We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality and a warm environment” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cedar Glen Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cedar Glen Lodge to your Saves list
Cedar Glen Lodge
6589 North Lake Boulevard, PO Box 188, Tahoe Vista, CA 96148-0188   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free S'mores!
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Tahoe Vista
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reno, Nevada
1 review
“Great hospitality and a warm environment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

Newly Renovated with small kitchenette made it comfortable and convenient.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    487
    117
    15
    4
    1
See reviews for
220
256
16
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
auckland new zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

Great place to stay. Log cabins as well two storey small block situated across the road from the lake with swimming pool and sauna. We had a two bedroom apartment with kitchen. Very comfortable and well appointed. Good restaurants nearby and large supermarket a short drive away. Owners extremely friendly and helpful. Martha is delightful and we would recommend you do the walk she suggests. Views are stunning. Thoroughly enjoyed our few days there.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

Owners are pro-active and take the time to talk, dispense advice. A lot of effort has been put into equipping and decorating the rooms but some portions are just worn out. But remodeling is ongoing. Parking looks limited. I would be concerned about parking during the busy winter season.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cedarglenlodge, Owner at Cedar Glen Lodge, responded to this review, May 30, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. I am glad you appreciate our efforts to take care of our guests. Indeed, this property has some rooms that still need upgrades and as you said, we continue with our remodeling. Keep in mind that we are coming out of a very busy skiing season and that we have been here only 10 months. Our goal is to make a gem of this beautiful property, it's just a matter of time. As far as parking goes, please know that we have 31 rooms and 35 legal parking spaces, 4 being handicap. So, there's no shortage of parking, quite the contrary.

Thanks again and we look forward to your return!

Martha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

I've stayed at Cedar Glen twice. The first time I found it online, looked like a good location and price, and stayed for four days with with a friend in town for skiing at Squaw and Incline. I liked it so much I returned a few weeks later with my 4 year old son for a couple nights so we could play in the snow. He LOVED the fresh waffles with whipped cream! Thanks, Martha. We'll be back this summer. -Brian Gibbons

Room Tip: Tell Martha what you need and she'll take care
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

We stayed one night with our adult children. It was off season so the area was not crowded. Our cabin, which was small, had four beds, 2 twin beds in a bedroom and 2 beds in the living area and was very clean and well-appointed. Stay included breakfast but there was no place to sit so we took the food back to our room and ate at the table in our room . It was strictly continental but tasty. If we had stayed longer there were we would have taken advantage of the pool, sauna, hot tub. We did have free wi-fi. There was one TV in the living area.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
benicia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

We found Cedar Glen Lodge on the internet while searching for dog friendly lodging. Martha (owner) was so kind and accomodating. She has a warm and sincere personality, and instantly makes you feel welcome. She was great at making suggestions for meals, and activities for our family of five (2 adults, 1 13yr old, an 8 yr old and a 1 1/2 year old dog). We were quite comfortable in our clean, pet friendly room. We were there over the Easter holiday, and it was just the right spot for a last minute, fun yet restful getaway. During the ski season, or summer season, it's a great spot with access to many top ski resorts and the Lake just across the street. Oh, and yummy homemade waffles on the weekend.

I gave this a "very good" rating for the accomodating and friendly staff.

Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

Cedar Glen is in a great location, across the street from a nice beach on Lake Tahoe. We stayed there on a weekend ski trip, just looking for good value on a basic place to stay . What we found was not only good value, but something different than the usual hotel experience - an enjoyable relaxing enviroment with an owner who made us feel at home there. An older rustic feel to the property, partly a series of connected one-story cottages of various sizes facing each other across a central courtyard in the front - traditionally used for summer vacation likeside rentals - and with a newer (built for the 1960 Squaw Valley Winter Olympics) two story more traditional blocky motel building higher up in the back - with nice views from the deck of the upper floor. Units are gradually being remodeled. We took a tour of the various room styles, from basic budget rooms to two bedroom with kitchen units. You can find something appropriate whether a couple for family with a few kids. Owner was very friendly & helpful. Brought us bowls of delicious ice cream in the evening - a welcome snack after a long day skiing. Owner had a fire going in the fire pit by the swimming pool in the evening - you could sit around the campfire & enjoy the evening. Great continental breakfast provided in the morning - fresh waffles, bagels, cereals, fruit, yoghurts, juice, coffee, tea.. We stayed in one of the small rooms close to the office so it was easy for us to take our food back to our room and have breakfast in the small dining nook in our room - very convenient. Plus we could unload/load our car right outside our door. There are a variety of room sizes, styles, and prices - so check for what meets your needs. Not a luxury property, set your expectations, has an old Lake Tahoe outdoor feel to it. We had and enjoyable stay, and will stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cedar Glen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Glen Lodge

Address: 6589 North Lake Boulevard, PO Box 188, Tahoe Vista, CA 96148-0188
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe Vista
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#1 Family Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#1 Green Hotel in Tahoe Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tahoe Cedar Glen Lodge is a newly renovated, Award Winning resort with a stylish rustic Tahoe-charm. It offers an onsite award winning restaurant, The Rustic Lounge and a wine bar, in addition to cozy cottages with fireplaces and kitchens, comfortable rooms or suites and breath-taking lake views! The resort features lake access, outdoor seasonal heated swimming pool, hot-tub, sauna, fire-pit, picnic areas, barbecues, nightly campfire, volley ball, ping pong, putting green and one acre of untouched natural land. Enjoy easy access to all Lake Tahoe activities: Boating, fishing, hiking, biking, river rafting, golf, casinos, shopping and during the winter months skiing, snowboarding at world class resorts, cross country skiing, snowmobiling, ice skating and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Cedar Glen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Glen Hotel Tahoe Vista
Knights Inn Tahoe Vista

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cedar Glen Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.