We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice motel but not perfect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort to your Saves list
Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   6834 North Lake Blvd., Tahoe Vista, CA 96148   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Tahoe Vista
California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice motel but not perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here for 4 weekday nights during President's Week and mostly loved it.

Our room number was 112. The room is on the first floor of the west building and is the second unit from the beach.

The view out the front window is incredible. The porch furniture was a really nice touch and we enjoyed sitting outside during the warm winter afternoons.

The room has 2 queen beds. My 2 young kids (10 and 5) slept fine in the bed closest to the door. My wife and I were pretty uncomfortable in the bed closest to the bathroom... it had a soft mattress and it sagged in the middle.

We loved that the room had a 2 cubic foot refrigerator and wet bar. It allowed us to bring our own milk, OJ, breakfast food, and lunch food supplies. We saved time and money because we didn't need to eat out for breakfast and we didn't go broke buying lunch at the ski resorts.

The bathroom was okay. It had a single sink with enough counterspace to hold all of our stuff. The shower was large and clean. The toilet was tucked away in a tiny area behind the door and next to the shower. The entrance to the bathroom squeaked very loudly every time you entered and exited. Whenever someone needed to use the bathroom in the middle of the night, the squeak was loud enough to wake up 1 or 2 people.

The wall heater generates a tremendous amount of heat. And combined with the fact that the beds had very warm comforters, we melted our first night. The last 3 nights we took off the heavy comforters and switched to thin comforters that were stored in the closet area. We also turned the heat way down. This solved the overheating problem.

The room is very large. It is much larger than a standard hotel room.

The staff is very friendly -- from the owner to the ladies working the front desk and the guy who unclogged our toilet. I give them an A+.

There is a dining/entertainment room next to the lobby that has a TV, Wii, and computer with internet access.

During President's Week they provided some continental breakfast items after 8:00 AM, e.g. coffee, OJ, milk, cereal, toast, and pastries (sealed in plastic, not freshly made). We also found there were granola bars available in the late afternoon. The food items were a pleasant surprise but may not be provided on non-holiday weekdays. Check with the hotel in advance to be sure.

One thing I don't like is that the room rates are based on double occupancy and they charge $20 for every room occupant beyond two. Kids 5 and under are not charged the extra fee. So bear in mind that if you have 2 kids ages 6 and older you will be charged an extra $40 above the regular room rate.

I originally tried to book my stay thru hotels<dot>com. Even though I was booking for 2 adults and 2 kids, they quoted the rate based on two people. I thought I was getting a great deal until I realized there were hidden fees. The website hid the extra person charges in an "extra fees" subtotal (which also included the hotel tax) and didn't show the subtotal until the very end of the booking process. For some reason hotels<dot>com also overcharged me an extra $20 plus tax for my 5 year old. I decided to cancel my hotels<dot>com reservation and book directly with the property to avoid being overcharged.

Overall I am pretty happy with this hotel and would be willing to stay here again. I just hope they replace the sagging mattresses, fix the squeaky floors, and do away with the extra person charges.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    32
    8
    5
    5
See reviews for
44
42
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tres Pinos, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

From the time we entered the lobby, I felt welcomed. The unit was gorgeous, with a maginifent view of Lake Tahoe. The amenities were fabulous. One caveat: this is a family resort. We were there on a mud run weekend and it was pretty loud, especially since the facility has BBQs that you can roll over to your unit and cook. Obviously, that means noise from folks just congregating and socialising outside. Didn't matter to us. It was wonderful. We walked across the street and had a very nice dinner at the old post office.

Room Tip: We were given a corner room that had a partially blocked view of the lake, but it was still a great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Walking in off the street, I was pleasantly surprised by how nice the room was, and the large window overlooking the lake was the highlight! Walking distance to a great restaurant and nice and helpful staff! Best experience in North Lake! A lot of places up there seem stuck in the seventies-not this one!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Accidentally found this place when we decided we wanted more room than a standard hotel. We were pleasantly surprised at the accommodations and the location.

The staff and owner were very friendly and the location is wonderful if you want to ski/board in the mountains or just play in the snow.

Looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healdsburg, California
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

This was a great getaway from everyday life. Since it's after summer and before ski season opens, it was very relaxing and quiet. I think we were one of 2-3 visitors in the complex. As advertised, all rooms have a lake view, and the beach is awesome. I can only imagine the peace we had would be replaced during the high (summer) season. Having full kitchen was great, and its location is convenient to all things.

Room Tip: Check out their website before booking through an wholesaler. I found a special that I wasn't a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

A must in our WestCoast trip for a french family! We discovered Lake Tahoe in July and stayed 2 days in Mourelatos Lakeshore resort.
Very nice play to stay with a wonderful sightseeing, the Mourelatos Team is dedicated to ensure a comfortable stay with relevant advices about restaurants and places to visit. Once again thanks for inviting us to go to Lake's on The Lake restaurant.
The room with a lake view was comfortable, clean, quiet. Nothing to mention.
Very good choice, do not hesitate to make a reservation there.

Room Tip: Room with Lake View is perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmö
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

The Hotel in it self is not especially fancy. But its clean and have everything you need. Book a room at the end of the two buildings towards the sea. The view in the morning are spectacular! The atmosphere off season is very relaxed. The beach are great. Its one of those places you regret leaving. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort

Address: 6834 North Lake Blvd., Tahoe Vista, CA 96148
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe Vista
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#3 Family Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tahoe Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family-owned Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort offers guests the perfect mix of comfort and inspiring views for those looking to book a memorable Tahoe lakefront get-away. Each suite faces the lake and includes a covered patio that overlooks the resort’s private sandy beach. Guests can also enjoy two outdoor spas, beautifully maintained grounds, gardens and a beach front patio ideal for barbequing, star gazing or taking in the spectacular Lake Tahoe views. Best of all, the resort’s lakefront setting provides access to a multitude of water and land-based human-powered recreation (think kayaking, snowshoeing, hiking and more). The owners’ commitment to warmly welcome guests with authentic Greek hospitality keeps customers coming back for more. Centrally located along Tahoe’s North shore, Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort is surrounded by year-round recreational opportunities galore and an abundance of great dining and shopping options. The Mourelatos family invites guests to relax, enjoy and cherish Lake Tahoe with them. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mourelatos Lakeshore Hotel Tahoe Vista

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.