We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A safe bet North Lake Tahoe” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cedar Glen Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cedar Glen Lodge to your Saves list
Cedar Glen Lodge
6589 North Lake Boulevard, PO Box 188, Tahoe Vista, CA 96148-0188   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Tesla Charging!
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Tahoe Vista
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A safe bet North Lake Tahoe”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Cedar Glen Lodge and would recommend it as a good place to stay in Tahoe Vista.
We stayed in one of the rooms up the back which was comfortable, well equipped and clean and had a view of the lake. However, from what we could see, the room daily room service was basically non-existent. Fresh towels were distributed and the rubbish bin emptied but that was about it. The bed was left unmade and the sheets unchanged. We stayed for 6 nights and eventually had to leave a note for the cleaners to request clean sheets (which they then did with no problems).
The spa is small but lovely and warm and great after a day up the mountain. The fire pit didn't happen while we were there, and was covered in snow for the most part although if requested, I’m sure they would get it going for you.
Breakfast was adequate but very limited on healthy options and served with paper plates and plastic cutlery. A small thing but it definitely detracted from the classiness of the place and is incredibly bad for the environment. I would love to have seen some evidence of recycling and other environmental initiatives at the lodge.
We had dinner at the restaurant one night and were really impressed. Great food, service and atmosphere. Definitely one of the better places in town.
A note about the area - it was our first time to Lake Tahoe and we really enjoyed the North for Squaw and Northstar. The village has all the basics but we found that there was little to keep you entertained in the evenings around Tahoe Vista and Tahoe City.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha B, Owner at Cedar Glen Lodge, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review and for your kind words! We deeply appreciate your concerns for the environment. However, your expectations seem be in complete opposition to such concerns:

1-You came in on December 28th, as per the standard hotel policy, your sheets were changed on December 31st. A day later, you request another change of sheets, which as you mentioned, we did. If you had concerns about the sheets during your stay, I would have been great to let us know. I am not sure if you are aware of the incredibly harmful effects on the environment caused by laundry! These, being common knowledge, nowadays hotels request their guests to re-use their towels and limit changing sheets to every 3 days, unless the guests request otherwise, of course.

2-You came in when we had over 3 feet of snow. Since our fire-pit is outside, lighting it wasn't an option. Immediately after the storm, Placer County issued a "Red Burn Code," due to "elevated levels of fine particulate pollution and the persistent temperature inversion." This was bad enough that people with only wood-burning stoves as a means of staying warm, were asked not to burn wood and to go to the Red Cross to pick up electric heaters. During those nights, most people would come to our wine bar and stay cozy by our beautiful stone fireplace.

3-The first thing I should mention is that the continental breakfast is free. However, we spend a lot of money and great effort providing it! I do not know what you mean by lack of "healthy choices," as we have yogurt, fruit, 3 cereals which includes granola with almonds and raisin bran, in addition to bagels and English muffins. We do however, have some incredibly sugary pastries, which some people love because those are freshly baked by our local supermarket. Paper plates are not "incredibly bad for the environment," as they are 100% recycled. If we were to provide dinnerware, glassware and silverware, the amount of water, detergent, sanitizers and electricity to run our commercial dishwasher would be far more harmful to the environment. We accommodate about 110 people. Cleaning dishes after 110 people every day would be "incredibly harmful," and simply not economically feasible for a free continental breakfast. Most people appreciate that we provide them with some choices to start out their day at no extra cost. There are other people who prefer a protein based breakfast and don’t mind the expense. We have three amazing breakfast places within 2 miles and we are always happy to refer them there.

4- I don't know what "evidence" you would "love" to see of recycling and "other environmental initiatives." To my knowledge, we are the only hotel in this area that recycles all the paper and plastic goods. We gather all of these and take them to an off-site location where it's picked up for recycling. Perhaps you were concerned because you didn't see any "blue" trash cans? We are in an area that it's heavily populated by bears. The only time you would see any trash cans around our property, would be during the summer months. We provide a couple of them by the BBQs, which we remove at night and keep in a "bear proof," steal box. We need to keep our bears safe and trash cans are deadly tramps, sadly, in more than one way! If bears have food available, they will not hibernate and will most likely end up killed by the end of the season. At Cedar Glen Lodge, you will not see trash cans, or bears either, except maybe “once in a blue moon!”

