We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Ski Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   455 North Lake Boulevard, P.O. Box 84, Tahoe City, CA 96145   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Tahoe City
Sevierville, TN
Level Contributor
92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Ski Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Inn in feb 2013 for 4 nights to ski local resorts. Great location. Close to places to eat and drink. No frills motel, but on par with other similiarly priced establishments. Clean, warm, TV, bed, shower. What else do you need for an affordable ski trip? I would stay here again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    49
    24
    4
    4
See reviews for
25
38
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We had only planned one night in Tahoe City but stayed for an extra night.

The hotel manager was excellent on arrival, really helpful and friendly. Rooms were clean. Hot tub overlooking the lake was a big bonus.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

My sister and I stayed for two nights and found the motel-inn convenient, clean and basic. Location is just across the street from the lake in the middle of town. Some good selections for restaurants all within walking distance. I was surprised that we had a very quiet night's sleep. Breakfast, as already reported, is minimal but OK. Good bargain.

Room Tip: I would not have stayed on the ground floor if I were traveling solo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIDLANDS UK
Level Contributor
83 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We had some difficulty booking this hotel - the offer we wanted was phone-only - but we managed that hurdle.

Hotel was easy to find and reception was friendly and anticipating our arrival.

Room was in line with our expectations - clean, large, comfortable bed, balcony area, WC/shower.

Breakfast was a little basic but in line with the hotel pricing.

Would be happy to use this again for a basic no-frills break.

Room Tip: Keep back from the front road (probably)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnes
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This Motel is very nice. Clean rooms, comfortable beds. Price very reasonable for South Lake Tahoe California. Tahoe is beautiful and this Motel is a nice place to stay. Staff at desk was very friendly. Will definately stay here if ever near Lake Tahoe again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, Utah
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Right on the main drag. Very nice rooms with golf course in back. Clean and adequately spacious rooms. Front desk very friendly and helpful. They provide discount coupons for restaurants only a few feet away. A cinema right near as well, all within 2-3 min walk. Tahoe is pricey for lodging and even off season this was nit a bargain but Trip Advisor comparisons to others it turned put to be all that was described. Lake Tahoe is loaded with lodging and with a little more search one could probably find a better deal but this was fine for one night. If i did not have a recommendation on any other I would return. The lake is spectacular and is partially visible at this hotel location. Lots of extra touches in the room. Some rooms have refrigerators but you will pay $10 more.

Room Tip: I think any of he rooms would be fine. If the back golf course rooms are less select that a the fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

My Mom and I just visited Lake Tahoe and stayed at Americas Best Value Inn--Tahoe City. We couldn't have been more pleased. Each and every member of the staff was incredibly friendly and accommodating; the rooms were nice and clean; and the hotel was close to some wonderful restaurants and shopping. We would both recommend this hotel, and we will definitely visit it in the very near future.

Room Tip: Being that my Mom is older, we required a room on the bottom with two queen beds. We stayed in room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe

Address: 455 North Lake Boulevard, P.O. Box 84, Tahoe City, CA 96145
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Tahoe City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have been AAA rated for over 34 years,FEMA-Approved and the only hotel on North Lake Tahoe having individual heating/Air conditioning units-Activity-Centered between the lake and Golf Course,across street from COMMONS BEACH PLAYGROUND, Amphitheatre and picnic/barbecue facilities & easy walking distance to shopping malls, boat marina and museum. Only 15 minutes from Squaw Valley, Alpine Meadows and Homewood Ski Areas-Ski shuttles are available. We have a seasonal outdoor heated pool and a year-round LAKEVIEW HOT TUB. Enjoy our Premium Beautyrest pillow-top beds, FREE wireless Internet, local calls, inroom coffee/tea makers,continental breakfast, Cable TV/HBO, irons/ironing boards and FREE Parking, large enough for trucks & motor homes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe Hotel Tahoe City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.