We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, casual, rustic setting with trees and views down to the lake.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cedar Glen Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cedar Glen Lodge to your Saves list
Cedar Glen Lodge
6589 North Lake Boulevard, PO Box 188, Tahoe Vista, CA 96148-0188   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Tesla Charging!
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Tahoe Vista
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
San Mateo, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly, casual, rustic setting with trees and views down to the lake.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

Cedar Glen is in a great location, across the street from a nice beach on Lake Tahoe. We stayed there on a weekend ski trip, just looking for good value on a basic place to stay . What we found was not only good value, but something different than the usual hotel experience - an enjoyable relaxing enviroment with an owner who made us feel at home there. An older rustic feel to the property, partly a series of connected one-story cottages of various sizes facing each other across a central courtyard in the front - traditionally used for summer vacation likeside rentals - and with a newer (built for the 1960 Squaw Valley Winter Olympics) two story more traditional blocky motel building higher up in the back - with nice views from the deck of the upper floor. Units are gradually being remodeled. We took a tour of the various room styles, from basic budget rooms to two bedroom with kitchen units. You can find something appropriate whether a couple for family with a few kids. Owner was very friendly & helpful. Brought us bowls of delicious ice cream in the evening - a welcome snack after a long day skiing. Owner had a fire going in the fire pit by the swimming pool in the evening - you could sit around the campfire & enjoy the evening. Great continental breakfast provided in the morning - fresh waffles, bagels, cereals, fruit, yoghurts, juice, coffee, tea.. We stayed in one of the small rooms close to the office so it was easy for us to take our food back to our room and have breakfast in the small dining nook in our room - very convenient. Plus we could unload/load our car right outside our door. There are a variety of room sizes, styles, and prices - so check for what meets your needs. Not a luxury property, set your expectations, has an old Lake Tahoe outdoor feel to it. We had and enjoyable stay, and will stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    539
    123
    18
    4
    1
See reviews for
244
280
19
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

Martha and her staff are very kind; breakfast is good, and cabins are comfortable. The place is close to Northstar, Alpine and Squaw.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cedarglenlodge, Owner at Cedar Glen Lodge, responded to this review, April 22, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback! It was great having you here and look forward to your next visit.

Martha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

During our recent ski trip to Lake Tahoe (our first time there), my husband and I stayed at Cedar Glen Lodge. I had chosen Cedar Glen based on TripAdvisor reviews that I'd read and they did not steer us wrong. Martha and Alan were fantastic hosts. Because the studio I'd originally booked was being renovated, they upgraded us to a one-bedroom cabin with full kitchen at no extra charge. I also had specific dietary needs (I'm gluten intolerant) and they went out of their way to provide me with gluten free baked goods and pasta. We also got piles of fresh fruit (and not just apples and oranges!) to enjoy, were treated to chocolate covered strawberries, and, of course, my husband scarfed down the home made waffles and bananas foster that they make fresh on the weekends. Although the pool was a bit cold, the sauna and hot tub were great places to relax after a hard day on the slopes, as was the fire pit which Martha and Alan lit some nights. It was very neighborly sitting round the burning logs, chatting with our hosts. Cedar Glen Lodge is centrally located to most of the downhill and cross-country ski resorts in North Lake Tahoe. We didn't have to drive more than half an hour to get to Rose Mtn, Alpine Meadows, Royal Gorge, Squaw Vally, North Star, among others. But besides the cozy and comfortable accommodations, the fantastic hospitality of the hosts, the central location, and the apres-ski necessities of hot tub and sauna, Cedar Glen Lodge preserves the rustic, natural character that is the essence of North Lake Tahoe.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cedarglenlodge, Owner at Cedar Glen Lodge, responded to this review, May 3, 2011
Thank you so much for such a wonderful review. It was great having you with us and look forward to seeing again.