It is too bad we didn't have the opportunity to discuss your concerns. I am sure you would have been thrilled to know that Cedar Glen Lodge is the winner of the "Best in the Basin, 2012 Award." This is a very prestigious prize granted by the TRPA (Tahoe Regional Planning Agency) to new construction projects that should be held up as examples that demonstrate exceptional planning, design, and compatibility with the Lake Tahoe and Human environment. Our property was chosen as the winner from numerous projects in the states of Nevada, California, North and South Shore of Lake Tahoe.
On another note, be aware that people who come to the north shore are quite nature loving and family oriented. On this side of the lake we do not have the night life that the south shore offers, but that is why people choose this side of the lake. However, within a few minutes, we have 5 casinos. One of them is very notable for the array of well know performers that they showcase. We are always eager to offer suggestions to our guests regarding our area and all the things that are available nearby.

Overall, I feel that you were fairly pleased with our accommodations. I am confident that should we have had an opportunity to discuss your concerns, your overall opinion would have been more positive.
Thanks again and best of luck on your future travels!
Martha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    498
    117
    15
    4
    1
See reviews for
223
261
17
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This place was the perfect accomodation for us while traveling with our Shiba Inu. It is nice to find an inn who truly welcomes pets as well as their humans. There is a lot of open space both out back and around the fire pit for our dog to play.

Being able to walk across the street to the lake is also very convenient. There are few places in that area where dogs are welcomed on the beach.

The innkeepers are also very friendly and hospitable. The rooms and grounds are kept clean daily; nice to see a dog-friendly property that is such, where you don't have to pay an exorbitant amount of money.

The restaurant staff are super and the food was great!

Being able to make 'smores (supplied by the inn) is such a bonus especially for those chilly, Tahoe nights...Don't forget to bring your own wine!

We will surely be back.

Room Tip: Cabin #10 (I think) was a great choice with our dog in tow- we were able to park our car next to our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha B, Owner at Cedar Glen Lodge, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you (and your Shiba Inu) for your recent stay at the Cedar Glen Lodge. We are happy you enjoyed your time here on your travels from Florida. Tahoe is a dog friendly area, and there are many places to experience the nature and beauty with your best friend. We will look forward to seeing you again for fireside s'mores!

Martha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The property is continuing to improve and only the best maerials and fixures are used. In the newest remodels, even the room entry keys are "hands-free" using an RF chip insteads of making you fumble with a key slot. Continental Breakfast in the wine bar is included and the restaurant "Rustic Lounge" offers the best evening dining.

Only problem is the very limited parking which means you could lose your assigned space sometimes.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha B, Owner at Cedar Glen Lodge, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you so for your kind review and recognizing our improvements at The Cedar Glen Lodge. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with the continental breakfast and experienced dining in the Rustic Lounge. The restaurant is receiving rave reviews. It's always great to see you and your family! We look forward to your next visit.

Martha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Bay
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed at Cedar Glen Lodge for New Years with 2 other couples. Each of the rooms was slightly different, and charming in it's own way.
The location was great!
The Continental breakfast was classy and had a very welcoming feeling to it, very different from most larger hotel continental breakfasts.
We celebrated New Years with the pre-fixed dinner in the Cedar Glen Lounge. Words cannot describe how wonderful this meal was. The property owners are actively involved and available, making the stay that much more comfortable, endearing, and special.
We will definitely stay at Cedar Glen again and will recommend it to friends.
We also liked that it is a small lodge with self-park, so you don't need to valet your car or compete for parking.
The daily room cleaning was minimal. Basically making up the bed informally and adding a towel if you hadn't hung yours up.
But overall, we loved our stay and really loved the owners and how welcome and comfortable they made us all feel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha B, Owner at Cedar Glen Lodge, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your New Year’s Holiday with us! We appreciate your kind comments and hope we will see you again soon to enjoy our very special place.

