We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The friendliest people, beautiful place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort

Save Saved
You added Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   6834 North Lake Blvd., Tahoe Vista, CA 96148   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Tahoe Vista
Fair Oaks, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The friendliest people, beautiful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Two friends and I visited to celebrate a special birthday. Alex and his family were very accommodating in making sure that we were able to stay and within our budget. The property is beautiful, well-maintained, gorgeous view, large room. Staff had wonderful recommendations for places to eat. Well-organized reservation info provided in advance (directions, things to do, etc.)

Room Tip: All rooms have a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    28
    6
    4
    5
See reviews for
38
35
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We had a wonderful experience staying here with our family while on vacation to CA. It was the perfect way to experience Lake Tahoe (**note: Lake Tahoe seemed very familiar to me, as it reminds me very much of my native northern Minnesota, and Mourelato's felt very similar to a lot of the resorts on lakes in Northern MN -- homey, mom and pop places that are great for families looking to enjoy sand and water, NOT for ritzy types looking for Miami or Waikiki).

Our room was a great size with 2 queen beds, table and chairs, kitchenette, and pull-out sofa sized for 1 person. We had 5 in our room, so perfect! We never felt crowded. We loved the great view from our windows, and the table, chairs and bench right outside, which gave us the perfect spot to drink wine and eat bread and cheese in the evening. I am not sure why anyone complained about the decor of the rooms. Ours was simple and beautiful and very clean, with comfy white duvets on the beds and great lighting.

The resort - this is exactly what I was looking for from a resort on a lake in the mountains. Great for families and for people who just want to relax, swim, etc. You do not have to pay to use anything! What we loved---the beach!!! Beautiful, great view, sandy bottom lake perfect for swimming; the beach lawn chairs and huge beach umbrellas, perfect for a day reading and napping on the sand; all of the toys on the beach, from frisbees to bocce ball to sand toys, etc; the hot tubs, which had sand in them but were great for warming up after an evening swim; the bonfire pits, which we enjoyed after dark; the 'water chairs' that you can drag into the water for a refreshing rest; the water trampoline that we swam to; the kayaks and paddle boards that you can use!! Every time we went to the beach, there were at least 2 young workers there to help people use the kayaks and paddle boards. Great!! We had a lot of fun using those. The weather in early July was in the 80s, great for swimming. The water is chilly, but perfect once you get used to it. The sand is HOT on your feet, so make sure you always have sandals when at the beach!

Location - we loved that there were little restaurants and cafes across the street. We enjoyed taking a walk in both directions along the main road. We drove to the Old Post Office Cafe for breakfast, and it was very yummy, huge portions! We also drove to the nearby Vikingsholm to hike and see views--beautiful!

Overall, I loved this resort. The owners and workers were really friendly. All of us loved every second and wished we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: If you are trying to fit more than 4 people in the room, make sure you check whether the pull-out co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

The hotel and rooms are clean. The staff is nice. The location is fabulous and generally quite peaceful. The views are awesome, especially with the way the rooms are designed to maximize the lake view. The property externally seems well-cared for. We didn't have much interaction with the staff but the owner (or his son, Alex ?) seemed very nice on check-out.

We just can't give this place higher than a 3 because although the rooms were well appointed and tastefully done, there were three issues that really made us feel that we paid too much: (1) the carpets were in terrible condition. They were (once) high-quality carpets but now stained so badly from all the water, especially from previous occupants dragging in their wet snow boots that is typical of the Tahoe area during the peak winter season. The water stains made the carpet look filthy even though we're sure they try their best to keep them clean. I know it's a nightmare for the owners to maintain carpets so, constructively, my suggestion would be to rip out the carpets entirely and replace them with good, high-quality surface tiles. It simply is the most sensible thing to do given the market the hotels in the area serve - skiers in the peak winter season. We've come across some hotels in South Lake Tahoe that have done just that, given up on carpeting entirely. Use area rugs (with non-slip backing) in the rooms where it makes sense and they are cheap to replace compared to maintaining wall-to-wall carpeting. In the meantime, they should issue disposable slippers for people to use in the rooms like in most 4 and 5 star hotels, (2) the installed fan with lights was not fully functional. The fan worked, at one speed. Couldn't get the 4 lamps to work on the fan so why install the lamps, create the impression they are useable and then leave us with now way to turn them on? Frustrating as hell since the room really does need more lighting for reading. The impression was that the fans were a cheap/quick installation to provide circulating air but no one thought about speed control or even lighting control (these are fans that you can buy in Home Depot that use pull chains to turn lights on/off and change fan speeds), (3) The fans needed dusting - badly. Even at 10-12 feet up, we could see the layers of dust on the fan blades.

So at $162 per night for two, it was very pricey. We don't think it was good value for money. I took the room because of the view and it was our last night on the road and wanted it to be special. Once we looked past the issues I've detailed, it's one of the better hotels on the strip. Hopefully, it was just our room (#126) that had these issues but we suspect that isn't the case.

Room Tip: If you are a walk-in, ask to see the room before you buy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berea, Kentucky
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We spent two nights here, and loved it! The room was spotless, well decorated and well stocked with clean, fresh towels. The view was fabulous and we enjoyed every minute of our stay. The staff was exceedingly friendly and helpful to us during our stay there and really cared about making the whole stay a positive experience. My wife and I enjoyed the beach, and there is no substitute for being "on the water." From our observation, the North Shore is very family and couple friendly. This property is located convenient to the Tahoe Gal Cruise, and grocery, etc. in Tahoe City. I would make reservations with them again in a hearebeat for a great Lake Tahoe experience.

