We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place to stay to enjoy all that Lake Tahoe has to offer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Granlibakken Tahoe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Granlibakken Tahoe to your Saves list
Granlibakken Tahoe
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   725 Granlibakken Rd., Tahoe City, CA 96145   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Tahoe City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“The perfect place to stay to enjoy all that Lake Tahoe has to offer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

This is an excellent place to stay when visiting the Lake Tahoe area, spring, summer, fall, and winter. The service is excellent, the staff are friendly. The breakfasts are amazing and are in themselves worth the stay. There's so much to do here in any season - forest trails to hike, snowshoe, cross-country ski, sled (all equipment can be rented on site). The rooms are clean and cozy. It's a couple miles outside of Tahoe City, right on the lake. Lots of bike riding trails in the area and several beaches, both pebble and sand. Very close to Homewood, Alpine Meadows, Squaw Valley ski resorts. Wonderful hot tub, sauna, and heated pool facility on site. Tennis courts on site also. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Granlibakken Tahoe, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
It's such a pleasure to be able to share our resort and region with you, Irina, and we're happy to hear that you've been able to enjoy so many of the offerings of our region. As you noted, no matter the season, there's something for everyone here, and it's all made better by the outgoing hospitality of our knowledgeable team. We'd love the opportunity to help build your next memorable visit to the area, and we hope that you'll reach out as you plan your next getaway. Many thanks again for being our guest and lending us such kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    84
    25
    20
    14
See reviews for
104
46
11
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Novato, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Great Service, nice rooms. We spent Thanksgiving there, where we had a great thanksgiving dinner. Hotel is located in a pine forest near lake Tahoe, with beautiful clean air, nice hiking trails, sauna, open swimming pool and hot tub surrounded by trees. Great breakfast. This is a beautiful place to relax and recharge.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Granlibakken Tahoe, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
It's such a pleasure to be able to share in the holidays alongside our guests, and we're happy to hear that your visit to our Granlibakken Resort was filled with so many positive memories. We strive to provide a relaxing escape for each of our guests, made more so by the amenities of the inviting outdoors around us, and we're so happy to have been able to accomplish this for you and your family. We'd love to host you again in your travels to come, and we encourage you to reach out to our team with any of your future booking needs. Many thanks again for your stay and kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Wonderful! Would stay here again! Worth the money...very clean, nice staff. Overall awesome!!! Breakfast was great! Nice fireplaces! Pool and got tub heated so swimming in the winter was fun! Safe place with numerous key entries. Stay here!!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Granlibakken Tahoe, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Thanks so much for being a guest of our Granlibakken Resort and for taking the time to share such kind words of your visit. We're so happy that you were able to take advantage of so many of our offerings, and we're glad to hear that these and the attentive hospitality of our team left such a favorable impression on your stay. We'd love to welcome you back soon, and we encourage you to reach out as you plan return travels to the Tahoe region. Thanks again for your time and review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocklin, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Went to a Women's Wellness Retreat and had a lovely time. The resort was very nice and the atmosphere beautiful. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Our meals were included at the retreat and the food was delicious. I go to Tahoe a lot and have never stayed here, but now that I know about it, I will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Granlibakken Tahoe, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
It's such a pleasure to welcome newcomers to our property, and we're so glad to hear that your first visit was a memorable one, Jennifer. Whether you're joining us as an individual or larger group, you can take comfort in the attentive services you've come to expect, and we hope that you'll reach out to us again son to experience even more of our world class services. Many thanks again for reaching out and sharing your voice with us; we hope to hear more from you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I stayed here three nights as part of a conference with 200 plus other people. The service was excellent and the staff friendly and hospitable. On several occasions I needed assistance and the young people at the front desk as well as the maintenance staff were helpful.

The lodge sits on a hill flanked by trees thus providing a relaxing setting. I stayed in a one bedroom townhome that was very nice. The furniture is rustic and the linens and toiletries are of good quality.

The food was exceptionally tasty, fresh and beautifully prepared. It's not always easy to prepare for hundreds of people and get everything right, but Grandlibakken did it. They served a variety of dishes that in my opinion were four star quality. Starting breakfast in the morning with warm bread pudding was one of them.

I'll be returning to Granlibakken.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Granlibakken Tahoe, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
We're so happy to have been able to provide your with such a pleasant stay on our property, Rebecca, and we thank you for reaching out with such kind words of your visit. It's always a pleasure to be able to lend our services so newcomers, and whether you're traveling alone or with a large group, you can expect the same level of attentive hospitality from our dedicated team. We look forward to your returning travels, and we encourage you to reach out in the meantime with any booking needs you might have. Many thanks again for being our guest and for extending the courtesy of your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Ct.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Wonderful food, comfortable rooms, amazing service! I went for a conference and found the staff incredibly helpful, the food ample and the rooms rustic as in a true ski lodge experience yet, clean, comfortable and well equipped. I went for a conference and was very satisfied with my experience there. The environment is beautiful and walking distance to the nearest town and to the lake. I had a room with a fireplace, couch, and kitchenette and it satisfied all my needs.

Room Tip: Great solo or, family place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Granlibakken Tahoe, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Whether for business or leisure, it's our pleasure to share the inviting comforts of our property with you, and we're so happy to hear that the visit left such a positive impression on you. We certainly hope that you had some time to escape and to experience some of the many amazing sites and attractions of our area, and we encourage you to reach out again soon to share in even more of what makes our property and region so incomparable. Many thanks again for being our guest and for taking the opportunity to share such kind words of your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurieton, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

There was a beautiful welcoming atmosphere. We were there 5 days... from Australia.
The staff was helpful and always smiling. I must command how helpful they were when a friend had a fall and broke her wrist.
Being part of a 200+ group, we were catered for. The food was magnificent, healthy, vibrant and beautifully presented.
We are looking forward to going back.
We enjoyed meeting Kay, the assistant to the General manager and converse with her. I am convinced that the success of our stay was due largely to her hard work behind the scene.

Room Tip: condo 107a was quiet spacious comfortable and facing the woods...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Granlibakken Tahoe, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
We're so glad to have been able to host your visit to the area, and we wish all our best to your mending friend. Please pass the well wishes along on our behalf. Meanwhile, we'll do the same and extend your gratitude to Kay and the rest of the team for making the visit such a memorable one. It's truly a pleasure to be able to share our world class hospitality with guests like yourself, and we truly appreciate your taking the time to share this in your review. We look forward to hosting you again, and we encourage you to reach out the next time you visit our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Granlibakken Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granlibakken Tahoe

Address: 725 Granlibakken Rd., Tahoe City, CA 96145
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Tahoe City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Granlibakken Tahoe 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Granlibakken's Tahoe's 74 acre, secluded valley is your very own cozy, alpine getaway. Perfect year-round for groups, weddings and families to connect in an Old Tahoe ambiance. Onsite activities include a treetop adventure park, historic ski & snowboard hill, groomed sled hill, hiking & biking trails, tennis courts and a year-round heated pool and a spa to relax in after all the fun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Granlibakken Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granlibakken Hotel Tahoe City
Granlibakken Resort Tahoe City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Granlibakken Tahoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.