We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent base for Lake Tahoe Visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cedar Glen Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cedar Glen Lodge to your Saves list
Cedar Glen Lodge
6589 North Lake Boulevard, PO Box 188, Tahoe Vista, CA 96148-0188   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free S'mores!
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Tahoe Vista
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Excellent base for Lake Tahoe Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Cedar Glen Lodge is a terrific place to stay if visiting Lake Tahoe. My wife and I chilled out here for 3 nights and loved the facility. Alan and Martha go out of their way to ensure you have a great stay. Alan is full of knowledge on the local area and provides lots of recommendations for trips/visit to suit your needs.
We stayed in Lodge #9, one that had not been renovated, but we knew that before booking confirmation. Its big enough for a couple but also has a pull out double sofa if required, and a small Dog kennel hut. Nice touch for dog owners. It has a Microwave and fridge and a small bathroom with shower. Show head is low (I am 6ft 1") and I have 2 bruises to prove, it but its ok and plenty of hot water. The internet is free but not the fastest and having to re-login regular is a pain. But if your on holiday, who needs internet!!!
The outdoor grounds make this place special. There is a Mini putting golf green, a Warm Pool, Hot Tub (very nice after a mountain walk) and large picnic area. In the evening the wood fire is lit outside and everyone gathers for s'mores which are complementary. Great place for meeting people and swapping stories over a glass of wine.
Breakfast which is included is good and relaxed between roughly 8-10am.
I had a personal issue and Alan and Martha went out of their way to help me out. I couldn't have asked for any more. Great team.
Highly recommend Cedar Glen Lodge for a visit.

Room Tip: Make a booking at their restaurant The Rustic Lounge for an evening meal. Simply outstanding food.
See more room tips
Green Features: CDG is well aware of it surroundings and make efforts to ensure it blend in with the outdoor lifestyle. usual stuff with Towel not change if hung up and Rubbish locked away in Steel Bin to keep bears away. Recyclable but disposable paper plate and cup at Breakfast save on washing water
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    488
    117
    15
    4
    1
See reviews for
220
256
16
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for one night and were very happy with our stay. The rooms were extremely clean and neat. We stayed in a one room cottage with a gas fireplace. It had a cute little table at the window over looking the property. Wine glasses were placed. Very cute. There are many seating areas, picnic tables and a BBQ pit right in the middle. We would definitely stay here again. The price was a good value too. We did not use the pool but did use the spa and sauna room. Both were nice but the spa a little small. I wouldn't have been comfortable in it with more people. The Rustic lounge was pricy but very, very good. The meat was cooked just right. They out out muffins, juice, yogurt, coffee and pastries in the morning. There is a Safeway nearby and the beach Access is across the street. Overall excellent!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocklin, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

My husband and I spent three nights at Cedar Glen Lodge and enjoyed every minute of it. We were greeted and checked in by a very friendly and accommodating owner, Marha. She told us all about the lodge, their wonderful restaurant and amenities. We stayed in the lodge (not a cabin) and absolutely enjoyed the view of the snow capped mountains and the crystal blue lake. The room was spacious and well laid out and decorated beautifully. We used the pool and spa, played ping pong, badminton and putted on the putting green. The lodge has a great setting and layout, is immaculate and very well taken care off! The beach is just a short walk across the street and beach chairs and ice chests are also available.
We also enjoyed the continental breakfast especially the fresh fruit. We plan on making this our annual trip, it's a gem of place in Tahoe Vista.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

My husband & I just spent 6 glorious days at the Cedar Glen Lodge! Wonderful restaurants nearby. The rooms and the grounds were pristine! The details in furnishing the rooms were wonderful. Really nice continental breakfasts with views of the lake across the street. Great view of the lake and property from our upstairs lodge room too. Nice porch area outside the lodge rooms. The pool/hot tub/sauna area was enclosed with plexiglass for protection but leaving the views. Nightly community fire in fire pit. Close to Tahoe City & Truckee/Donner. Staff was unbelievably friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay here again and will refer it to friends!

