We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor value!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Granlibakken Tahoe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Granlibakken Tahoe to your Saves list
Granlibakken Tahoe
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   725 Granlibakken Rd., Tahoe City, CA 96145   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Tahoe City
Lincoln, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very poor value!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I grew up in Tahoe (South Shore) and had always heard about the historic Granlibakken Resort. My husband and I, who now live in the Bay Area, wanted to get away for a few days and I thought it might be cool to stay here. What I didn't count on is that this resort has done very little to put money (that it must have because it charges so much) back into the resort to update it and make it a comfortable place for its guests to stay. We were freezing as the place is very poorly insulated with only electric baseboard heating, the mattress was lumpy and thin, the TV and DVD player didn't work properly, the food was only adequate, and the staff was not at all enthusiastic in regards to customer service!

I love the North Shore of Lake Tahoe, but I will definitely look for somewhere else to stay the next time we visit! Very poor value for the money we paid to stay here!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Granlibakken Tahoe, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for your review. We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay. We would love the opportunity to remedy the situation, and hope that you'll contact the Hotel Manager to further discuss the challenges you faced. We hope to hear from you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    76
    24
    19
    14
See reviews for
93
43
10
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We had a great weekend at Granlibakken, enjoying the resort as a base for fun in the snow.

The staff were fantastic. Julio and Katie especially went above and beyond to make sure we had a great time and everything we needed.

We loved:
The facilities, especially the pool and hot tub, onsite ski rentals, cozy restaurant fireplace, and extensive and tasty buffet breakfast.
The staff was great during every interaction, and the owner was so hands-on that he helped us with recommendations and even with recovery from a cross-country ski stumble.

Downside:
Our lodge room was nice looking and in a newer building, so we were surprised to find the heater didn't work particularly well, which was frustrating over such a cold weekend. The sound insulation in the building was also sub-par - we could hear every time someone went up or down the stairs or opened and closed a door on our hallway.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Granlibakken Tahoe, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for a great review! We are pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We apologize for any inconveniences you encountered during your stay, and we wish to make them up to you upon future visits to the Granlibakken. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Granlibakken Resort

Pros: Beautiful Scenery, Excellent Service, Hot Tub and Heated Pool, Delicious Dinners, Included Breakfast Spread, Close to Lake Tahoe's Best Ski Resorts, Equipment Rentals, Family Oriented, New Year's Eve party for guests.

Cons: Wish I could have stayed longer!

I vacationed at Granlibakken Resort in January of 2013. The entire resort was covered in snow and so beautiful. I rented snow shoes from the rental shop and traveled their groomed trail. This led right down to the Truckee river. This was my first time snow shoeing and I had an enjoyable and rewarding experience. Beautiful spot for photo ops. Granlibakken was also very close to top ski mountains including Squaw Valley, North Star, and Alpine Meadows; traveling was easy. Granlibakken also has a ski hill on sight which was a perfect slope for first time skiers. A truly family oriented resort.

The housecleaning crew and staff were very attentive and provided excellent service. There were superb breakfast spreads every morning, and the pub served delicious food (complete with cozy fireplace!). I would highly recommend trying the chicken schnitzel. The hot tub was very large and relaxing. There was also a heated pool and sauna nearby.

Overall, my experience at Granlibakken was outstanding! I would highly recommend this resort for anyone seeking a relaxing ski vacation in a absolutely beautiful location.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Granlibakken Tahoe, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for an outstanding review! We are elated to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We wish you could have stayed longer too! We hope that you'll join us again soon, and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Mar, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Fun but "old school" place. We are empty nesters who booked last minute. Place is perfect for families with little kids but not so much for us. If you are young with no kids, forget this place.
Rooms are dated but fine. Staff with "thin" but nice enough.
We like it quite a bit and location near Homewood and Squaw was terrific.
Pool tough to fins as signage lacking.
But overall, quite fine place.

Room Tip: Watch as some suites have fold up beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Granlibakken Tahoe, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for a great review! We apologize if some things were not up to your expectations. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope that you'll join us again soon so we can show you the world-class service we pride ourselves on! We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I just got back from Granlibakken yesterday and have nothing but nice things to say. This is a refreshing change from the "big corporation" ski resorts. The overall ambience is very warm and comforting. There is much more human interaction between the staff and guests than I have seen in a long while. The food was awesome as well. I was particularly impressed by the salmon and shrimp, which the manager tells me are always sustainably sourced. We had steak one night, and although there must have been 70 people at dinner the grilling was just perfect (somewhere between medium and medium-rare, very good quality meat). The room I got (Executive Lodge) was nicely appointed and spacious.