Room Tip: Upstairs balcony view is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Honestly, i'd give Mourelatos a 3.5, not a 4. Because it was so pristinely CLEAN I gave it a 4 rather than a 3. The positives: CLEAN, roomy room, plenty of hot water, nice little kitchen, comfortable furniture and a lovely place to sit outside in front of the room. Easy access to a beautiful and clean beach. The way the rooms are set up it is perfect for a family reunion and easy access visiting.
The negatives: the floors (especially in the linoleum kitchen and bathroom area) creaked so loud it made it prohibitive to get up and walk around when others were sleeping for fear of waking them. The window coverings were in disrepair making it difficult to close them. I had to step up on a chair and rig them everytime we wanted to open or close them completely. Also, if you have trouble sleeping with any lights you might have a problem here. There is a window in the top of the door and the lights from outside flow in all night long. Your view is BEAUTIFUL, but because it is from your front window you lack privacy when the curtains are open. There is no restaurant.

I'd certainly recommend Mourelatos because of the pros. It is a perfect place for families and large parties that want to be together. I wouldn't call it a resort though. It felt more like a lodge with an amazing beach.

Room Tip: Room 131 has the best and most private view and deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This is a motel located on the north shore of Lake Tahoe. The only good thing about it is that it is right on the shore and you can walk from your room to the beach. On the other hand, on the other side of the motel is the road, and the spa is located right in the middle of the parking lot! The breakfast was very poor, especially when you think how much you pay for the room.

Room Tip: Some rooms have very nice view - they have a detailed map in their web site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here for 4 weekday nights during President's Week and mostly loved it.

Our room number was 112. The room is on the first floor of the west building and is the second unit from the beach.

The view out the front window is incredible. The porch furniture was a really nice touch and we enjoyed sitting outside during the warm winter afternoons.

The room has 2 queen beds. My 2 young kids (10 and 5) slept fine in the bed closest to the door. My wife and I were pretty uncomfortable in the bed closest to the bathroom... it had a soft mattress and it sagged in the middle.

We loved that the room had a 2 cubic foot refrigerator and wet bar. It allowed us to bring our own milk, OJ, breakfast food, and lunch food supplies. We saved time and money because we didn't need to eat out for breakfast and we didn't go broke buying lunch at the ski resorts.

The bathroom was okay. It had a single sink with enough counterspace to hold all of our stuff. The shower was large and clean. The toilet was tucked away in a tiny area behind the door and next to the shower. The entrance to the bathroom squeaked very loudly every time you entered and exited. Whenever someone needed to use the bathroom in the middle of the night, the squeak was loud enough to wake up 1 or 2 people.

The wall heater generates a tremendous amount of heat. And combined with the fact that the beds had very warm comforters, we melted our first night. The last 3 nights we took off the heavy comforters and switched to thin comforters that were stored in the closet area. We also turned the heat way down. This solved the overheating problem.

The room is very large. It is much larger than a standard hotel room.

The staff is very friendly -- from the owner to the ladies working the front desk and the guy who unclogged our toilet. I give them an A+.

There is a dining/entertainment room next to the lobby that has a TV, Wii, and computer with internet access.

During President's Week they provided some continental breakfast items after 8:00 AM, e.g. coffee, OJ, milk, cereal, toast, and pastries (sealed in plastic, not freshly made). We also found there were granola bars available in the late afternoon. The food items were a pleasant surprise but may not be provided on non-holiday weekdays. Check with the hotel in advance to be sure.

One thing I don't like is that the room rates are based on double occupancy and they charge $20 for every room occupant beyond two. Kids 5 and under are not charged the extra fee. So bear in mind that if you have 2 kids ages 6 and older you will be charged an extra $40 above the regular room rate.

I originally tried to book my stay thru hotels<dot>com. Even though I was booking for 2 adults and 2 kids, they quoted the rate based on two people. I thought I was getting a great deal until I realized there were hidden fees. The website hid the extra person charges in an "extra fees" subtotal (which also included the hotel tax) and didn't show the subtotal until the very end of the booking process. For some reason hotels<dot>com also overcharged me an extra $20 plus tax for my 5 year old. I decided to cancel my hotels<dot>com reservation and book directly with the property to avoid being overcharged.

Overall I am pretty happy with this hotel and would be willing to stay here again. I just hope they replace the sagging mattresses, fix the squeaky floors, and do away with the extra person charges.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort

Address: 6834 North Lake Blvd., Tahoe Vista, CA 96148
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe Vista
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tahoe Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family-owned Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort offers guests the perfect mix of comfort and inspiring views for those looking to book a memorable Tahoe lakefront get-away. Each suite faces the lake and includes a covered patio that overlooks the resort’s private sandy beach. Guests can also enjoy two outdoor spas, beautifully maintained grounds, gardens and a beach front patio ideal for barbequing, star gazing or taking in the spectacular Lake Tahoe views. Best of all, the resort’s lakefront setting provides access to a multitude of water and land-based human-powered recreation (think kayaking, snowshoeing, hiking and more). The owners’ commitment to warmly welcome guests with authentic Greek hospitality keeps customers coming back for more. Centrally located along Tahoe’s North shore, Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort is surrounded by year-round recreational opportunities galore and an abundance of great dining and shopping options. The Mourelatos family invites guests to relax, enjoy and cherish Lake Tahoe with them. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mourelatos Lakeshore Hotel Tahoe Vista

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.