Martha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nortre Califonkneeonee
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Very friendly owner- even remembers your name! Due to New Years eve crush had to stay in a room in newer wing and older wing. Both very well cared for- clean- had what you needed. Nice Continental Breakfast. Number 33 had a nice view of the lake while number 12 was close to main building and breakfast which make a difference during snow. Driveways were plowed of snow and maintained. Nice mattress in both bedrooms. Roomy enough for this fat guy with sitting area set with wine glasses in both rooms. Parking tight in snow but my big truck was good in both assigned spots. Next time will try their dinners.

Room Tip: # 33 newer wing had nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha B, Owner at Cedar Glen Lodge, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you for your kind review and spending your New Year’s Holiday with us! Our friendly staff is dedicated to helping you enjoy your visit to the Lodge and Tahoe.

Thanks again and we look forward to your next visit!

Martha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights at the Cedar Glen Lodge and we highly recommend it. The rooms were well equipped, the view was great (lots and lots of snow), and the staff was very, very helpful. Breakfast was fantastic and our overall experience was amazing
We had a car problem and arrived late to the lodge - we received a lot of help from Marta and Christianna in solving our problems.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha B, Owner at Cedar Glen Lodge, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
We are so happy to hear you had an amazing time with us, despite your car troubles! We are rully committed and dedicated to your vacation experience here at our property and Lake Tahoe.

Thank again and we look forward to your next visit!

Martha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights and all was very average. We stayed because of the great reviews this lodge had and it's just ok. The rooms well equipped with all you need but they are tiny. Didn;t get a chance of course to see the other rooms but ours #17 was absolutely tiny hence living up to the term "cabin fever". We did not get a chance to spend any time in the rustic lounge/restaurant as we have two kids and didn't think it would be pleasant for others - also by the menu, prices looked pretty high. Overall mediocre would stay again if I couldn't find another place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha B, Owner at Cedar Glen Lodge, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. Our cabin # 17 has a separate bedroom with a queen size bed, separate kitchen and living room and a good size shower/bathroom. Having multiple rooms, this unit is much bigger than an average hotel room, but we are deeply sorry that you found it tiny. I am not sure why you thought that bringing your kids to our restaurant wouldn't be "pleasant to others." Even though kids are more than welcome here (we even provide high-chairs), we appreciate your thoughtfulness. Our restaurant, the Rustic Lounge has two Cordon Bleu chefs and the prices are consistent with this area, I am sorry you found them "pretty high." It is most shocking that you "would stay here again if couldn't find another place," after calling our place "mediocre." It seems to me that your best choice would be a rental home, instead of a hotel. We are deeply sorry your experience is in disagreement with 98% of of our visitors!

Thanks again and best of luck in your future travels.

Martha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cedar Glen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Glen Lodge

Address: 6589 North Lake Boulevard, PO Box 188, Tahoe Vista, CA 96148-0188
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe Vista
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#1 Family Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#1 Green Hotel in Tahoe Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tahoe Cedar Glen Lodge is a newly renovated, Award Winning resort with a stylish rustic Tahoe-charm. It offers an onsite award winning restaurant, The Rustic Lounge and a wine bar, in addition to cozy cottages with fireplaces and kitchens, comfortable rooms or suites and breath-taking lake views! The resort features lake access, outdoor seasonal heated swimming pool, hot-tub, sauna, fire-pit, picnic areas, barbecues, nightly campfire, volley ball, ping pong, putting green and one acre of untouched natural land. Enjoy easy access to all Lake Tahoe activities: Boating, fishing, hiking, biking, river rafting, golf, casinos, shopping and during the winter months skiing, snowboarding at world class resorts, cross country skiing, snowmobiling, ice skating and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Cedar Glen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Glen Hotel Tahoe Vista
Knights Inn Tahoe Vista

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cedar Glen Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.