We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and simple” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Granlibakken Tahoe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Granlibakken Tahoe to your Saves list
Granlibakken Tahoe
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   725 Granlibakken Rd., Tahoe City, CA 96145   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Tahoe City
Certificate of Excellence
Monterey, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Clean and simple”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We stayed here instead of staying in the Squaw ski resort valley lodges to save money. We simply needed a place to sleep while we were not skiing, so we didn't really take advantage of the other ammenities. Our room at the Granlibakken was in the main building and was quite sufficient. I called ahead of time to let the desk staff know that we would be arriving around midnight and they said the late arrival was not a problem and that if no one was at the desk when we arrived, we would be able to find our room keys on a nearby table in the lobby. It's a little concerning that someone else would be able to simply pick up our room keys, but it was a non-issue because the lobby desk was manned afterall and we were quickly checked in upon arrival. Decor was a bit outdated, but I was more than pleased with the cleanliness of the room. The hairdryer in the bathroom died one evening, but I called the front desk and a (brand new) replacement was brought to our room within just a few minutes. Customer service was great. I give this a 3 out of 5 rating simply because the price seemed a little high for average quality and lack of special touches, but cleanliness and proximity to the ski slopes at Squaw were great.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granlibakken L, Manager at Granlibakken Tahoe, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
We appreciate your review! Thanks so much for being a guest of our Granlibakken Resort and for taking the opportunity to reach out. It's such a pleasure to be able to share our site and services with you. We'd love to share much more of our amenities such as our Cedar House Pub and Treetop Adventure Park. We'd love to host you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    84
    25
    20
    14
See reviews for
104
47
11
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tahoe City, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

The people who work here are the best. They really aim to please and I have only experienced great customer service. The food here too is wonderful, as well as the accommodations are too.
I highly recommend Granlibakken as the place to stay if you are in north Lake Tahoe!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granlibakken L, Manager at Granlibakken Tahoe, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for your kind words. Granlibakken is very pleased that you received amazing customer service. We always aim to exceed all of our customers expectations! Our executive chef recently won a food and wine pairing competition; he's an amazing chef. Next time, check out the Treetop Adventure Course if you can get away from the conference for a couple of hours. Please contact about your next trip to Lake Tahoe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cerrito, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Best place ever if you have small kids.
- Free breakfast makes life easy and hassle free
- sled/ski hill is perfect for the little ones
- The rope course is great for all ages

Just had a great dinner at the Cedar House (on site). Fine dining atmosphere, great food, and kid friendly!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granlibakken L, Manager at Granlibakken Tahoe, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you for your review. Granlibakken is the perfect place for families with young children! We are so happy you enjoyed our breakfast with such a wonderful variety of delicious food. Our Cedar House pub is very kid friendly, while still having a wonderful atmosphere for adults with live music and fireside dining. Please contact us to plan your next trip to Tahoe and Granlibakken!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tahoe City, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

It’s a little off the beaten path, but the food is really good. The lunch counter has one of the best burritos in the area and the atmosphere is pretty cool (it has the feel of an old ski lodge). I have lunch here at least once a week.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Granlibakken Tahoe, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Derek, thank you for reviewing our Snack Bar at Granlibakken's Ski and Sled Hill. We have been told many times that the Snack Bar has the best Mexican food in town! Don't forget to check out our Cedar House Pub this winter, open Fridays and Saturday 5 - 9 PM. As a local, the Pub offers 2 - for - 1 entrees every Friday night! Thank you for your continued patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

I and my family have stayed 4 ski seasons at Granlibakken. The staff are friendly and helpful going above and beyond in make us feel welcome and comfortable. The rooms are a very comfortable and relaxing to place to rest after a day on the slopes. Granlibakken is located with in minutes of great ski destinations such as Squaw Valley, Alpine Meadows and Homewood.

We always start our day with a trip to Granlibakken's breakfast buffet. The food is delicious and fresh. My sons and I enjoy a finishing up the day with a good soak in the Hot Tub. Then we get ready to do all again the next day.

We have made trips to Lake Tahoe in the past 4 years and always look forward to our stay at Granlibakken.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granlibakken L, Manager at Granlibakken Tahoe, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Granlibakken thanks you for your continued patronage. We are pleased that you have gotten to experience all 4 seasons with us, and enjoyed our comfortable and relaxing rooms. Our on-site day spa sounds like it might be the perfect apres ski activity for you, in addition to our hot tub and sauna. Granlibakken would love to help you plan your next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We had a wonderful dinner with friends and family at the Granlibakken Pub. Upon entering the Pub the kids immediatly found a place on the hearth in front of warm and inviting fire. The adults found the bar, ordered a drink and joined the kids at the fireplace while waiting for a table. After a short wait ( while listening to live music) we were seated and had our orders taken right away. Our two favorite dishes were the fish and chips and the Holland Michigan Chicken.The kids scarfed up the burgers and spaghetti as well. All the portions were generous and the price was very reasonable. A great place to go with the family after a day of sledding and skiing on Granlibakken Hill!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Granlibakken Tahoe, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
We agree with you, our Cedar House Pub is a great spot for families! So glad you enjoyed the fireside dining, live music and our popular Bill's Chicken and Fish & Chips. Thank you for taking the time to reach out to us with your kind words. We hope you come back and lodge with Granlibakken, you'll receive 50% off at our snowplay area for the kids when you stay and play!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Family and friends spent Thanksgiving at the resort. The evening feast was incredible and included turkey, stuffing, salads and more. This is a great way to get together with family and spend the evening feasting and then breakfast the next morning included in the room rate.

Room Tip: All rooms were great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Granlibakken Tahoe, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Valerie, we are so pleased you had a wonderful Thanksgiving here at Granlibakken. Our executive chef, Ron Eber, always makes quite the feast every year. It's hard to beat our Thanksgiving package with lodging, dinner and breakfast all included! Thank you so much for taking the time to reach out to us about your stay. We'd love the opportunity to help build your next memorable visit to the area, and we hope that you'll reach out as you plan your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Granlibakken Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granlibakken Tahoe

Address: 725 Granlibakken Rd., Tahoe City, CA 96145
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Tahoe City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Granlibakken Tahoe 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Granlibakken's Tahoe's 74 acre, secluded valley is your very own cozy, alpine getaway. Perfect year-round for groups, weddings and families to connect in an Old Tahoe ambiance. Onsite activities include a treetop adventure park, historic ski & snowboard hill, groomed sled hill, hiking & biking trails, tennis courts and a year-round heated pool and a spa to relax in after all the fun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Granlibakken Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granlibakken Hotel Tahoe City
Granlibakken Resort Tahoe City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Granlibakken Tahoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.