains. The room was heated by a gas fireplace controlled by the thermostat and it worked great. Front desk staff are friendly and professional. Location is close to ski resorts. Lots of restaurants and safeway nearby if you need groceries.

I must say, you have GOT to visit the little hole-in-the-wall Mexican restaurant next door to the hotel called El Sancho's -- it was AWESOME.

The one and only con (and reason for the 4 stars) is that the walls are thin. We could hear our neighbor's TV (I'm sure it was turned up pretty loud) while we were trying to sleep. Luckily I had earplugs which worked great!

For the price, I expected much less, but was VERY pleasantly surprised.

Room Tip: Our room did not have a view, but most looked like they did, so request a room with a view if you wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    50
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
40
46
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Aptos, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

My wife and I stayed here 1 week ago for snow skiing. We stayed in one of the larger upstairs King Rooms with a view of the lake. It had been recently remodeled and it appears the whole place is in the remodel process. The room was very nice and conveniently had a small bar, sink, fridge and microwave. Unfortunately after the first night my wife became ill and we had to leave after one day of a four day reservation. The manager was very understanding and refunded our balance. We have stayed there several times and will be going back to ski again as soon as my wife is well.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fajardo, Puerto Rico
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I am always reticent to stay in a place that doesn't have the consistancy of a chain 4 or 5 star hotel. This hotel was a charm. The rooms had just been refurbished carpet new heating worked extremely well and new bathroom. Beds were quality. It is nicely situated close enough to resorts and plenty of parking. The reception staff was very friendly one of the great pluses. The price was right. We did have a problem that by luck during high season of the holidays Expedia completely messed up...common for them (the only reason I gave this a 4 rating. Would suggest not to use Expedia for booking). We only had one room when we booked two. The lodge was very accomodating and gave us the last available.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We were only an hour away when we called to get lodging. What a find! The view of Lake Tahoe from our room could not have been better. Room was a little dated but nice, and more importantly, CLEAN! We were told the next morning, while enjoying a complimentary breakfast, that they were closing that afternoon for extensive renovations. So, it will probably cost more when it reopens, but it will be worth it. You can throw a rock and hit the lake!

Post office is almost next door and great restaurants abound. Try this place. We loved it. My only complaint is that I wish they had an elevator! We were on the third floor. Which of course afforded a better view!

Room Tip: Get a lake view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed here for two nights and were lucky enough to be allocated a room on the second floor with a lovely view of the lake. Sliding doors opened onto a balcony - perfect for relaxing with a glass of wine. The room was spacious, clean and well furnished. There was also small kitchenette. The lodge has a pool and hot tub and reliable free wifi.
The buffet breakfast was good - being Brits, we found the waffle maker a great novelty! The lodge is on the main road, which inevitably means some traffic noise, but it's worth it for the view of Lake Tahoe.

Room Tip: The rooms with King sized beds guarantee a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

You'll have easy access to the beach right across the street, breakfast in the morning and be within walking distance to several very good restaurants. The only ding is the traffic. The cars never stop. However, at night it was not a problem as we had the slider closed. Our room was large, clean and had a nice view of the lake. The nice young woman at the front desk was very helpful with information. She makes a mean fruit salad, too!

The FireLite Lodge delivers a lot for your money.

Tip: drive to Truckee. It's a cool town

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed here for two nights right at the end of August. I was a little worried that I wasn't going to like the place before we arrived as some of the reviews hadn't been that great but I have to say that I was pleasantly surprised. We had a second floor room without a balcony that was plenty spacious for our family of five. The room included a sofa bed which was a nice change (the number of places we have stayed and paid for five this vacation and then found nowhere for the fifth person to sleep have been numerous!). The wifi was great, beds comfy, the place was very clean, although slightly dated, and the breakfast was great. The kids love making waffles and the fruit salad was just great. I got the feeling that the place is being slowly upgraded as the front desk/breakfast area looks a lot newer than everywhere else. It was in a great location - just across from the beach but there weren't too many choices of places to eat in an evening around. The negatives were the noise from the road which didn't stop all night long. We needed to sleep with the window open as it was warm and the fan in the room, rather than air conditioning, didn't quite do the trick so that didn't help with the noise factor. Having said that most properties around Lake Tahoe are on the same road, so this must be a common problem. There was also just one pillow per person on the bed..... we had an extra in the car - sorry but I'm a two pillow girl :)

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the busy road
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Firelite Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Firelite Lodge

Also Known As:
Firelite Hotel
Firelite Hotel Tahoe Vista
Firelite Motel Tahoe Vista
Address: 7035 North Lake Blvd, Tahoe Vista, CA 96148
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe Vista
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Tahoe Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Firelite Lodge resides directly across from a sandy beach and small marina, allowing our guests great views and access to Lake Tahoe. Mountain bike rental at the property. Walk to 6 restaurants. North Tahoe Regional Park is located less than 1 mile from the lodge. During winter season discount ski passes sold to Squaw Valley, Northstar, Alpine Meadows and Homewood. Outdoor hot spa and seasonal swimming pool. All guest rooms are equipped with gas fireplaces, microwave ovens, refrigerators, coffee makers, 42" LCD TV with premium programming: 5 HBO and 4 ESPN channels, Blue-Ray DVD players. WiFi and Continental Breakfast is included in our room rate. 100% non smoking lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Firelite Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Firelite Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.