We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view and beach for fair price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort to your Saves list
Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   6834 North Lake Blvd., Tahoe Vista, CA 96148   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Tahoe Vista
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great view and beach for fair price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

The rooms are a little more like a studio apartment than a hotel, which is nice. The rooms are spacious, there is a back door, a semi-private deck area out the front door with a bistro table and two chairs as well as a "park bench", a CD player, flat screen TV and DVD player. The little kitchen area has a microwave, fridge and toaster. There are also a lot of gas barbecues available for guests to use. With the toaster, microwave, refrigerator and barbecue we were able to eat all our meals at the resort. With the exception of the carpet, the rooms were clean. The DVD player didn't work and in another room the CD player was broken. The staff were wonderful and accomodating and very warm and friendly. You feel that they like what they are doing. There are two outdoor hot tubs as well. Things are a bit untidy on the grounds, but nothing you can't live with. We would stay again because of the nice owners/staff and the great location with wonderful lake and beach steps away from your room. There are also restaurants within walking distance of less than a mile as well as a Safeway one mile north.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms nearest the lake. The view is great and there they are farther from the road, so quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TahoeBlu, General Manager at Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for your review. We take all our guest's input very seriously and we wanted to communicate that we are making additional improvements to the property that should address some of the comments made. Specifically, we are upgrading many of the electronics in the rooms so as to provide more reliable service. We are also continuing our efforts to replace the balance of the carpets that have been impacted by the sand that surrounds the rooms. We also wanted to note that we have been repeated visited by a Mother bear and her two cubs during the month of September and October early every morning. They have regularly explored our garbage cans and then gone on to the lake for a bath. We have taken additional measures to minimize the impact they have had on the space we all share with them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    33
    8
    5
    6
See reviews for
47
44
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nevada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed here in September which was really nice. The owners were very friendly from the time we called to make our reservation up to checkout time. It is a great location and has a very nice private beach. The Lake front rooms are the way to go, you can enjoy the lake right from your own deck. Took advanatage of the BBQ's and several other guests joined in for their dinners when they saw us enjoying the great weather and beautiful views of the lake while grilling. Other guests reviews complained about the beds but when I booked I mentioned we perfered a softer bed and our needs were cheerfully met.
The hotel could use a clean up and attention to detail. When we checked in our deck had not been cleaned, there was left over trash from the prior guest, cigatette butts littered the beach off the deck, the blinds inside needed reparing, along with ripped screen door, and one of the gas fire pits. The rugs were worn and stained and in need of replacing.
Overall the owners were very pleasant, the hotel met our needs, great location and private beach it just could use some sprucing up.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TahoeBlu, General Manager at Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
We appreciate your feedback. There are a number of rooms that will receive upgrades to window coverings and all screen doors have been repaired. We were unaware of an untidy room front. We do dress each room front before check-ins as part of our efforts to serve our guests. Your feedback is helpful and we have already applied measures to ensure consistency. Carpets in a quarter of the rooms where replaced with oak hardwood floors this last Spring and we will be replacing another 8 to 12 rooms with either new carpet or oak hardwood over the Fall and into the Spring of 2013. We have been visited multiple times by a Mother bear and her two cubs during the months of September and October in early every morning. They have regularly explored our garbage cans and left a mess for us to clean up. We have taken measures to minimize the impact of their visits to this space we all share with them. Thank you for you input.
Alex Mourelatos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed at this resort in early September. We had a lakefront room. The view from the lakefront room is very pretty. The room was clean and the beach OK. I agree with others that the Mourelatos is a little tired. Regardless, it is a decent place on the lake and if you are willing to overlook the scattered equipment on the grounds and beach, then you will feel fine about your stay. The staff is friendly and helpful. The WiFi is very, very, very poor as is the cell phone reception. The convenience from I-80 though probably make this place worth the inconveniences. I don't think I would choose to stay here again though.

Room Tip: The lakefront rooms are expensive, but for privacy they are your best option. The other rooms are de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TahoeBlu, General Manager at Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
We are sorry you found your stay not worth the value. During the Summer, we cater heavily to young families and our beach does contain a lot of equipment, toys and beach furniture. Possibly the beach appearance may come across as un kept but our beach staff dress the beach every morning and evening. They also are there throughout the day caring for guests needs, renting SUPs, kayaks or jet skis, and answering visitor questions. We do acknowledge problems with our wireless internet on property during this period. We completing an upgraded to our repeaters located throughout the property which will provide a stable WiFi. As an aside, we are also adding a new High Definition Web Cam that will provide our guests the ability view the lake and our beach at any time and the user will be able to rotate the camera to appreciate the various views. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

A friend and I recently stayed at Mourelatos and were really pleased with the whole experience. The staff is friendly, helpful, knowledgeable. Our room was clean and comfortable. The location couldn't have been better for us ... it's on the northshore. I definitely plan to rebook here the next time I visit Lake Tahoe.

