We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe

Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   455 North Lake Boulevard, P.O. Box 84, Tahoe City, CA 96145   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Tahoe City
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Location, location, location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised at how cetrally located this hotel is! We could walk 2 minutes in every direction and find a park, beach, hiking trail, or restaurant. Although the rooms might need an updating, it was very clean, esp. the bathroom. We will definitely come back to this hotel again :-)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    39
    17
    4
    4
See reviews for
19
31
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denbigh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

When you first view this motel you may think 'what have I done?'...but don't be fooled by appearances..there are strict ordinances which prevent Tahoe City buildings being changed, apparently, so as to preserve the appearance of the lakeside communities (and possibly to prevent them becoming like South Lake Tahoe which is an awful place!) The accommodation inside took us by surprise. We had booked 4 nights but extended our stay by two nights because the room was so comfortable and clean...and because of the ideal situation to Commons beach and the lake. Although situated on the often busy main road we were not bothered by noise. We loved sitting on the little hot tub verandah watching the lake and the world go by.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abvithaoecity, Co-Owner, Carl Pendleton at Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
We are so happy that you had a "Very enjoyable stay" and extended your stay to a total of six days. Yes, you hit the nail on the head concerning hotel appearances. The TRPA stopped all building around the lake over 30 years ago to, as you stated, "preserve the appearance of the lakeside communities and prevent them from becoming like South Lake Tahoe", which is the place to go if you prefer the gambling. Isn't it great to sit in our "LAKE VIEW HOT TUB" and, as you stated, "watch the world go by"?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Great location. Walking distance to Boathouse Mall, Marina, Jakes on the Lake, Lakeside Pizza plus all the shops on the main drag in Tahoe City. Across the street from Commons Beach.

While the hotel room seemed very clean (smelled like cleaners) it looks like the 80's left their calling card on the decor. Oh my! It could use a serious updating, but my guess is that the owner knows people will keep booking rooms based upon the location alone. We are talking serious Hotel Impossible potential here. Mauve wallpaper, forest green carpets and acoustic ceilings are out.

The pros: there were plenty of pillows, the bed (mattress) itself was comfortable, and there was a nice view of the golf course. The pool was clean and uncrowded although in the middle of a parking lot and unattractive. My only problem with the room other than the tacky polyester bedspreads and scratchy blanket was that when someone smoked outside, the air conditioning intake blew cigarette smoke right into our room. We had to turn it off and this made for an uncomfortable night's sleep because it got stuffy and hot. Not nice!

I'd probably try to stay somewhere else if given more time to plan ahead, but for a last minute reservation this worked for a decent Tahoe getaway.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abvithaoecity, Co-Owner, Carl Pendleton at Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Yes, we are at the best location in Tahoe City between the Golf Course and Commons Beach, a six million dollar investment made by the city about four years ago, including a wonderful playground for the kids.
I'm sorry for your experience with tobacco smoke. All of our rooms are NON-SMOKING and even the non-smokers prefer non-smoking rooms. There was probably a guest on the deck outside your room that went outside the room to have a smoke and your room air conditioner could have picked up a little of the smoke. However, I am sure that had you turned the air conditioner off momentarily, the smoker would have gone back to his room shortly. It was unfortunate that you turned it off for the rest of the night. Guests prefer our motel because we are the only motel on the North Shore having individual room air conditioners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

First visit here based on all the reviews. Great location - right across from Commons Beach. The staff was friendly, the hot tub had nice views of the lake and the pool was generally clean and nicely heated. We received the ABVI discount (15% off room fees plus free upgrade) and got a nice room facing the back of the hotel (patio views of the golf course with no street noise at all). The king beds were really firm and all 3 of us (2 parents, 1 kid) slept well. The breakfast is sparse (brewed coffees, OJ, packaged danishes). Maintenance was also responsive - they fixed our room fans upon request. One suggestion - they might want to put up signs not to leave food in the outside trash/cigarette bins (either bears or raccoons knock them over every night). Another suggestion - remove the rope in the pool that separates the shallow end from the deep end (it is very sharp and actually cut all 3 of us).

