We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Northshore Tahoe Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cedar Glen Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cedar Glen Lodge to your Saves list
Cedar Glen Lodge
6589 North Lake Boulevard, PO Box 188, Tahoe Vista, CA 96148-0188   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free S'mores!
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Tahoe Vista
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Fairfield, California
1 review
“Northshore Tahoe Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This resort is a hidden gem.While the property is definitely reminiscent of old Tahoe spots,the rooms are beautifully maintained and the dinners in Rustic Lounge are as good as reviews-both a local and visitor favorite.The owners are on site and very concerned that all share a positive experience.A fire is lit every evening outdoors,with "some-mores" offered among several extras.We would return again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha B, Owner at Cedar Glen Lodge, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for your nice review! We love to hear that we have kept the same “Old Lake Tahoe” ambience, with all the new renovations. It is great to hear that you had a chance to enjoy our restaurant and s’mores! When you find yourself in Lake Tahoe again, please consider another stay with us.

-Christiana, Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    488
    117
    15
    4
    1
See reviews for
220
256
16
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Outstanding service, warm and cozy 2 night stay in rustic and charming cabin, with lots of things for the kids to do. We were lucky to have a perfect weather to enjoy the sauna, hot tub, swimming pool, putting green, volley ball court and ping pong last weekend. We went swimming in the blue lake, right across the lodge, thanks to the weather and location. Once our children never got bored... we could relax! Martha and her staff, like Cristiana, are very happy to help and we felt that we finally found our favorite spot to stay at the Lake.

Room Tip: Probably the cabins are the best choice if you are going with kids, as it make the whole experience...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha B, Owner at Cedar Glen Lodge, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for your great review! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and had the perfect weather to enjoy all our property has to offer. You and your family were such a joy to have stay with us. We cannot wait till your return; after all, we are practically neighbors!

-Christiana, Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful setting, excellent hosts, comfortable rooms. Great for family or senior visits. Nice aminities outside. Would return again in the spring. Easy to reach and near many restaurants. Onsite food is very good both morning and evening.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha B, Owner at Cedar Glen Lodge, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for your review! It is always nice to hear what our guest’s experiences are. Please come visit us again! Spring is a lovely time of year to experience North Lake Tahoe.

-Christiana, Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

My father and I really lucked out finding this place after some internet research. The accommodations were comfortable and clean - even down to the soft sheets! The owners are very friendly and helped us find good activities for day trips. If I ever go back to the area I will stay there again, certainly. Also, the Rustic Lounge has unbelievably good food - we really lucked out having such a great restaurant on-site.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha B, Owner at Cedar Glen Lodge, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for your great review and kind words! We would love to have you come visit us the next time you find yourself in North Lake Tahoe. We have plenty more great places to tell you about!

-Christiana, Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I really enjoyed staying at cedar glen lodge but many problems that bothered me. I did not like the service and how housekeepers responded to our requests. The bathroom has a weird smell as well as the hot-tub. Front desk attendants have real bad attitudes. Otherwise I like the area and the food from the rustic lounge

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha B, Owner at Cedar Glen Lodge, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
We are incredibly sorry about this review and experience with us. It is our goal to serve each and everyone of our guests' and exceed their expectations. Of the 486 TripAdvisor reviews, we do not have a single complaint about cleanliness and "bad attitudes," to the contrary, on our overall score, we have 5 stars on cleanliness and service. Since there are no other reviews by this guest or other information on the profile, we cannot tell who this person is, or even if she/he stayed with us. But we do know that this review is inconsistent with anybody that stayed with us, as we have never heard such complains. We invite each and every guest to give us the opportunity to serve them and to let us know of any problems at the time of their stay. The front desk is personally managed by both owners, Alan and Martha, and we take a great deal of joy and pride taking care of our guests!

-Martha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We loved staying at Cedar Glen Lodge. Comfortable and pleasant accommodations. Near the lake. The hosts are friendly and knowledgeable of the area. We stayed for two nights and wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha B, Owner at Cedar Glen Lodge, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We are very happy that you loved the area and Cedar Glen Lodge! Hopefully next time you can stay longer. There are so many beautiful things to see and to do here all year-round.

Thanks again and hope to see you back soon!

Martha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckeye, Arizona, Usa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Wife and I stayed two nights. Nice accommodations, with a rustic feel, as you would expect for North Tahoe. Loved the view of lake, forest, and property from the upper deck in front of the studio. Hillside property is beautiful! Fire at night. New kitchen area and bathroom. Nice to have frig, stove top and dishes. Wife loved that it had a large fan in the room. Mattress was fair. No phone in room. I would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha B, Owner at Cedar Glen Lodge, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for your review! I hope you enjoyed your stay here with us. We have just finished renovations in the lodge area, so it nice to hear our guests find their accommodations beautiful. Yes, there is no phones in the rooms, although, typically only big corporate hotels have in room phones up here in Lake Tahoe. I see you only gave us 3 stars on service, which is quite unusual for us. If there was anything you found us lacking, we would love to hear from you so we may learn how better to serve our guests!

-Martha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cedar Glen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Glen Lodge

Address: 6589 North Lake Boulevard, PO Box 188, Tahoe Vista, CA 96148-0188
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe Vista
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#1 Green Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tahoe Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tahoe Cedar Glen Lodge is a newly renovated, Award Winning resort with a stylish rustic Tahoe-charm. It offers an onsite award winning restaurant, The Rustic Lounge and a wine bar, in addition to cozy cottages with fireplaces and kitchens, comfortable rooms or suites and breath-taking lake views! The resort features lake access, outdoor seasonal heated swimming pool, hot-tub, sauna, fire-pit, picnic areas, barbecues, nightly campfire, volley ball, ping pong, putting green and one acre of untouched natural land. Enjoy easy access to all Lake Tahoe activities: Boating, fishing, hiking, biking, river rafting, golf, casinos, shopping and during the winter months skiing, snowboarding at world class resorts, cross country skiing, snowmobiling, ice skating and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Cedar Glen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Glen Hotel Tahoe Vista
Knights Inn Tahoe Vista

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cedar Glen Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.