We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard working owners strive to make your stay remarkable.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cedar Glen Lodge

Save Saved
You added Cedar Glen Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cedar Glen Lodge
6589 North Lake Boulevard, PO Box 188, Tahoe Vista, CA 96148-0188   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free S'mores!
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Tahoe Vista
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hard working owners strive to make your stay remarkable.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

The owners have renovated the two story building, but we stayed in the unrenovated cabins, which were a bit dated. We were also on the north side which lets in a lot of sun. The weather was in the 90's during our 3night / 4 day stay so our cabin was ALWAYS stuffy. I spoke to one of the owners, Martha, about this and she said they plan on renovating the rest of the cabins soon and they are considering adding air conditioning for the west cabins, hat would definately be a plus!

The continental breakfast is decent and typical so if you want a cooked breakfast there are a few restaurants nearby. They do have a restaurant on site ( The Rustic Lounge) which serves high end delicious meals, but they only open for dinner and also are closed on Monday's and Tuesday's, so very limited hours for such a nice restaurant which is a bummer.

The owners are great and you can tell from day one that they take pride and have put they heart into this property. They are more than half way done with renovating the entire property, which we are looking forward to seeing once completed. They strive to provide excellent service and have a great vision for the potential this property has.

Location is great, right betwen Tahoe City and Incline Village, so family friendly galore! We hit the beach everyday of our visit. As a guest of CGL you have access to free beach towels, coolers, ice, and beach chairs to borrow for the day.

The property is well layed out with a heated pool i the center that includes a jacuzzi and a dry sauna. There is a small mini golf putting area, volleyball and ping pong. Also the bonus nightly S'mores!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha B, Owner at Cedar Glen Lodge, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your wonderful review! Indeed, we have done a great deal of renovations in this property. We are more than pleased with the results and the feedback we get from our guests is fantastic. Even though the unit were you stayed had a lot of work done, we are still planing on a massive renovation this coming off season. Our temperature always drops during the evening and AC is not needed at night. Our main concern is to keep our guests comfortable during their stay. Most likely we will have AC in those units, even if it's only needed a few days of the year. Thanks again and hope to see you back soon!

Martha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    442
    104
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
199
230
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, TN
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed at Cedar Glen Lodge from June 24 – June 28. What a wonderful experience. Martha and Alan were excellent hosts. Great location. Beach is directly across the street. My husband and I stayed in #27 at the top of the hill and had a wonderful lake view. Lodge is exactly as it appears in the photos. Upon arrival, Martha and Alan will get out a map of the entire lake and go over it with you and suggest activities. Very helpful! They also have beach chairs and coolers next to the ice machine for each guest to use as they need each day, and then return at the end of the day. This was very nice as we flew in from Tennessee and did not want to have to buy these things and leave them. We drove around the entire lake and in my opinion, Tahoe Vista, specifically Cedar Glen Lodge, is the best, most scenic spot of the lake. If you are contemplating California versus Nevada side, North Lake Tahoe in Tahoe Vista is the way to go! As for activities, driving around the lake was fun, stopping to take photos along the way. The most fun I had was rafting down the Truckee River. If you would like to paddleboard, Sand Harbor State Park on the Nevada side is the way to go. We had so much fun, and hope to return to Cedar Glen Lodge in Tahoe Vista next summer!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha B, Owner at Cedar Glen Lodge, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your amazing review! We are so glad you had such a fantastic vacation. Seem that you were very active and took advantage of many of the wonderful things the north shore has to offer during the summer. Thanks again and hope to see you back soon!

Martha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We recently stayed at Cedar Glen Lodge during our son's wedding along with many other guests. The whole staff went above and beyond with great customer service and a friendly attitude. It was the perfect place to stay with a group or just the family. The cabins are very comfortable and super clean. The picnic area, bonfires, pool and other amenities are very relaxing or you can choose any of the nearby attractions due to it's great location. We also had a fantastic dinner in their restaurant. Can't think of a better place to stay in Lake Tahoe. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: We stayed in the 2BR cottage and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha B, Owner at Cedar Glen Lodge, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you so much for you wonderful review! It was such an honor to have you all here for your son's beautiful wedding. Congratulations to all of you and can't wait to see you back!

Martha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

The Cedar Glen Lodge was great, we had a very comfortable room, the two bedroom with two kings for my husband and I and another couple. The lodge is in a convenient location and a quick walk to the beach.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha B, Owner at Cedar Glen Lodge, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your fantastic review! I am glad you enjoyed the 2 bedrooms unit with 2 eastern king size beds (#22). We recently finished the renovations in that room and the feedback is fantastic! Have a great rest of the summer and hope to see you back soon!

Martha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We here two nights and were able to take day trips to Truckee and the Nevada side of Lake Tahoe. The accommodations were very nice and very clean. Great service by the owner. While nothing great, the continental breakfast was just okay. But then, it was a continental breakfast. My only regret was that we were there on a Monday and Tuesday, and the restaurant was closed. Would highly recommended.

Room Tip: I would get a room on the second floor if you have walking issues. There second floor has a lot of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha B, Owner at Cedar Glen Lodge, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! I am very happy that you enjoyed our resort as well as our beautiful area. Unfortunately, our restaurant is closed Mondays and Tuesdays. Enjoy the rest of your summer and hope to see you back soon!

Martha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Cedar Glen Lodge. Rooms were excellent,
clean and directly across from the lake. We had the most incredible meal at the lodge. Service was excellent! Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha B, Owner at Cedar Glen Lodge, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are very happy that you enjoyed the rooms and the restaurant. Please enjoy the rest of your summer and hope to see you back soon!

Martha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Many thanks to Martha, Allen and staff at Cedar Glen for contributing to the huge success of our family reunion. The location is the best. The accommodations and grounds are perfect. There is something to do for all ages. The service could not be improved upon. The comfort and needs of the guests are so obviously the top priority of Cedar Glen. This is something our family will be talking about forever. For so many years, I have been hoping to find the kind of resort my family used to stay at "back in the day" - one that is family oriented and happy to be of assistance. We are so very grateful that we have finally found just the place!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha B, Owner at Cedar Glen Lodge, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are very happy that your family reunion was a big success and look forward to having you for years to come.

Thanks again and enjoy the rest of your summer!

Martha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cedar Glen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Glen Lodge

Address: 6589 North Lake Boulevard, PO Box 188, Tahoe Vista, CA 96148-0188
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe Vista
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#1 Family Hotel in Tahoe Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tahoe Cedar Glen Lodge is a newly renovated, Award Winning resort with a stylish rustic Tahoe-charm. It offers an onsite award winning restaurant, The Rustic Lounge and a wine bar, in addition to cozy cottages with fireplaces and kitchens, comfortable rooms or suites and breath-taking lake views! The resort features lake access, outdoor seasonal heated swimming pool, hot-tub, sauna, fire-pit, picnic areas, barbecues, nightly campfire, volley ball, ping pong, putting green and one acre of untouched natural land. Enjoy easy access to all Lake Tahoe activities: Boating, fishing, hiking, biking, river rafting, golf, casinos, shopping and during the winter months skiing, snowboarding at world class resorts, cross country skiing, snowmobiling, ice skating and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Cedar Glen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Glen Hotel Tahoe Vista
Knights Inn Tahoe Vista

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cedar Glen Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.