Room Tip: Get the ABVI discount card (free registration online).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abvithaoecity, Co-Owner Carl Pendleton at Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
It is very gratifying to read such a glowing report on our motel and the fact that you found our King Bed so firm and comfortable for "all 3 of us-2 parents and one kid"! It sure takes me back to my younger days, although in my younger days, there were no King Beds.
I want you to know that we replaced the pool rope as soon as we read your suggestion. We do value our guest's suggestions very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We have stayed off & on for a few years now, have always been satisfied, and will continue to return!!
We have visited in August, February, July, Oct. - - various times over the last few years.

With the ABVI "club" (discount card - check it out!) we always get a very reasonable deal. Our young son also has a blast here, and always looks forward to coming. Especially with a 7 yr old, we appreciate getting a decent, spacious room for a good value.

Some of the advantages to staying here are;
- less expensive than other local motels, GREAT value for the price
- GREAT location, near the "Blue Agave", "Rosie's"...among other good "eats".
- Fabulous beach & play area literally right across the street!! Convenient in winter or summer!
- Great staff - always helpful & willing to please Willing to help is something's not quite right.
- Pool is never crowded, even in summer
- Basic Continental breakfast goodies (even the simple layout is better than most places
these days - and we appreciate not having to leave the premises immediately in
the a.m.'s looking for breakfast)

Yes, it's a bit dated, but the room is clean and serves its purpose, and we come to Tahoe to be OUTdoors, not in! It's a great value, especially compared to other places nearby that are more $$.

I would recommend this place for one-night, or multiple nights. It's family-friendly, and we'll continue to be repeat customers!!

Room Tip: We have learned to specifically ask for an upstairs room, and/or on the end of the building - - the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Co-Owner at Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Dear jafrju:
What a delightful revue of our motel- Great location-Great family place-Great Value-Fabulous beach & play area-Great Staff-Convenient in winter or summer!! We're so happy that you continue visiting us over and over, using your ABVI "Club" discount to get a "reasonable deal". Thank you again for your very kind and thoughtful comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vista, Ca
Top Contributor
289 reviews 289 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

This is an older motel like many others around Lake Tahoe but it has been kept up very well. Yes, rooms and bathroom are small but everything works and it shows that things have been taken care of. Very adequate for a short stay at a very reasonable price. Basic continental breakfast given in office of juice, coffee and sweet rolls to get your day started. Run by friendly people. Back rooms face golf course but unfortunately view somewhat hindered by the fencing to prevent golf balls from flying in. Back rooms are quiet and also have inside entrance.

Room Tip: 2nd floor back rooms away from road and facing golf course with interior entrances
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Co-Owner at Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Yes, PopTopBob, you got it right! It's an older motel, and, as you stated, "Everything works, and it shows that things have been taken care of." All motels around the lake are older because the Tahoe Regional Planning Agency (TRPA) has restricted construction of any motel for over 35 years in order to save the lake-a very important consideration. Our only "new" and "Modernistic" addition is our individual room air conditioners--the only ones on the North Shore! I took special note of one of your statements-Run by friendly people!" Please visit us again, soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for one night in May. Overall, it's a decent motel. The price was very good, the rooms were a good size. The motel is old and that does show in the rooms. The beds weren't the most comfortable I've slept on. Service was good, and they offer fruit and pastries in the morning. The location is amazing - right across from the lake. We picked up food from the nearby grocery store and ate it at the lake rather than going out for dinner. The motel is waking distance from several restaurants though. I would consider staying here again if we just needed a place to sleep while in Tahoe.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe

Address: 455 North Lake Boulevard, P.O. Box 84, Tahoe City, CA 96145
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Tahoe City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have been AAA rated for over 34 years,FEMA-Approved and the only hotel on North Lake Tahoe having individual heating/Air conditioning units-Activity-Centered between the lake and Golf Course,across street from COMMONS BEACH PLAYGROUND, Amphitheatre and picnic/barbecue facilities & easy walking distance to shopping malls, boat marina and museum. Only 15 minutes from Squaw Valley, Alpine Meadows and Homewood Ski Areas-Ski shuttles are available. We have a seasonal outdoor heated pool and a year-round LAKEVIEW HOT TUB. Enjoy our Premium Beautyrest pillow-top beds, FREE wireless Internet, local calls, inroom coffee/tea makers,continental breakfast, Cable TV/HBO, irons/ironing boards and FREE Parking, large enough for trucks & motor homes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe Hotel Tahoe City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.