We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe

Save Saved
You added Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   455 North Lake Boulevard, P.O. Box 84, Tahoe City, CA 96145   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 hotels in Tahoe City
Barnes
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This Motel is very nice. Clean rooms, comfortable beds. Price very reasonable for South Lake Tahoe California. Tahoe is beautiful and this Motel is a nice place to stay. Staff at desk was very friendly. Will definately stay here if ever near Lake Tahoe again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    38
    14
    4
    4
See reviews for
18
27
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga Springs, Utah
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Right on the main drag. Very nice rooms with golf course in back. Clean and adequately spacious rooms. Front desk very friendly and helpful. They provide discount coupons for restaurants only a few feet away. A cinema right near as well, all within 2-3 min walk. Tahoe is pricey for lodging and even off season this was nit a bargain but Trip Advisor comparisons to others it turned put to be all that was described. Lake Tahoe is loaded with lodging and with a little more search one could probably find a better deal but this was fine for one night. If i did not have a recommendation on any other I would return. The lake is spectacular and is partially visible at this hotel location. Lots of extra touches in the room. Some rooms have refrigerators but you will pay $10 more.

Room Tip: I think any of he rooms would be fine. If the back golf course rooms are less select that a the fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

My Mom and I just visited Lake Tahoe and stayed at Americas Best Value Inn--Tahoe City. We couldn't have been more pleased. Each and every member of the staff was incredibly friendly and accommodating; the rooms were nice and clean; and the hotel was close to some wonderful restaurants and shopping. We would both recommend this hotel, and we will definitely visit it in the very near future.

Room Tip: Being that my Mom is older, we required a room on the bottom with two queen beds. We stayed in room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuba City, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

A group of 8 of us stayed in Superior Queen rooms and found the Inn to be comfortable, very clean, and with good service. The location is perfect for exploring the north and west sides of Lake Tahoe. A special thanks to the reservation personnel who helped me coordinate our rooms. Michelle (Yuba City, CA)

Room Tip: The superior rooms with fridges and microwaves are worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mirada, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

For the price (approx $90), this was an excellent deal for our spur of the moment vacation in Tahoe City. We originally planned to stay 2 nights, but ended up staying 4 nights, Monday through Thursday. Our room was on the second floor with a nice view of the Golf Course (a source of entertainment early each morning). There is a common balcony through a back door in the room. The room and bathroom were much smaller then newer chain hotels but we quickly adjusted. The architecture is from the sixties so it was nicely quaint. Our room was very clean and fresh every day. The location cannot be beat, across the street from Common's beach. There is a small breakfast provided (coffee, Juice, plastic wrapped danish), just what you would expect for the price, however, the coffee was excellent. Only small cups are provided, so bring your personal mug to get the required jolt in the mornings. There is an outdoor pool, again it is small in accordance with the architecture, and I believe there is a spa (jacuzzi) over the office area (we did not use). You cannot beat the location and the cleanliness of this motel.

Room Tip: Ask for a second level room facing the gold course. There is a common balcony and a good place for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abvithaoecity, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you Sue M. from Los Angeles. I'm so happy that you had such a "wonderful stay" at our Americas Best Value Inn, Tahoe City. It's always nice to hear how pleased a guest is to find such a "friendly and accommodating staff" at a hotel. We certainly hope you return very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

The hotel was located in a good place on the main drag. We were able to walk across the street to the lake and take a nice stroll down the paths. The room was neat and clean. For information, traffic was very bad on a Tuesday coming into Tahoe City. This is a very congested area even on a weekday. It would probably be extremely congested on the weekends.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, CA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We were upstairs facing the lake.
The place was clean, quiet, and in a great location to walk across the street to the beach or do some window shopping. Oh, great parking as well!!!

We were a little disappointed in the breakfast, but what can you really expect for this amazing price! They did have very good coffee, juice, and danish.

Room Tip: Ask to face the golf course! It's really nice :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tahoe City
Free Parking, M...
Show More
2.2 mi away
Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge
Free Parking, R...
Show More
4.5 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#2 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 stars 659 reviews
Free Breakfast...
Show More
1.2 mi away
Granlibakken Lodge and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free Breakfast...
Show More
0.4 mi away
Aviva Inn
Aviva Inn
#3 of 7 in Tahoe City
4.0 of 5 stars 151 reviews
Budget, Pool, F...
Show More
0.2 mi away
Pepper Tree Inn
Pepper Tree Inn
#4 of 7 in Tahoe City
3.5 of 5 stars 124 reviews
Restaurant, Poo...
Show More
6.8 mi away
Cedar Glen Lodge
Cedar Glen Lodge
#1 of 7 in Tahoe Vista
4.5 of 5 stars 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe

Address: 455 North Lake Boulevard, P.O. Box 84, Tahoe City, CA 96145
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 hotels in Tahoe City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have been AAA rated for over 34 years,FEMA-Approved and the only hotel on North Lake Tahoe having individual heating/Air conditioning units-Activity-Centered between the lake and Golf Course,across street from COMMONS BEACH PLAYGROUND, Amphitheatre and picnic/barbecue facilities & easy walking distance to shopping malls, boat marina and museum. Only 15 minutes from Squaw Valley, Alpine Meadows and Homewood Ski Areas-Ski shuttles are available. We have a seasonal outdoor heated pool and a year-round LAKEVIEW HOT TUB. Enjoy our Premium Beautyrest pillow-top beds, FREE wireless Internet, local calls, inroom coffee/tea makers,continental breakfast, Cable TV/HBO, irons/ironing boards and FREE Parking, large enough for trucks & motor homes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe Hotel Tahoe City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.