We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort to your Saves list
Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   6834 North Lake Blvd., Tahoe Vista, CA 96148   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Tahoe Vista
Certificate of Excellence
California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2006

This is a great place to stay,
We went for our anniversary in mid dec. 06 and we stayed in the honeymoon suite,we were so impressed with the excellent service and the beautiful location,as well as the Fantastic Honey moon suite that we want to go back in the summer.
The room was Awesome ,the Veiws were great,we felt like we were in our own little world,we will definately be booking again soon,
This will be our favorite Mid-winter Getaway from now on...p.s.
the best service we ever had was given by Penoir, She was awesome...

  • Liked — Great Veiws /Great Service
  • Disliked — we loved everything
  • Tips/Secrets — winter Rates
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    33
    8
    5
    6
See reviews for
47
44
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2006

We booked here hoping for a tranquil stay on the lake. We were aware of the road passing directly behind the lodge and did phone in advance to check noise levels and were told it wasn’t a problem. We arrived finding it to be a four lane road with constant traffic noise. Furthermore, we could hear the telly from the room next door in the mornings as well as the waterworks from the bathroom next door. Eventually one does get used to the traffic drone and it is fair to say that this road circulates the whole lake and passes many resorts, but it does consist of only two lanes in many places.

The resort is very expensive and it is clear that the premium price is for its own little beach area and view of the lake. In terms of the actual accommodation, it falls far short of the price paid. Apart from the next door noise, the room, which was spacious and had a seating area and telly, gets very hot at night, compounded by the fact that the bed has a down coverlet underneath the bottom sheet which not only makes you hotter, but is very uncomfortable with feather quills poking you. The high ceiling meant that the top glass panels let in all the morning light, waking you up early. It is a wonderful plus to open the curtains of the lower windows to see a glimpse of the lake in the morning, but also bear in mind that due to the room layout, once you open the curtains all room privacy is gone with people passing outside on the communal deck able to see the whole bedroom and right into the bathroom. The room has a very basic kitchenette. There is no dry cleaning or laundering facility available either. The only option is a coin operated launderette 3 minutes’ drive away - not the best place to spend your holiday time. There is also no breakfast option – not even a muffin for sale, which is a hassle on your first morning of arrival.

Housekeeping is not that great – I had to re-clean the bath myself on one occasion. Upon arrival, we had to report some missing blinds and the fact that the water bucket outside the door to rinse the sand off your feet was filthy and had not been refreshed in days. However, the reception staff were very helpful and friendly and fixed these minor problems. There is also free internet access use available at reception.

The location is very good for restaurants and activities. There are one or two restaurants within walking distance and an ice cream shop on the opposite side of the road. We would recommend Gar Woods Grill 5 minute’s drive away for a great view of the lake for lunch or dinner. There is also a big Safeway within 5 minutes drive for groceries. Kayaks are available to rent from a shack opposite the resort and there are jet ski, parasailing and such like activities available 5 minutes drive away and you can go on a sunset yacht cruise which leaves from a marina 10 minutes drive away. One can easily drive around the whole lake and see some sights in one day – we did this and stopped off for a walk down to Emerald Bay and took the Heavenly gondola in South Tahoe for a view of the whole lake. I would recommend North Tahoe over South Tahoe as it feels less built up.

Apparently Mourelatos has many returning visitors and apparently families with children enjoy it very much, due to the beach area and ice cream shop. In the evenings there is a heated coal pit on the beach. I only wish they would let off on the constant Greek music playing outside reception. The resort has also won some awards. All in all though, we were very disappointed even though reception staff were very valiant. I am sure one could find similar accommodation just as conveniently located for a much cheaper rate elsewhere and I would only consider staying here again if the rate was reduced to a truer reflection of the amenities of the actual resort itself.

Stayed August 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larkspur
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2006

My wife and I stayed at Mourelatos for 2 nights (I wish we stayed longer), everything was wonderful, we thought we were in heaven. The property is owned by a Greek couple, who dedicated their lives to make this place the best hotel in Tahoe. They seem like they thought about everything. I have nothing negative I can say about this place (and I'm a very picky person).
The rooms are designed with an angle so that they can all see the lake view. We literally had our breakfasts on the beach looking at this beautiful view. If you like to swim, the lake is warmer in that area because the water is shallow. The room was very clean, the staff were very friendly. If you are a coffee drinker, they have coffee maker in every room and there is a coffee shop across the street (or you can drive to safeway to get a starbuks coffee). It was worth every dollar we spent there. We'll definetely go back again.

  • Liked — Firendly staff
  • Tips/Secrets — take your breakfast with you
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2006

My first time in Lake Tahoe was made much easier by the Mourelatos' Lakeshore Resort staff. They were very helpful and friendly, and there was always someone around when you needed them. The room was comfortable and large enough for a single room.You feel safe and secure and are well cared for but left in peace when needed. The location could not be better just next to lake Tahoe and also i will never forget the gorgeous lake view from my room....If i go to Lake Tahoe again, i`m sure that i will ask for a room again.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2005

I looked everywhere online for a hotel that would accept us for one night on a weekend and consulted my Lonely Planet as a last resort. Mourelatos was recommended in there and when I called they had space, too!
We've already been back at this hotel and it has become our staple. The building is newly renovated, the rooms are spacious, there is a fridge, microwave, large bathroom, tall ceilings and lake view.
The hotel is kind of pricey, but if you want a relaxing weekend in Tahoe, this is totally worth it.

CONS: no breakfast offered; no online reservations.

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort

Address: 6834 North Lake Blvd., Tahoe Vista, CA 96148
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe Vista
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#4 Family Hotel in Tahoe Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ON THE BEACH AT LAKE TAHOE. Nestled on the magnificent pristine beach of Lake Tahoe's north shore, Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort offers a stunning lake-front lodging experience in Tahoe Vista, California, which is much more than just a place to stay. It's a treasured spot where the spectacular views of Lake Tahoe from the 32 well-appointed and spacious studio suites are just the beginning of what you will experience from its convenient and central location. For over 30 years, the family-owned Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort has been an escape for those who seek a natural, peaceful and unmatched setting to do it all, or do nothing at all, on the edge of Lake Tahoe. This intimate fully-remodeled all suite-motel sits on the edge of a 275 foot private beach and could not be more optimal and central for those who seek a location to enjoy all that Lake Tahoe has to offer. It's where you can truly take break from modern-day stress, a hideaway for families to reconnect, a romantic interlude for couples ... And an extraordinary getaway for active travelers from all over the world in one of the most beautiful settings on earth. Best of all, you will be hosted and spoiled throughout your stay with the owner's personal and authentic Greek hospitality that brings guests back year after year. ENDLESS ACTIVITIES ~ FOR ALL AGES. From your "home away from home", you can walk the beach with no destination in mind, sip morning coffee from your covered porch, watch your kids play on the sand, or let the day slip away while kayaking, boating, paddle boarding ... Or just soak up the scenery under the warm Sierra sun. Just across the street, the eighteen acres of private trails are accessible for hiking, biking, snowshoeing and cross-country skiing. And within a short scenic drive east or west, there are over a dozen internationally-acclaimed golf and ski resorts, gourmet restaurants, shops that showcase local artistry and arts and culture events year-round. YOUR PLACE TO ESCAPE. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mourelatos Lakeshore Hotel Tahoe Vista

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.