We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Tahoe stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cedar Glen Lodge

Save Saved
You added Cedar Glen Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cedar Glen Lodge
6589 North Lake Boulevard, PO Box 188, Tahoe Vista, CA 96148-0188   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free S'mores!
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Tahoe Vista
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
California, United States
1 review
“Great Tahoe stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The Cedar Glen Lodge has recently been re-done, and is a fantastic place to stay. Family run, with nice cabins, a great breakfast and really good restaurant. And every evening they have a campfire burning with s'more supplies! Pool and hot tub heated, as well as sauna.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha B, Owner at Cedar Glen Lodge, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you so much for your review! We are glad you had the chance to enjoy the amenities around the property, as well as the new restaurant. Hope to see you again!

-Martha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    471
    110
    15
    4
    1
See reviews for
214
241
15
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, California, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

My partner and I took my parents to Tahoe for an overnight trip and I wish I could have stayed longer so that we could have enjoyed the cabin we had at Cedar Glen longer. Martha was wonderful from beginning to end. We were able to check in early because of her generosity and kindness and she took us on a tour of the grounds when I expressed my interest in honeymooning there.

The two bed/two bath cabin (#14) was simply perfection. Just big enough for our two families to interact without feeling cooped up. The decor was exactly as I had hoped it would be: rustic and chic at the same time.

The pool and hot tub were outstanding on our slightly chilly October afternoon and the lake, just across the street, was fabulous! Within walking distance and gorgeous.

We had dinner at the restaurant during our stay and the food was EXCELLENT. Could not have asked for better food and at such a reasonable price. I have stayed at South Lake Tahoe before and the prices for comparable food were triple there. Our only sour note came with our server at the restaurant and we can't quite put our finger on what was off, but something was. Perhaps she was having a bad day or something, but she was not as engaging and enthusiastic as Martha and it came across clearly.

The fire pit evening and the complimentary s'mores were delicious, as well. Really, if you are looking for a quiet getaway, love cabins and the "mountain feel" of North Tahoe, Cedar Glen is the place for you.

We are planning to come back for our honeymoon next year and will be visiting again and again as the years progress. What a lovely find!

Room Tip: Two couples will want Cabin #14 with two bedrooms/two baths. It was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha B, Owner at Cedar Glen Lodge, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are very happy you and your family enjoyed your stay and took advantage of our restaurant as well. We would love to have you back for your honeymoon! It is fabulous that you stayed in our "Presidential Suite, #14!" We are very happy how this unit turned out after the massive renovations. Thank you so much for your wonderful comments on our restaurant. Our chefs take a great deal of joy preparing their food and we are thrilled that this translates well to our guests. I am so sorry that there was a "sour note," with the server. She comes for a fine-dining background and sometimes this can come across a little stiff. She's working hard adjusting into our more casual fine-dining and personable atmosphere! I am so glad you loved the fire-pit, and the timing of your trip was absolutely perfect. The weather is very nice and the landscape is gorgeous.

Thanks again and can't wait to see you back for your honeymoon!

-Martha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinez, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Whenever we plan a weekend getaway, we always look to TripAdvisor for tips. If you're interested in kicking back and unwinding, this is the place for you! We were glad we chose Cedar Glen as it is a wonderful place to stop time and rejuvenate. The lodge was warm and cozy, very welcoming. Alan, the host, was so pleasant and helpful. Dinner at the restaurant was fabulous and the service was great. We only have two issues; if at all possible, do not stay in Cabin 2. The cabin is right next to housekeeping/maintenance/ice machine and it was quite noisy especially in the early morning. If we were not early risers, it would have been very annoying. In addition, our mattress was very uncomfortable. All in all, it was a good stay and we can see ourselves coming back...but staying in a different cabin!

Room Tip: Do not stay in Cabin 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha B, Owner at Cedar Glen Lodge, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful and insightful review! We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Your feedback is really valuable to us as through this we are learning not to turn on the washer machine early in the morning and will have that mattress replaced right away! It is funny that this never came up before, but I can see how this could happen, so thanks so much for bringing it to our attention. I am truly pleased that you had the opportunity to try our restaurant and to hear the you enjoyed it.

Thanks again and we look forward to you next visit!

