We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our yearly family vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort to your Saves list
Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   6834 North Lake Blvd., Tahoe Vista, CA 96148   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Tahoe Vista
Certificate of Excellence
Northern California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Our yearly family vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Just back from another wonderful family vacation at Mourelatos Lakeshore....what can I say? We LOVE this place. It is such a warm, family oriented place. This year we loved the manager's reception and movie night on the beach. We always love the amazing staff, the gorgeous location and will continue to return year after year!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    36
    8
    5
    6
See reviews for
53
45
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We just returned from our 4th summer vacation at Mourelatos. It sits on a beautiful stretch of private beach perfect for relaxing near the lake. Very family friendly with a ping pong table and two fire pits for roasting marshmallows and warming up in the evening. The owner even set up a movie for the kids on a white screen pulled between two trees while adults sampled wine and appetizers. Last year we lucked out and were able to participate in a Greek celebration with ouzo and dancing! The rooms definitely need a bit of updating like getting rid of all the fake flower arrangements and the kitchens are not always fully stocked. But a quick call to the office for another wine glass and they were right on it. Alex, the owner, is on site every time we have been there and his love for the property is obvious. Pay for the family experience, the view and shove the fake flowers in a corner!

Room Tip: Rooms on the 2nd floor are nicer with high ceilings. Stay as close to the lake as possible. The road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrero, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

What a beautiful place-private beach,ked friendly and a host of water activities right outside your door. Staff was very helpful with suggestion with things to do and see.

Room Tip: Lake view upper or lower
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Stayed at Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort for the second summer in a row as part of a family reunion. The highlight both years has been that the resort offers a gather place for family to congregate with large tables and access to lake from the beach. Many of the staff members outside of the office were friendly and worked hard to keep the property in order. There are a number of nice touches, including portable gas BBQs, an ice cream stand across the street, and tremendous views. The resort also offers a number of water craft rental options at the beach during the day. The resort's amenity list may be a little overstated and services such as WIFI come for an additional charge but on a sunny day many of these are lost in the beauty of the setting.

Awarding an "average" ranking starts with the front desk philosophy that is best described as, "here are your room keys, have a great stay, come see us at checkout to pay your bill." Deferred maintenance issues are evident (siding separating from the building, ice makers leaking water onto electrical cords, drapes in the room falling apart, etc). The room interiors have seen better days but there is talk of some renovation scheduled for the future. Little details were distracting, such as having three bath towels for four people, finding two drawer fulls of clothes left from a previous guest, and general disregard for the no-smoking policy in some rooms. Meeting other guests who have stayed at the property for years I heard stories of exceptional experiences, so much is possible, just too many areas where service has slipped to be on par with its past.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawndale, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

I stayed here with my family and usually we have a hard time because we are 4kids and 2 parent family. No problem here! Our room was ready for us and a bucket of water by the door, which was great since its right on the lake! The staff was super helpful and the rental of the water toys was super convenient!! We are definitely coming back! We didn't spend alot of time in the room, other than to sleep and shower but it was just what we needed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Our family (consisting of 17) books 4 rooms with kitchens at Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort every year. We can't say enough good things about the Mourelatos. They are a wonderful, friendly, helpful family who take pride in their resort. There is nothing bad to say about this place except that we only get to stay for 10 days every year. And we've met some wonderful, fun people there and see them yearly when we return. Given a choice one year between Disneyland and Mourelatos....our 9 grandchildren chose Mourelatos. Enough said.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, VA
Level Contributor
92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

I picked this hotel based on their advertisement of lake view room, private beach, “premium bedding, Egyptian cotton linens”, and “deep soaking bathtub”. My room was five rooms back from the beach, but the windows facing the courtyard are canted 30 degrees toward the beach justifying the “lake view” exaggeration in the advertisement. The private beach is beautiful, but it was too cold that day for us to enjoy it. The bedding is not premium and if they are 100% Egyptian cotton linens, they were very very well worn. The “deep soaking bathtub” was just a normal fiberglass insert. I was also taken aback by the check-in. No “Welcome!” or “Where are you from?” The clerk was preoccupied with something else and only wanted to see my credit card and driver’s license which she very carefully studied for minutes making me feel like a crook waiting for her verdict. I’m sure they’ve had problems with bad credit cards, but I had paid for the room in advance with a credit card, so they had my number on file if there was an issue. Another minor item was the absence of a remote control for the TV, which to me is an indicator of poor quality control of the cleaning team. On the good side, the bathroom was recently re-done and was very clean and nice. Oh, by the way,I went to check out early on Monday morning and but sign on the office door said they don’t open until 0900, so, if you want to talk to someone early in the morning, you’ll have to wait for them to get up or call an emergency number.

Room Tip: "Lake view" can mean almost anything in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort

Address: 6834 North Lake Blvd., Tahoe Vista, CA 96148
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe Vista
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#3 Family Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tahoe Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ON THE BEACH AT LAKE TAHOE. Nestled on the magnificent pristine beach of Lake Tahoe's north shore, Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort offers a stunning lake-front lodging experience in Tahoe Vista, California, which is much more than just a place to stay. It's a treasured spot where the spectacular views of Lake Tahoe from the 32 well-appointed and spacious studio suites are just the beginning of what you will experience from its convenient and central location. For over 30 years, the family-owned Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort has been an escape for those who seek a natural, peaceful and unmatched setting to do it all, or do nothing at all, on the edge of Lake Tahoe. This intimate fully-remodeled all suite-motel sits on the edge of a 275 foot private beach and could not be more optimal and central for those who seek a location to enjoy all that Lake Tahoe has to offer. It's where you can truly take break from modern-day stress, a hideaway for families to reconnect, a romantic interlude for couples ... And an extraordinary getaway for active travelers from all over the world in one of the most beautiful settings on earth. Best of all, you will be hosted and spoiled throughout your stay with the owner's personal and authentic Greek hospitality that brings guests back year after year. ENDLESS ACTIVITIES ~ FOR ALL AGES. From your "home away from home", you can walk the beach with no destination in mind, sip morning coffee from your covered porch, watch your kids play on the sand, or let the day slip away while kayaking, boating, paddle boarding ... Or just soak up the scenery under the warm Sierra sun. Just across the street, the eighteen acres of private trails are accessible for hiking, biking, snowshoeing and cross-country skiing. And within a short scenic drive east or west, there are over a dozen internationally-acclaimed golf and ski resorts, gourmet restaurants, shops that showcase local artistry and arts and culture events year-round. YOUR PLACE TO ESCAPE. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mourelatos Lakeshore Hotel Tahoe Vista

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.