We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not new but spotless and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   455 North Lake Boulevard, P.O. Box 84, Tahoe City, CA 96145   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Tahoe City
San Diego
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Not new but spotless and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This is an older motel that has been well maintained and the rooms updated. The room was smallish but very clean and comfortable. We faced the golf course so there was no road noise and was private. The bathroom was small but also spotless. The TV had many channels and the wifi was free and worked pretty well. There is "continental breakfast" which consists of juice, coffee, some fresh fruit and packaged sweet rolls. Unfortunately, this is served in the lobby with no where to sit and eat it. There are all sorts of restaurants and coffee shops that are walkable and pleasant. In all, a very nice stay.

Room Tip: get a room on the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cjpendleton, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for such a kind and considerate review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    41
    18
    4
    4
See reviews for
20
32
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

There aren't many choices within the city, and as far as we could tell walking around, all of them were built in the 1960s - 1970s era. This Inn is old, two stories with no elevator, but we found it clean and the beds very comfortable. If you can handle a tiny shower and bath, miniscule open closet and fake wood paneling for a reasonable price, this is for you. We walked across the street to the shore of Lake Tahoe, walked to the shops and attractions. There are several restaurants within easy walking distance that are very good. The Inn offers a continental breakfast and coffee in their office every morning with fresh fruit, prepackaged Danish, bagels and good coffee. The two ladies we met at check-in and going about our business were friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable about the area. Your stay comes with a one-use 10% coupon at a list of restaurants they provide you with. We went to the Fire Sign Cafe for brunch twice (open 7AM-3PM) and it was very good. For a special meal, go to Zia Lina's.

Room Tip: Bottom floor at the back - there are no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cjpendleton, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Yes, you are right-most of the inns around the lake were built in the 60's or later and a moratorium keeps us from expanding. However, it was nice to see that you recognized the important things-location, between the lake and golf course, cleanliness and an excellent bed. Thank you for taking the time to write the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Spent one night on President's week. Clean bedroom and bathroom, spacious and two door entrance, one being a nice outside balcony with a view to an open snowed field.

Close to a lot of restaurants / bars and you get discount being a guest at the hotel.
breakfast offers coffee / chocolate / fruits and industrialized pastries.

It suited the purpose of our stay: just sleep at the hotel. Plus it has a Jacuzzi open until 10pm

you do have to drive to the slopes though. But its only 5 miles from Squaw

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watsonville, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Each winter ski season for the past 15 years my wife and I have stayed at Pendleton's inn because of the hospitality and location, location, location. The Pendleton's pay careful attention to our needs (we are elderly). The rooms are clean and comfortable. The TVs are flatscreen and the have all the channels ones needs. The air conditioner/heater is quiet and efficient. The complimentary breakfast is perfect for our needs--fresh fruit and drink, coffee or chocolate, and a danish--to get started for the day. And, we can eat in the comfort of our room! The inn is a short distance to Homewood, Alpine, and Squaw Valley ski resorts and walking distance to great local restaurants which are reasonably priced. We had a wonderful time, staying and skiing three days March 11-13, 2013. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Many of the roooms have a refrig and a microwave oven. Great if you have a family. For old folks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cjpendleton, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
It is so nice to hear from guests that have stayed at our property continuously for 15 years. However, it is especially nice when they recognize the "Pendletons" as owners. Carl & Margie Pendleton have been co-owners for over 35 years and our Son, and Partner, Doug Pendleton is carrying on the tradition of having clean and comfortable rooms. I'm glad that you mentioned our quiet and efficient air conditioners because no other motel has them. I hope that you continue selecting our property for your ski trips!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevierville, TN
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Inn in feb 2013 for 4 nights to ski local resorts. Great location. Close to places to eat and drink. No frills motel, but on par with other similiarly priced establishments. Clean, warm, TV, bed, shower. What else do you need for an affordable ski trip? I would stay here again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We had only planned one night in Tahoe City but stayed for an extra night.

The hotel manager was excellent on arrival, really helpful and friendly. Rooms were clean. Hot tub overlooking the lake was a big bonus.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

My sister and I stayed for two nights and found the motel-inn convenient, clean and basic. Location is just across the street from the lake in the middle of town. Some good selections for restaurants all within walking distance. I was surprised that we had a very quiet night's sleep. Breakfast, as already reported, is minimal but OK. Good bargain.

Room Tip: I would not have stayed on the ground floor if I were traveling solo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe

Address: 455 North Lake Boulevard, P.O. Box 84, Tahoe City, CA 96145
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Tahoe City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have been AAA rated for over 34 years,FEMA-Approved and the only hotel on North Lake Tahoe having individual heating/Air conditioning units-Activity-Centered between the lake and Golf Course,across street from COMMONS BEACH PLAYGROUND, Amphitheatre and picnic/barbecue facilities & easy walking distance to shopping malls, boat marina and museum. Only 15 minutes from Squaw Valley, Alpine Meadows and Homewood Ski Areas-Ski shuttles are available. We have a seasonal outdoor heated pool and a year-round LAKEVIEW HOT TUB. Enjoy our Premium Beautyrest pillow-top beds, FREE wireless Internet, local calls, inroom coffee/tea makers,continental breakfast, Cable TV/HBO, irons/ironing boards and FREE Parking, large enough for trucks & motor homes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe Hotel Tahoe City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.