-Martha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We recently stopped at the Rustic Lounge in the Cedar Glen Lodge and had dinner. We previously had friends who had a wonderful stay at Cedar Glen Lodge and alerted us to this hidden jewel. The food and service was excellent, and the menu included many little extra delights including homemade breads and desserts. My wife had the salmon and I enjoyed the homemade meatloaf. For dessert we enjoyed the Panna Cotta. And the wine bar had a very nice variety of wines. I would highly recommend others trying the restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha B, Owner at Cedar Glen Lodge, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Thank you for your great review! We are so happy you enjoyed our new restaurant and wine bar. Anytime you are back in the Lake Tahoe area, please come dine with us again!

-Martha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

TripAdvisor reviews are spot on. Lovely getaway. No cost spared in the remodeling. Beds are super comfy, both for those that need firm and soft. Just like Goldilocks said, "Just right". Make sure to eat at the restaurant. The salmon was outstanding. Delightful hosts, perfect quiet North Shore location right across the street from the water. Can't say enough good things. We'll go back again and again.

Room Tip: We stayed in Cottage #14, just remodeled 2 bed/2bathwith full kitchen gorgeously done.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha B, Owner at Cedar Glen Lodge, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Thank you for your fantastic review! We do get many compliments about our beds, in fact some of our guests actually ask us about what brand we have so that they can purchase them for their homes. We are happy to hear that you had a chance to dine with us at our new restaurant. Please come back and visit us again!

-Martha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

Over the years, we've stayed at many different properties in Tahoe, from chain inns to first class resorts. Since we were traveling with my mother this time, I wanted a comfy environment. Let's just say that this lodge is a hidden gem that won't be hidden for long. What a find! We stayed in cabin #14, the two bed/bath unit. Recently remodeled, we loved the space and the great rustic decor. The beds and linens were wonderful, so much so that we need to find out what kind of beds they've purchased. The pillows and linens were very fresh and clean. Housekeeping was very nicely done - our room was neat and tidy when we returned each day. The new restaurant on premises is beautiful and shows great promise. The grounds are peaceful and very well maintained. There was remodeling ongoing during our stay, but it too was non intrusive. I've read some comments about noise. There is normal road noise during the day, but it quiets down at night. We also had access to the lake across the street - easy walk and oh, its lovely! I would be remiss if I didn't mention the innkeepers, Martha and Allen. So friendly and always there to help. They embody what it means to be innkeepers. I could go on, but suffice it to say we've found our new Tahoe home away from home. Best of luck to Martha and Allen as they grow this lovely inn. We will look forward to coming back and try another cabin!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha B, Owner at Cedar Glen Lodge, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Thank you for your awesome review! We are so happy to hear that you truly enjoyed your stay here with us. Thank you for taking notice of the hard work we have been putting into this property. We are so honored to have you and your mother stay with us as your "Home Away From Home"!

-Martha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

thanks to Alan and Martha, my husband and I . We were in cabin 15, we had a great time, this trip was unforgettable,wonderful,and comfortable and we can't wait to go back. we recommend this place to everybody

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha B, Owner at Cedar Glen Lodge, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Thank you for your great review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us. Snow is right around the corner and is a lovely time to come visit!

-Martha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cedar Glen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Glen Lodge

Address: 6589 North Lake Boulevard, PO Box 188, Tahoe Vista, CA 96148-0188
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe Vista
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#1 Family Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#1 Green Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tahoe Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tahoe Cedar Glen Lodge is a newly renovated, Award Winning resort with a stylish rustic Tahoe-charm. It offers an onsite award winning restaurant, The Rustic Lounge and a wine bar, in addition to cozy cottages with fireplaces and kitchens, comfortable rooms or suites and breath-taking lake views! The resort features lake access, outdoor seasonal heated swimming pool, hot-tub, sauna, fire-pit, picnic areas, barbecues, nightly campfire, volley ball, ping pong, putting green and one acre of untouched natural land. Enjoy easy access to all Lake Tahoe activities: Boating, fishing, hiking, biking, river rafting, golf, casinos, shopping and during the winter months skiing, snowboarding at world class resorts, cross country skiing, snowmobiling, ice skating and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Cedar Glen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Glen Hotel Tahoe Vista
Knights Inn Tahoe Vista

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cedar Glen Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.