Martha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millbrae, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2011

Martha, the co-owner, goes above and beyond to be hospitable. Fantastic fresh belgian waffles with warm toppings are complimentary in the morning. Roasting marshmallows by the fireside in the evening. A terrific selection of movies to borrow. And our cabin, number 7, was so adorable! Hand-hewn wooden furnishings and organic toiletries. A short walk to the lovely beach and a short drive into the gorgeous regional park. I couldn't have asked for anything more. Except maybe enough hot water for more than 1 bath in a row.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cedarglenlodge, Owner at Cedar Glen Lodge, responded to this review, April 20, 2011
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. I am so glad you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. I truly enjoyed the fire-pit marshmallow roasting in the evening. Your daughters are incredibly adorable and I so look forward to your next visit!

Martha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocklin, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

Bubbles describe the effervescent joy my fiance and I felt while staying at the lodge, not to mention the actual bubbles that happened to overflow from the wonderfully spacious jacuzzi tub in the Romantic Suite #6. A cozy cabin all to ourselves, the full kitchen was spotless when we were arrived, as was everything else: particurlarly the bathroom nooks and crannies were free of any mold or dirtiness, which was nice as I had to sop up the bubbles from everywhere. As an OCD person, I give it my highest recommendations. The owners are more than happy to help: I naively turned off the electric fireplace before going to bed, to "prevent" fire. Little did I know that it was meant to stay on as the main source of heat. Promptly the next morning, after assuring me I wan't the only one to do so, the owner came over with his tool box to turn it back on. On the day of departure, having just had 12 or so inches of snow dropped on our heads, we were kindly helped in putting on snow chains (a first for us), and were sent on our way with best wishes. Anything you need, be it blizzard or shine, you receive the best hospitality you can get.

PS: Eat at Captain John's, a pricey but wonderful seafood restaurant. The owner will be your waiter, guide you in food, and the clam appetizer is spectacular. Ask the Cedar Glen owners for the voucher they have for 20% off at that specific restaurant :)

Room Tip: Romantic Suite #6
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cedarglenlodge, Owner at Cedar Glen Lodge, responded to this review, April 10, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such wonderful review. We truly love pampering our guests and helping them in every way. We are very happy that we met your expectations and look forward to your return!

Martha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2011

It is our second stay at Cedar Glen Lodge.The location is great, the cabins are super clean and Martha is simply awesome.
We can't wait to come back...

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cedarglenlodge, Owner at Cedar Glen Lodge, responded to this review, April 10, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us such wonderful review. We really appreciate your kindness and can't wait for your next visit!

Martha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

Martha treated us with such warmth and professionalism.
We had to cut our visit short due to an emergency and Martha was very helpful.
Great location and great service.
Thank you.
The Fergusons

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cedarglenlodge, Owner at Cedar Glen Lodge, responded to this review, April 7, 2011
Thank you so much for your feedback. We look forward to your next visit.

Martha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tahoe Vista
4.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
20.9 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#20 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 350 reviews
20.6 mi away
Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe
Marriott Grand Residence Club Ta...
#8 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge
Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge
#2 of 7 in Tahoe Vista
4.5 of 5 stars 209 reviews
20.6 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#2 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 568 reviews
20.2 mi away
The Landing Resort & Spa
The Landing Resort & Spa
#1 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Glen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Glen Lodge

Address: 6589 North Lake Boulevard, PO Box 188, Tahoe Vista, CA 96148-0188
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe Vista
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#1 Green Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#1 Family Hotel in Tahoe Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tahoe Cedar Glen Lodge is a newly renovated, Award Winning resort with a stylish rustic Tahoe-charm. It offers an onsite award winning restaurant, The Rustic Lounge and a wine bar, in addition to cozy cottages with fireplaces and kitchens, comfortable rooms or suites and breath-taking lake views! The resort features lake access, outdoor seasonal heated swimming pool, hot-tub, sauna, fire-pit, picnic areas, barbecues, nightly campfire, volley ball, ping pong, putting green and one acre of untouched natural land. Enjoy easy access to all Lake Tahoe activities: Boating, fishing, hiking, biking, river rafting, golf, casinos, shopping and during the winter months skiing, snowboarding at world class resorts, cross country skiing, snowmobiling, ice skating and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Cedar Glen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Glen Hotel Tahoe Vista
Knights Inn Tahoe Vista

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cedar Glen Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.