We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular View-The Boat House formally Capt Jon's” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Captain Jon's - CLOSED

Captain Jon's
7220 N Lake Blvd, Tahoe Vista, CA
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Incline Village, Nevada
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Spectacular View-The Boat House formally Capt Jon's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

There is few views as breath taking as Lake Tahoe. This restaurant was formally Captain Jon's is now The Boat House. The service was solid, the menu small but very tasty. The Oyster Bar was very good. Sitting on the deck adds to the experience. If you dine in the evening bring a jacket. Parking Is marginal but workable.
Bar is very simple but it works. Go enjoy the view and the service while savoring the food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    8
    13
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pleasanton, CA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“This restaurant is closed - might be nice if they said so”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

I made a reservation on line, using their website. Got a confirmation back, and was looking forward to having our cocktails while watching the sunset. We checked into the B&B next door (Shore House, very nice, BTW) and walked over to the restaurant - only to find it CLOSED. Our host later told us the restaurant had been closed for 9 months! Their website is still up and running and taking reservations, with no notice to potential customers that they will not be seated and will receive nothing to eat when they arrive. Anyway, we made the best of it - walked across the street to the steak house and had a very good and satisfying meal over there.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful Sunset View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Restaurant sits right on the beach. You feel like you're on top of the water. I don't think we could have had a better view of the sunset. My pork chop was amazing with pumpkin puree.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Food was good until....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

A lady at the table next to us found a human tooth in her food!! The staff were very quite and unfriendly. Very awkward environment when it came to the servers. Nice view, though. Very small space.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lunch and View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We enjoyed a leisurely lunch on the deck of Captain Jon's overlooking Lake Tahoe. We started with onion rings - sweet onions in a beer batter served with BBQ sauce. I had a steak salad with large and delicious strips of steak. The serving portions were enormous. The wait staff was comprised of ladies from Romania who were part of a summer work program. It was fascinating to listen to their experiences and their admiration for the U.S. We highly recommend Captain Jon's for the cuisine, the view and the service.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain Jon's also viewed

Tahoe Vista, Lake Tahoe (California)
Tahoe Vista, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Tahoe Vista, Lake Tahoe (California)
Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain Jon's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.