We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you're the kind of person who enjoys s'mores, stay here” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cedar Glen Lodge

Save Saved
You added Cedar Glen Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cedar Glen Lodge
6589 North Lake Boulevard, PO Box 188, Tahoe Vista, CA 96148-0188   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free S'mores!
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Tahoe Vista
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Long Beach, California
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“If you're the kind of person who enjoys s'mores, stay here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

This is an old lodge with a brand new look and feel inside. The 1 story building surrounds a lawn with a pool, hot tub, ping-pong, fire pit for roasting marshmallows and making s'mores courtesy of the hosts, and meeting your neighbors. The only view of the lake is from the lobby and the beach across the street (via another establishment) is rocky, unattractive (except for the lake view) and crowded. But access to larger, sandy beaches is within a few minutes drive.

Rooms are large with huge closet, table equipped with wine glasses, refrig., coffee maker, microwave, good sized dresser, flat screen TV, but no AC. A fan is available and with windows open the room didn't get too warm in July. The decor is delightful with a lodge feel emphasizing moose and bear but in a decorative rather than corny way. Great lighting, lovely bathroom sink, adequate counter space. The super nice staff provides extensive local directions. They just opened a restaurant for guests though we didn't sample. But breakfast was super - all one could want. It's not ON the lake, but I do recommend it at a considerable savings from places that are.

Do drive around to San Harbor State Park in Nevada for amazing kayaking in crystal blue water.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    471
    110
    15
    4
    1
See reviews for
214
241
15
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southernn California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We just returned from a stay at Cedar Glen Lodge. The owners have done a fantastic job refurbishing their dream spot on the lake, they treat each guest like family. The rooms were comfortable, everything was clean. Continental breakfast was served in the lobby with views of the lake across the street. Didn't get a chance to try the restaurant but we will next time. It was a perfect get away, can not wait to come back!

Room Tip: We liked the little cabins better than the hotel rooms at the top of the hill....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foster City, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We ended there after spending the week moving cross country. It was quite simply perfect. Our room was exactly what we wanted. It was roomy and pet friendly. The owners made the experience even better - they made us feel like family. Both nights we went to have wine and were fortunate enough to sit and talk with them.

All the staff was more than friendly, it is in a great location. This is the place to go if you are looking to escape, spend a romantic time or your family - including pets. We are looking forward to coming back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tahoe Vista, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Food was exquisite. Prices were reasonable. Staff was very friendly and knowable, Establishment was warming and welcoming. From the start to finish every thing was amazing. Would recommended to anyone that is lucky enough to be in the area.

Thank You,
Tahoe Vista Local's

Room Tip: Sorry did not stay in room just enjoyed the Restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We had a great stay for our anniversary back in mid-June. Martha was very welcoming and showed us things to do in the area, which we appreciated since it was our first time there. The lodge was great and had plenty of things to do like volleyball, ping pong table, pool, etc. And we liked the campfire at night with smores. It was a nice place to meet the other people staying there. We love Lake Tahoe and hope to be back again with our kids next time.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We had a wonderful time and only wish we could've stayed longer to experience your restaurant. Maybe next time!

Thanks again, Martha and Alan!

Liz

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Cedar Glen Lodge, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Dear EMaroshekj,

Thank you so much! We too hope that your next visit will be a little longer. Thanks again and hope to see you back soon.

Martha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emeryville, CA
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

The staff was very friendly and the facilities were clean and comfortable. It was the first time we were traveling with our dog and we wanted a safe, comfortable space. The staff members were very accommodating and even provided us with lists of restaurants that allowed outdoor patio seating to take our pup, lists for dog-friendly beaches, and activities we can do. They went above and beyond and we really appreciated it. Plus, smores were provided every night during our stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cedar Glen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Glen Lodge

Address: 6589 North Lake Boulevard, PO Box 188, Tahoe Vista, CA 96148-0188
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe Vista
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#1 Family Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tahoe Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tahoe Cedar Glen Lodge is a newly renovated, Award Winning resort with a stylish rustic Tahoe-charm. It offers an onsite award winning restaurant, The Rustic Lounge and a wine bar, in addition to cozy cottages with fireplaces and kitchens, comfortable rooms or suites and breath-taking lake views! The resort features lake access, outdoor seasonal heated swimming pool, hot-tub, sauna, fire-pit, picnic areas, barbecues, nightly campfire, volley ball, ping pong, putting green and one acre of untouched natural land. Enjoy easy access to all Lake Tahoe activities: Boating, fishing, hiking, biking, river rafting, golf, casinos, shopping and during the winter months skiing, snowboarding at world class resorts, cross country skiing, snowmobiling, ice skating and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Cedar Glen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Glen Hotel Tahoe Vista
Knights Inn Tahoe Vista

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cedar Glen Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.