We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   455 North Lake Boulevard, P.O. Box 84, Tahoe City, CA 96145   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights - Save 20%
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Tahoe City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

the location is ideal. Walking distance to the lake and many wonderful dining possibilities. The gentleman who checked us in was friendly and very helpful. The rooms are a little older (typical for Tahoe) but they were clean and roomy and the price was right. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    45
    22
    4
    4
See reviews for
24
35
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SoCal
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed for one night, August 2013 and found good rate on bookings.com. The hotel is exactly what it claims to be: a terrific value although certainly not luxury. The hotel itself has a rustic/ski-lodge look and feel. While the rooms are just OK ( if not a little dated), everything works, its in a terrific location, and has basic "conti" breakfast. For the price, it really is a "best-value". The next time I have short visit to Tahoe would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abvithaoecity, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
I am so happy that you found our motel to be "best value". No, we don't claim to be a "luxury" hotel and, after all, a luxury hotel just would not fit in our area. Just as you stated, we have a "terrific location" (between the lake and the golf course). I certainly hope you come back and visit us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This hotel was in an awesome location. We traveled to Lake Tahoe for just one night - the 4th of July, 2013. The hotel is literally right across a two lane road from a very nice beach with restroom facilities. There are numerous hiking, jogging, and biking trails right there as well. If you're looking for a budget hotel in a great location, this is the place. The rooms were clean and adequate. There are many shops and a grocery store within walking distance - just a few blocks or less. The staff was also extremely friendly from the time I booked the reservation through our stay there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abvithaoecity, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear KarenEvelyn:
How could I possibly add anything to your terrific review? The only thing you left out was that we're the only property on North Shore having air conditioners in addition to ceiling fans. Please come visit us again on your next visit from Texas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

My only complaint is that the bathroom is extremely small. I could hardly fit in the shower! There are a lot of restaurants and shopping within walking distance. It's also an easy drive to Meeks Bay and Sand Harbor.

I will probably stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abvithaoecity, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
We always claim our location as being the activity center of North Tahoe with short walks to all the activities and a short drive to all the beautiful spots at the lake. I'm so glad you enjoyed your visit and that you will come back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for three days. It's best location wise, just opposite to Lake Tahoe. Good cafes nearby. But the rooms are too small even if you take superior king. They say high speed wifi but u need to really look for connection each time u enter ur room sometimes u literally hang yourself in the air for that. And when u complain about it to the reception , the old guy ( running the hotel single handedly) denies such thing and will not even get it checked by his technicians. Telling u( indirectly) go to hell, take it or leave it.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cjpendleton, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
I apologize for the experience you had concerning the WiFi at our motel. We recently upgraded it and there might have been a "glitch" in it at that time. However, I am happy that you recognized our excellent location and I sincerely hope that you come back and give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Spent one night here with friends. Excellent value for money. The bathroom was clean and neat, though the shower opened a torrent. Free WiFi and the guy who checked us in gave a lot of useful tips on what we could do/ where to park/ etc.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cjpendleton, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
It is so nice when guests mention the "excellent value" for the money. Unfortunately, most rooms around the lake are small because they were built over 50 years ago and a state- mandated moratorium keeps owners from expanding their property. We continue to make up for this by having the cleanest rooms, best mattresses and the latest amenities, including free WiFi and a popular Lakeview Spa. I thank you for recognizing that the staff takes such good care of our guests. Please come and visit us again, very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This is an older motel that has been well maintained and the rooms updated. The room was smallish but very clean and comfortable. We faced the golf course so there was no road noise and was private. The bathroom was small but also spotless. The TV had many channels and the wifi was free and worked pretty well. There is "continental breakfast" which consists of juice, coffee, some fresh fruit and packaged sweet rolls. Unfortunately, this is served in the lobby with no where to sit and eat it. There are all sorts of restaurants and coffee shops that are walkable and pleasant. In all, a very nice stay.

Room Tip: get a room on the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cjpendleton, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for such a kind and considerate review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe

Address: 455 North Lake Boulevard, P.O. Box 84, Tahoe City, CA 96145
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Tahoe City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have been AAA rated for over 34 years,FEMA-Approved and the only hotel on North Lake Tahoe having individual heating/Air conditioning units-Activity-Centered between the lake and Golf Course,across street from COMMONS BEACH PLAYGROUND, Amphitheatre and picnic/barbecue facilities & easy walking distance to shopping malls, boat marina and museum. Only 15 minutes from Squaw Valley, Alpine Meadows and Homewood Ski Areas-Ski shuttles are available. We have a seasonal outdoor heated pool and a year-round LAKEVIEW HOT TUB. Enjoy our Premium Beautyrest pillow-top beds, FREE wireless Internet, local calls, inroom coffee/tea makers,continental breakfast, Cable TV/HBO, irons/ironing boards and FREE Parking, large enough for trucks & motor homes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Agoda, getaroom.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe Hotel Tahoe City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.