We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family friendly lodging in a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort

Save Saved
You added Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   6834 North Lake Blvd., Tahoe Vista, CA 96148   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Tahoe Vista
San Francisco, CA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Family friendly lodging in a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Accidentally found this place when we decided we wanted more room than a standard hotel. We were pleasantly surprised at the accommodations and the location.

The staff and owner were very friendly and the location is wonderful if you want to ski/board in the mountains or just play in the snow.

Looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    29
    6
    4
    5
See reviews for
39
35
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Healdsburg, California
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

This was a great getaway from everyday life. Since it's after summer and before ski season opens, it was very relaxing and quiet. I think we were one of 2-3 visitors in the complex. As advertised, all rooms have a lake view, and the beach is awesome. I can only imagine the peace we had would be replaced during the high (summer) season. Having full kitchen was great, and its location is convenient to all things.

Room Tip: Check out their website before booking through an wholesaler. I found a special that I wasn't a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

A must in our WestCoast trip for a french family! We discovered Lake Tahoe in July and stayed 2 days in Mourelatos Lakeshore resort.
Very nice play to stay with a wonderful sightseeing, the Mourelatos Team is dedicated to ensure a comfortable stay with relevant advices about restaurants and places to visit. Once again thanks for inviting us to go to Lake's on The Lake restaurant.
The room with a lake view was comfortable, clean, quiet. Nothing to mention.
Very good choice, do not hesitate to make a reservation there.

Room Tip: Room with Lake View is perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmö
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

The Hotel in it self is not especially fancy. But its clean and have everything you need. Book a room at the end of the two buildings towards the sea. The view in the morning are spectacular! The atmosphere off season is very relaxed. The beach are great. Its one of those places you regret leaving. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

When we got to Mourelatos, we were tired and weary from lots of driving - and my husband's back was having spasms. I went to the front desk to ask about Chiropractors and, although they did not know of any , they knew someone who did and they got us the information we needed. That very same day we were able to get an appointment at the Lake Tahoe Wellness Center with Dr. Lily who worked her magic on my husband's back and we were then able to enjoy the rest of our time at Mourelatos and Lake Tahoe. Needless to say, the owners are very caring and I would not hesitate to return and stay at the hotel on our next trip to Lake Tahoe.

Room Tip: The 2nd floor rooms have kitchens and good lake views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

The rooms are a little more like a studio apartment than a hotel, which is nice. The rooms are spacious, there is a back door, a semi-private deck area out the front door with a bistro table and two chairs as well as a "park bench", a CD player, flat screen TV and DVD player. The little kitchen area has a microwave, fridge and toaster. There are also a lot of gas barbecues available for guests to use. With the toaster, microwave, refrigerator and barbecue we were able to eat all our meals at the resort. With the exception of the carpet, the rooms were clean. The DVD player didn't work and in another room the CD player was broken. The staff were wonderful and accomodating and very warm and friendly. You feel that they like what they are doing. There are two outdoor hot tubs as well. Things are a bit untidy on the grounds, but nothing you can't live with. We would stay again because of the nice owners/staff and the great location with wonderful lake and beach steps away from your room. There are also restaurants within walking distance of less than a mile as well as a Safeway one mile north.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms nearest the lake. The view is great and there they are farther from the road, so quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TahoeBlu, General Manager at Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for your review. We take all our guest's input very seriously and we wanted to communicate that we are making additional improvements to the property that should address some of the comments made. Specifically, we are upgrading many of the electronics in the rooms so as to provide more reliable service. We are also continuing our efforts to replace the balance of the carpets that have been impacted by the sand that surrounds the rooms. We also wanted to note that we have been repeated visited by a Mother bear and her two cubs during the month of September and October early every morning. They have regularly explored our garbage cans and then gone on to the lake for a bath. We have taken additional measures to minimize the impact they have had on the space we all share with them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed here in September which was really nice. The owners were very friendly from the time we called to make our reservation up to checkout time. It is a great location and has a very nice private beach. The Lake front rooms are the way to go, you can enjoy the lake right from your own deck. Took advanatage of the BBQ's and several other guests joined in for their dinners when they saw us enjoying the great weather and beautiful views of the lake while grilling. Other guests reviews complained about the beds but when I booked I mentioned we perfered a softer bed and our needs were cheerfully met.
The hotel could use a clean up and attention to detail. When we checked in our deck had not been cleaned, there was left over trash from the prior guest, cigatette butts littered the beach off the deck, the blinds inside needed reparing, along with ripped screen door, and one of the gas fire pits. The rugs were worn and stained and in need of replacing.
Overall the owners were very pleasant, the hotel met our needs, great location and private beach it just could use some sprucing up.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TahoeBlu, General Manager at Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
We appreciate your feedback. There are a number of rooms that will receive upgrades to window coverings and all screen doors have been repaired. We were unaware of an untidy room front. We do dress each room front before check-ins as part of our efforts to serve our guests. Your feedback is helpful and we have already applied measures to ensure consistency. Carpets in a quarter of the rooms where replaced with oak hardwood floors this last Spring and we will be replacing another 8 to 12 rooms with either new carpet or oak hardwood over the Fall and into the Spring of 2013. We have been visited multiple times by a Mother bear and her two cubs during the months of September and October in early every morning. They have regularly explored our garbage cans and left a mess for us to clean up. We have taken measures to minimize the impact of their visits to this space we all share with them. Thank you for you input.
Alex Mourelatos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort

Address: 6834 North Lake Blvd., Tahoe Vista, CA 96148
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe Vista
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tahoe Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family-owned Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort offers guests the perfect mix of comfort and inspiring views for those looking to book a memorable Tahoe lakefront get-away. Each suite faces the lake and includes a covered patio that overlooks the resort’s private sandy beach. Guests can also enjoy two outdoor spas, beautifully maintained grounds, gardens and a beach front patio ideal for barbequing, star gazing or taking in the spectacular Lake Tahoe views. Best of all, the resort’s lakefront setting provides access to a multitude of water and land-based human-powered recreation (think kayaking, snowshoeing, hiking and more). The owners’ commitment to warmly welcome guests with authentic Greek hospitality keeps customers coming back for more. Centrally located along Tahoe’s North shore, Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort is surrounded by year-round recreational opportunities galore and an abundance of great dining and shopping options. The Mourelatos family invites guests to relax, enjoy and cherish Lake Tahoe with them. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mourelatos Lakeshore Hotel Tahoe Vista

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.