We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding May 2013” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Granlibakken Tahoe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Granlibakken Tahoe to your Saves list
Granlibakken Tahoe
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   725 Granlibakken Rd., Tahoe City, CA 96145   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Tahoe City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Santa Rosa, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wedding May 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

This was the best deal for a wedding. Lake Tahoe in the Spring is beautiful and it was easy to go down to the lake to take extra wedding photos. The meal was absolutely delicious and the hotel personnel was a delight. I can't say enough good comments about our experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Granlibakken Tahoe, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Thank you for an outstanding review! We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We sincerely appreciate the feedback, and are happy we could be a part of your special day! The location is certainly wonderful for picture taking! We look forward to seeing you again on many anniversaries and celebrations to come. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    84
    25
    20
    14
See reviews for
104
46
11
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Love the tranquility and peace of the place. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Service is great and the food wonderful. Spectacular variety and always fresh. Lots of organic food and vegetarian dishes. Something good for everyone. Kitchen staff is always there to satisfy your every desire. I will definitely go to Granlibakken again!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Granlibakken Tahoe, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thank you for an excellent review! We are elated to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We sincerely appreciate the time you took to provide your comments and feedback. We will certainly pass your compliments on to our team! We hope that you'll join us again soon, and we look forward to your return to Lake Tahoe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Mama taught me that if I can't say something nice don't say anything at all, but since you asked... my room at Granlibakken was subpar. The comforter was stained. The thermostat was inoperable so the furnace cranked heat 24 hours a day, and I had to sleep with the window open. The TV was 1990 vintage, deeper than it is wide, the remote power button didn't work so I had to walk over and turn on the tv manually. There was no refrigerator or ice bucket. Lastly, the wall hangings (which I could easily forgive if everything else met standard) must have been 40 years old and were made of upholstery.
We saw a bear in the parking lot, which was kind of cool. Food service was generous and plentiful. The mountain air was fresh, trees were beautiful, but even though I was in Lake Tahoe I never saw the lake.
My buddy's room was quite a hike uphill, so every time he wanted to return to his room during a break in the conference he had to make a six minute hike, and became winded at elevation. My room was in the main lodge, but I wouldn't take my family there because of its poor quality and location away from the lake. My wife would have demanded a different room with a clean bed spread.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Granlibakken Tahoe, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thank you for your review. We sincerely apologize for any inconveniences you encountered during your stay. We can assure you this is not the norm. We hope that you'll give us a chance to make it up to you. Please contact the Front Office to further discuss the issues you encountered. We hope that you'll give us another chance, and we look forward to your return to the Granlibakken Resort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I just had my wedding here with 140 guests. We were from out of town and the staff helped us put everything together perfectly. They were very accommodating and flexible. It was the perfect day and our guests loved the accommodations. We will be back for anniversaries and reunions for years to come!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Granlibakken Tahoe, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Thank you for a fantastic review! We are elated to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We sincerely appreciate the time you took to provide your comments and feedback. We are honored that you chose us to be a part of your special day. We hope that you'll join us again soon, and we look forward to your return! Congratulations, and we wish many happy and joyful years for the both of you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmersville, CA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We spent 2 days at the Granlibakken over the Memorial weekend. This lovely resort is tucked in a beautiful wooden area just outside of Tahoe City. We stayed in the Executive Suite. It is like a 2 bedroom apartment. It has a large dining room table and fully equipped kitchen. This suite would work well for a family. Sometimes we ate on our balcony that over looked the forest and sometimes we ate inside at the table. For breakfast we enjoyed the fully cooked breakfast buffet that is served for guests in the main conference building. We were amazed at the wonderful options for breakfast. They had freshly sliced fruit, several egg choices, french toast, potatoes, yogurt, 4 kinds of juice, hot cocoa, 4 kinds of toast, and etc. For activities this resort has a great pool, nature trail and Treetop Adventure Park with a ropes course and zipline. The staff is very kind and welcoming. The beds were very comfortable. We highly recommend this resort and look forward to returning next year. Vickie Central Valley

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Granlibakken Tahoe, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for a fantastic review! We are trhilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. Our team will surely be recognized for their efforts in making your stay memorable. We love hearing how much you enjoyed breakfast as well! We look forward to your return, and hope to see you soon at the Granlibakken!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Chose Granlibakken based on Tripadvisor's positive feedback, Didn't read any of the negative reviews but should have, in hindsight. You can anticipate, then, that I had mixed experiences while there.

They chose to blacktop the driveways on the Friday of a busy Memorial Day weekend...a colossal blunder...the blacktop was gooey and smelly and got on our shoes and in the car and generally everywhere. They also closed some of the driveways, so we had to walk with our luggage held up a long distance, to avoid the rollers of the suitcases to get the gooey stuff on them. When we arrived at our room we realized that it was not a king size, as it was supposed to, so imagine all the way back with the baggage over the gooey stuff to the registration building...a mess by any metric.
we were given a different room, after significant discussions revolving around the fact that not only there was no warning about this situation on their web site, but nobody cared to warn us when we checked in, let alone provide help. This time the walking distance through the goo was much less, the room was significantly better, and it had a king size bed. From that point on the stay was OK, as the blacktop dried out some and we could walk around.
Breakfast was excellent, and the restaurant staff was very friendly.

Room Tip: The rooms in the Aspen lodge were quite good. And the Aspen lodge is newer, hence less musty and not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Granlibakken Tahoe, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for your review. We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay. We certainly did not mean to make your experience so terrible, and we hope to be able to make it up to you some day. Please join us again so we can prove to you why we are worth an excellent review next time! We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Nassau
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We recently visited the Granlibakken Resort & Spa in North Lake Tahoe, California. It is located in a beautiful, forested valley and is quiet, relaxing but very close to lots of amenities. Staying in unit #66 was truly a delight. Recently renovated while maintaining its unique rustic flavor, the place was meticulously clean and very comfortable for our group of six. The bountiful buffet breakfast is not to be missed. We cannot wait to go back..

Room Tip: #66 had very comfortable beds, quiet, clean and newly renovated with charm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Granlibakken Tahoe, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for a fantastic review! We are pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. It sounds like you truly took advantage of our location and it's proximity to the local attractions. We hope that you'll continue to choose us whenever you visit North Lake Tahoe, and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Granlibakken Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granlibakken Tahoe

Address: 725 Granlibakken Rd., Tahoe City, CA 96145
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Tahoe City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Granlibakken Tahoe 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Granlibakken's Tahoe's 74 acre, secluded valley is your very own cozy, alpine getaway. Perfect year-round for groups, weddings and families to connect in an Old Tahoe ambiance. Onsite activities include a treetop adventure park, historic ski & snowboard hill, groomed sled hill, hiking & biking trails, tennis courts and a year-round heated pool and a spa to relax in after all the fun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your Granlibakken Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granlibakken Hotel Tahoe City
Granlibakken Resort Tahoe City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Granlibakken Tahoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.