We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful lodge in Tahoe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cedar Glen Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Cedar Glen Lodge to your Saves list
Cedar Glen Lodge
6589 North Lake Boulevard, PO Box 188, Tahoe Vista, CA 96148-0188   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free S'mores!
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Tahoe Vista
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Redwood City, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful lodge in Tahoe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

This is a wonderful lodge and makes a perfect place to stay in Tahoe. The owners, Alan and Marta, really care about their guests and go out of their way to be sure you have a terrific time. They set up a fire each night and have the makings for S'mores for any guests that want to cook up some. The rooms are very clean and comfortable and the lodge is in an excellent location with easy beach access. The layout of the cabins and rooms with a central area having a pool, putting green, picnic tables and fire pit is perfect for a group of people staying together. If you go to another restaurant to eat, be sure to ask for recommendations because they have nice discounts at some of the good restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha B, Owner at Cedar Glen Lodge, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review! Happy guests like you make our daily hard work so worthwhile and enjoyable!

Thanks again and we look forward to your next visit.

-Martha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    114
    15
    4
    1
See reviews for
218
252
16
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Should have listened to my gut when I was given 2 different prices for a reservation. I was told there was some computer issues and ended up paying the higher price. We were looking forward to not having to drive to get dinner and was not told that there was a private party on the night we arrived and that we would not have access to any food. Very disappointing for a family with young children.In addition, the room had recently been painted which was very bad for our child with asthma.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha B, Owner at Cedar Glen Lodge, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Staying at the hotel doesn't automatically grant a table at our restaurant. This is why the reservation template has a link to the menu and strongly advises future hotel guest to make their dinner reservations. However, we have a couple of restaurants within walking distance.

We have not painted any rooms in at least 2 weeks. In addition, the paints we use are not oil base and have very little odor. It is a shame this guest didn't communicate to us any issues. We would have made an effort to change rooms and/or ventilate the room. It's very clear this reviewer is trying to justify a 2 star review and also the fact that this TA account was created with the sole purpose of hurting a business.

-Martha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed here with our young family, a 3 year old and 8 month old baby. We had a stunning view of the lake and the room was beautiful! They are pet friendly so we were able to bring our dog too. The staff is incredibly nice and accommodating. They do smores every night which I though was a sweet touch, especially for the kids. The location is great. Our room had a little kitchen so we could make some meals "at home." The staff knows the area well so they were able to recommend places to eat and activities to do. Our family did some kid friendly hikes that were perfect!

Room Tip: If you have a pet ask for room 23. Its part of the lodge rather than a stand alone cabin but you get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha B, Owner at Cedar Glen Lodge, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are very glad that you and the kids had a great time.

Thanks again and will see you next time!
-Martha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, California
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This may be one of the best overall finds we had on our trip to the north shore side of lake tahoe. The price was right, the rooms were right, everything was right - I sound like Goldilocks and the 3 Bears. I can't think of anything that wasn't right. I think they're dog friendly too.

My only gripe is that it is on the 'land side' of the main road rather than being on the beach. But it was far more affordable than staying in the ski villages in the region.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha B, Manager at Cedar Glen Lodge, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are always happy when we exceed our guests' expectations! I have to completely agree with you about not being on the side of the lake. And you are absolutely right, should that be the case, the rates would be much higher. We try to compensate with many amenities such as our large heated pool, hot tub, sauna, putting green (brand new!), ping pong, volleyball, and our famous fire-pit and s'mores. Fortunately, we own access to the lake, and all our guests have to do is cross the street!

Thanks again and hope to see you back soon.

Martha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful spot on north lake tahoe. The staff and owner Alan were fabulous, accomodation stunning. Complimentary breakfast too, and definetly eat there for dinner, food is fine dining! Best place to stay on lake tahoe.
We will be back!
Thanks, c&s

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha B, Owner at Cedar Glen Lodge, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your fantastic review! We are so glad you had the opportunity to try our restaurant, The Rustic Lounge and that you were very pleased the the food too.

Thanks again and hope to see you back soon!

-Martha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We were in cabin 23 and it was beautiful! Spacious, clean, with awesome views. The staff was helpful, kind, and friendly. We were able to have our dog along on our family vacation and there were great places within walking distance for exercise and bathroom breaks (and bags provided), which made the visit that much more impressive. On our next trip to the Tahoe area we would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Room 23 has beautiful views, is quiet, and there's a small deck to sit out in front to watch sun...
See more room tips
Green Features: Owners were well-minded on eco-friendly services and it was much appreciated (we set aside all of our recyclables next to the trash and it was taken out everyday).
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha B, Owner at Cedar Glen Lodge, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are very happy that you enjoyed our property as well as the freedom to bring your dog. We have 5 dedicated pet-friendly rooms available.

Hope to see you all back soon!

-Martha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartland, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed here in May, 2013 for 3 nights as part of a wedding party. There are many different room types to choose, we opted for the 1-bedroom stand-alone cabin. The best part of the cabin for the gas fireplace in the living room that was very easy to control and keep the desired temperature in the cabin. We also liked the open-pit fireplace that you could stand around and talk to your friends and family at night. Our only disappointment was that we did not have time to eat in the restaurant. We had heard that the food was really good. Overall, great location, ambiance, and service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha B, Owner at Cedar Glen Lodge, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! It was so nice to have you all here, such a "fun bunch." I hope next time you visit us, you will have the chance to visit our restaurant as well.

Thanks again and hope to see you back soon!

-Martha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cedar Glen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Glen Lodge

Address: 6589 North Lake Boulevard, PO Box 188, Tahoe Vista, CA 96148-0188
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe Vista
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#1 Family Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#1 Green Hotel in Tahoe Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tahoe Cedar Glen Lodge is a newly renovated, Award Winning resort with a stylish rustic Tahoe-charm. It offers an onsite award winning restaurant, The Rustic Lounge and a wine bar, in addition to cozy cottages with fireplaces and kitchens, comfortable rooms or suites and breath-taking lake views! The resort features lake access, outdoor seasonal heated swimming pool, hot-tub, sauna, fire-pit, picnic areas, barbecues, nightly campfire, volley ball, ping pong, putting green and one acre of untouched natural land. Enjoy easy access to all Lake Tahoe activities: Boating, fishing, hiking, biking, river rafting, golf, casinos, shopping and during the winter months skiing, snowboarding at world class resorts, cross country skiing, snowmobiling, ice skating and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Cedar Glen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Glen Hotel Tahoe Vista
Knights Inn Tahoe Vista

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cedar Glen Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.