We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in North Tahoe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Firelite Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Firelite Lodge to your Saves list
Firelite Lodge
7035 North Lake Blvd, Tahoe Vista, CA 96148   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
BOOK DIRECT - BEST RATE
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Tahoe Vista
Boston
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great location in North Tahoe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

You'll have easy access to the beach right across the street, breakfast in the morning and be within walking distance to several very good restaurants. The only ding is the traffic. The cars never stop. However, at night it was not a problem as we had the slider closed. Our room was large, clean and had a nice view of the lake. The nice young woman at the front desk was very helpful with information. She makes a mean fruit salad, too!

The FireLite Lodge delivers a lot for your money.

Tip: drive to Truckee. It's a cool town

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    63
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
46
53
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delta, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed here for two nights right at the end of August. I was a little worried that I wasn't going to like the place before we arrived as some of the reviews hadn't been that great but I have to say that I was pleasantly surprised. We had a second floor room without a balcony that was plenty spacious for our family of five. The room included a sofa bed which was a nice change (the number of places we have stayed and paid for five this vacation and then found nowhere for the fifth person to sleep have been numerous!). The wifi was great, beds comfy, the place was very clean, although slightly dated, and the breakfast was great. The kids love making waffles and the fruit salad was just great. I got the feeling that the place is being slowly upgraded as the front desk/breakfast area looks a lot newer than everywhere else. It was in a great location - just across from the beach but there weren't too many choices of places to eat in an evening around. The negatives were the noise from the road which didn't stop all night long. We needed to sleep with the window open as it was warm and the fan in the room, rather than air conditioning, didn't quite do the trick so that didn't help with the noise factor. Having said that most properties around Lake Tahoe are on the same road, so this must be a common problem. There was also just one pillow per person on the bed..... we had an extra in the car - sorry but I'm a two pillow girl :)

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the busy road
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

We stayed several nights with our seven year old twins. What a bargain! Directly across the street from a beach with Kayak Rentals. Very friendly owners and always nice to support the little guy. Mr. Hilton doesn't need All my money. Our room had a great view, through unbelievably clean sliding glass door, that led out to a large balcony overlooking Lake and Pool. Kids swam in pool every day as well as enjoyed the Hot Tub. We joined them in Tub on most evenings after our daily outings. rooms were Very clean, large flat screen with HBO. A nice continental breakfast sitting looking at morning on the lake. Nice spot to start your morning Run. All for a Very, Very, Very , Very low price. I don't want to say exact amount so they can raise it if they need to. Excellent Base Camp for your Lake Tahoe Adventure. Thanks owners.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We spent 4 nights in August and had a fabulous time. Hotel room is a little outdated but very clean and nice. The room had a kitchen place with a small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker. Wi-Fi internet worked great. Few nights we used a hot tub and enjoyed it very much. Breakfast was great, delicious fruit salad, milk, orange juice, coffee, tea, toasts, eggs, waffles, muffins. You can rent a bike right from the hotel’s lobby. The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. We will definitely come back another time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinole, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 5 days, and we really liked it. The rooms were a good size, the bathrooms were really clean and I liked having a balcony. There was also a nice pool, good for cooling off when sunbathing, and the beach was right across the street, so no worrying about parking or anything.

There's no air conditioning, but I didn't have a problem sleeping. You can't leave the balcony door open at night because there's no screen and a lot of mosquitos will bite you. Also, you could hear other guests talking in the motel sometimes. It got really quiet at night, so that was okay too. They had a really big television with cable TV, a microwave and a fridge. There was also a free breakfast in the lobby that we had a couple of times.

I would definitely come back, it was really worth the price.

Room Tip: If you take a room on the 2nd floor and up, you get a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

A motel style place. Overpriced but that is typical for the area around Tahoe. Our room was handicap accessible so the bathroom was really spacious. We had a room around the back and the road noise was almost unbearable. We ended up turning on the radio to help drown in out. There are rooms on the inside away from the main road so maybe they would be better. There is beach access across the street.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape town
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We loved our 3 nights at Firelite Lodge. The owners were extremely friendly and helpful. So much more personal than some of the other big chain hotels we experienced on our trip to the US. Enjoyed our terrace space by the pool for our evening drinks. Chilled and relaxing atmosphere. Perfect location for the Lake. 2 minutes to lovely beach. This is not 5 star luxury with bells and whistles but it is a really great place to stay and we would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our ground floor room close to the pool. No view, but handy with our 6 year old!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Firelite Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Firelite Lodge

Address: 7035 North Lake Blvd, Tahoe Vista, CA 96148
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe Vista
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#4 Family Hotel in Tahoe Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Firelite Lodge resides directly across from a sandy beach and small marina, allowing our guests great views and access to Lake Tahoe. Kayak, Stand-Up Paddle board rental and sailing school/rental located at the beach. North Tahoe Regional Park is located less than 1 mile from the lodge. Great starting point to hiking and mountain biking. Mountain bike rental located at the property. During winter season discount ski passes available to Squaw Valley, Northstar, Alpine Meadows and Homewood. Outdoor hot spa and seasonal swimming pool. All guest rooms are equipped with gas fireplaces, microwave ovens, refrigerators, coffee makers, 42" LCD TV with premium programming: 5 HBO and 4 ESPN channels, Blue-Ray DVD players. WiFi and Continental Breakfast is included in our room rate. 100% Non smoking lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Firelite Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Firelite Hotel Tahoe Vista
Firelite Motel Tahoe Vista

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Firelite Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.