Room Tip: You can see your actual room ... the exact one you'll be booking ... at the website mlrtahoe.com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Where to start...probably have low expectations and you will be fine. This hotel is really one big missed opportunity. It is in a great location at Tahoe Vista and the waterfront location is a plus, but the beach is only fair. The beach area is scattered with aquatic equipment and the place externally looks like it needs a good clean up. As for the rooms, well, they are very very dated and in need of a makeover. The beds are horrible, the furnishings pretty lame. The floor in our room squeaked regularly so I felt sorry for the guests below us. The kitchenette was handy but also a necessity as there is no on site dining option. My biggest gripe is the balcony which basically is not private and anyone can walk past your room and have a look in unless your curtains are drawn, which defeats the purpose if you are relaxing in bed with an aim of enjoying the view. Room servicing was okay. No wake up calls available for those looking to get away early and the wi-fi was an absolute joke. It was $10 to use and was pretty much offline the whole time. I wouldn't recommend this resort but it is probably good for families on a budget. For younger couples, it's not so great. This place is a real could have been...

Room Tip: If you must stay here, choose the most expensive rooms overlooking the lake, they are larger and pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TahoeBlu, General Manager at Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Feedback is always appreciated and we are sorry you did not enjoy your stay. Our beach does contain a lot of sports equipment and furniture for the enjoyment of our guests. We encourage all to view the beach via our web cam and the photos on our web site to get a good idea of what we offer. Our decks are semi-private so if you are looking for an exclusive lake front location, there are better solutions. We have had difficulty in our WiFi network throughout the property this Fall and we are in the middle of an upgrade that will provide a high degree of dependability going forward. We are also replacing our current web cam with a High Definition web cam that pans 180 degrees and will provide anyone a preview of our beach and property. We believe our rooms are decorated in a unique and attractive style that may not appeal to all. We are not trying to be like any other resort but provide a unique visitor experience on the shores of Lake Tahoe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capitola
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Mourelatos has one of the beat beaches on the North Shore. There are views of the lake from every room and the staff is great. But, yes there is a but. The rooms are large but the decor is terrible. I know the owners are Greek, but get rid of the fake flowers, ugly bedspreads, lighting and decor. They need to bring someone wit taste to help them redo the rooms so you feel you are in Tahoe.

Room Tip: The rooms at the end are worth the extra price. You have your own deck overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We found Mourelatos by accident about 7 years ago and have gone back every single year and have introduced this wonderful place to about 7 family and friend families. No one has ever been disappointed nor thought we exaggerated in the least. Having a private beach just outside your doorstep is unbeatable! Let's be honest, packing up all the gear, kids, traffic, etc to go the beach for a few hours is a tremendous pain in the rear and frankly for me, not worth it. Mourelatos provides just about every amenity needed for the beach for free or a nominal rental fee. The convenience is fantastic! Every year, we come back to another upgrade or improvement, such as cushions for the chaise lounges, carpet replaced with wood floors, etc that makes the place better than the year before! Alex and his staff truly care about their guests and property. By the way, we have rented luxury vacation homes and stayed at other facilities in the area before we found Mourelatos, would never go anywhere else again in the area. You won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: They have lots of different types of rooms but the four lake front rooms with their private deck are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TahoeBlu, General Manager at Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for your complimentary review. Your comments reflect what we hear all Summer long from our guests and is what we strive to achieve with every guest that stays with us. The resort is set up to meet as many needs of the young families and get away couples and our staff works very hard to ensure those needs are met. We appreciate the positive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort

Address: 6834 North Lake Blvd., Tahoe Vista, CA 96148
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe Vista
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#4 Family Hotel in Tahoe Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ON THE BEACH AT LAKE TAHOE. Nestled on the magnificent pristine beach of Lake Tahoe's north shore, Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort offers a stunning lake-front lodging experience in Tahoe Vista, California, which is much more than just a place to stay. It's a treasured spot where the spectacular views of Lake Tahoe from the 32 well-appointed and spacious studio suites are just the beginning of what you will experience from its convenient and central location. For over 30 years, the family-owned Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort has been an escape for those who seek a natural, peaceful and unmatched setting to do it all, or do nothing at all, on the edge of Lake Tahoe. This intimate fully-remodeled all suite-motel sits on the edge of a 275 foot private beach and could not be more optimal and central for those who seek a location to enjoy all that Lake Tahoe has to offer. It's where you can truly take break from modern-day stress, a hideaway for families to reconnect, a romantic interlude for couples ... And an extraordinary getaway for active travelers from all over the world in one of the most beautiful settings on earth. Best of all, you will be hosted and spoiled throughout your stay with the owner's personal and authentic Greek hospitality that brings guests back year after year. ENDLESS ACTIVITIES ~ FOR ALL AGES. From your "home away from home", you can walk the beach with no destination in mind, sip morning coffee from your covered porch, watch your kids play on the sand, or let the day slip away while kayaking, boating, paddle boarding ... Or just soak up the scenery under the warm Sierra sun. Just across the street, the eighteen acres of private trails are accessible for hiking, biking, snowshoeing and cross-country skiing. And within a short scenic drive east or west, there are over a dozen internationally-acclaimed golf and ski resorts, gourmet restaurants, shops that showcase local artistry and arts and culture events year-round. YOUR PLACE TO ESCAPE. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mourelatos Lakeshore Hotel Tahoe Vista

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.