Room Tip: Our upstairs Lodge room had a marvelous view of the property and the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

As first time visitors to Lake Tahoe, we did not know what to expect. We were pleasantly surprised by the area in general, but particularly impressed with this hotel.
All the staff were helpful to the extreme - nothing was too much trouble.
The breakfasts were very nice, lots of fruit and muffins.
As described in detail by other reviewers, the cabins were clean, roomy and well equipped with extra comfy beds and multitudes of pillows. My son was particularly thrilled with the evenings around the fire, toasting marshmallows and making s'mores with the other guests.
We will definitely be recommending this place to other travellers.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

My father and I had a father/daughter trip to Tahoe recently, and we stayed in the lake view units of CGL. I'd read all the wonderful reviews leading up to our trip, and I was anxious to see whether or not the accommodations would live up to the raves. Well, they did!

There are many things to love about CGL:

The lodge is located in Tahoe Vista. This is DEFINITELY the quieter, more peaceful side of Lake Tahoe, and we were SO happy to be there and not in the Disneyland/Casino madness of the south side. Tahoe Vista has just enough to do, eat, and see--and CGL is just outside the main strip.

The amenities really seal the deal, and they are unmatched. There's a sauna, a hot tub, a nice and heated pool, a quiet beach across the street, picnic tables, a small putting green, and a fire pit every night with free fixings for s'mores! There's also continental breakfast every morning!

The rooms are updated and well equipped. The bed was comfortable, and the jacuzzi tub was awesome! We also liked having a fully loaded kitchen.

The staff is BEYOND kind and helpful. We felt that we had privacy, but there was always someone to lend a kind hand when we had a question or needed something.

That said, there are a couple of very small things I'd suggest:

I wish there were two fire pits. There are 8-10 chairs around the fire pit, and on the nights it was busy, we couldn't find a seat. It's such a fun--and really the only--evening activity. It'd be wonderful if there were two pits and more seating.

I was a little confused about cleaning. For the price, I do expect maid service daily. While our sheets and towels were changed daily, I don't think any other cleaning was done. Being outdoors a lot, we brought in a lot of sand and dirt on our shoes, and the floor in our unit got dirty pretty quickly. It would have been nice to have had the floor cleaned when the maids came.

Nonetheless, we had a wonderful stay, and we would stay there again without hesitation!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Although the property looks somewhat unassuming from the road - It consists of a lodge at the head with two rows of cabins running up a hill - it is a pleasant surprise on the inside. The place must have been remodeled recently, because it is quite nice on the inside, and I can tell that some care/taste was put into the remodel. All the countertops (in the bathrooms as well as the kitchen) are granite; the cabinets are really nice, as is the decor; and, overall, the cabin feels very cozy, with a gas fireplace, flat screen televisions in all rooms, a nice kitchen, with a fridge, stove, oven, microwave, dishwasher, that is stocked with dishes and utensils. I can only speak for cabin 14, which is the one we rented, but I believe all of the cabins have been remodeled. The cabin was very clean.

As for the location, it located literally 2-3 minutes by car from a large Safeway, so you can easily stock up the fridge with food/drinks. It is also very close to all the restaurants in town (Tahoe Vista is not exactly a large metropolis). You are about a 30 minute drive down along the west coast of the lake to Eagle Falls and the trailhead for Eagle Lake (which I highly recommend) and the trailhead down to Emerald Bay. It is about a 45 minute drive to Virginia City, a cute historic old western town, heading in the northeast direction. You are across the road from a private beach (3-5 minute walk). I personally prefer Tahoe Vista to South Lake Tahoe. It is a sleepy little town, as opposed to South Lake Tahoe which is more hustle bustle.

The people at the front desk are very nice and extremely knowledgeable about the area and very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cedar Glen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Glen Lodge

Address: 6589 North Lake Boulevard, PO Box 188, Tahoe Vista, CA 96148-0188
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe Vista
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#1 Green Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#1 Family Hotel in Tahoe Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tahoe Cedar Glen Lodge is a newly renovated, Award Winning resort with a stylish rustic Tahoe-charm. It offers an onsite award winning restaurant, The Rustic Lounge and a wine bar, in addition to cozy cottages with fireplaces and kitchens, comfortable rooms or suites and breath-taking lake views! The resort features lake access, outdoor seasonal heated swimming pool, hot-tub, sauna, fire-pit, picnic areas, barbecues, nightly campfire, volley ball, ping pong, putting green and one acre of untouched natural land. Enjoy easy access to all Lake Tahoe activities: Boating, fishing, hiking, biking, river rafting, golf, casinos, shopping and during the winter months skiing, snowboarding at world class resorts, cross country skiing, snowmobiling, ice skating and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Cedar Glen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Glen Hotel Tahoe Vista
Knights Inn Tahoe Vista

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cedar Glen Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.