Among other things, there are a couple of unique characters among the staff who make this place even more enjoyable. If you need advice from a local, ask for Feesh (yes, Feesh, not Fish) the shuttle driver (just make sure you have time to let him finish talking). If a drink and a story are more up your alley, go to the bar and see if Julio is there (there are two Julios, so make sure you get the guy who looks like a weightlifter). The manager is a real nice guy as well, although I didn't catch his name.

Although this is not the most spectacular place in terms of ski slopes, they do have shuttles to all the good places nearby (Squaw Valley/Homewood). There is a very pretty 1-mile trail leading into town which goes by the river. They will even pick you up on the way back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Granlibakken Tahoe, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thank you for a fantastic review! We are elated to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate the time you took to provide your comments and feedback for us and our future guests! Our shuttle service can definitely be very convenient to get you around the city. We hope that you'll join us again soon, and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

My wife and I, our daughter, her husband and their two boys stayed four nights at Granlibakken for the first time and were fortunate to have massive amounts of snow on the ground with more to come. Granlibakken is a great package that features condos, good dining options, and a ski hill suitable for novices (though the cross country experience was about as challenging as you could hope for, especially when there is deep snow). Expert skiiers should go elsewhere.
Getting there was challenging since it was snowing and chains were required on I-80, adding about 1.5 hours to the trip from SF.
The meals were good, but not exceptional. Breakfast is buffet only, but the offerings were plentiful. Avoid the rush by getting to the lodge before 8.
The food in the pub was good and we were treated to a talented saxophonist one night.
My only gripe was with the bartender who brought an opened bottle of wine to our table and did not offer to have anyone taste it.
We stayed in one of the condos overlooking the entrance to the ski area. It was well appointed and warm (once we closed the window that had been left open in our bedroom).
There is an outdoor heated pool (that we didn't try) that opens at 5:00, I think.
It looks like a fun place to go in the summer for tennis and for the treetop adventure course.
One thing lacking is a games room for kids or adults (ping pong, pool, etc.) so if the conditions aren't right for outdoor activity, they will retreat to their ipods.
The staff were very good at snow removal from the paths and stairways.

Room Tip: A condo is probably better than a room in the main lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Granlibakken Tahoe, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. We are so glad your family had a great ski trip. We are proud of our dedicated staff and appreciate your feedback about areas we can improve. Our delicious food and welcoming atmosphere is what keeps our guests coming back. We suggest on your next visit, booking a treatment for you and your wife in our Lighthouse Spa, it's a great way to relax after a day out playing in the snow.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed at Granlibakken for a ski/snow weekend. It's a very family (with kids) friendly environment. Safe grounds, friendly staff, and great prices--especially compared to other resorts in the area. There's a great hill for sledding and an adjacent slope for beginning skiers. Our youngest child took a (very affordable) private lesson and learned tons in just an hour. His instructor (Brian, can I say his name?) was well versed in teaching beginner kids.
The restaurant, Cedar House, was nice as well. I recommend trying their house specialties, including the pastry dessert. Yum. They had a musician playing next to the big fireplace on both nights, which made for a nice, warm environment.
We will be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Granlibakken Tahoe, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. We are thrilled you and your family enjoyed your snowy adventure. I will be sure to let Brian know how much you appreciated the ski lesson. It is very fulfilling when we see families enjoying all of the amenities our resort has to offer. We are also very glad you enjoyed our delicious food and sweet treats. We look forward to welcoming you again soon for another weekend getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Granlibakken Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granlibakken Tahoe

Address: 725 Granlibakken Rd., Tahoe City, CA 96145
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Tahoe City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Granlibakken Tahoe 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Granlibakken's Tahoe's 74 acre, secluded valley is your very own cozy, alpine getaway. Perfect year-round for groups, weddings and families to connect in an Old Tahoe ambiance. Onsite activities include a treetop adventure park, historic ski & snowboard hill, groomed sled hill, hiking & biking trails, tennis courts and a year-round heated pool and a spa to relax in after all the fun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Granlibakken Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granlibakken Hotel Tahoe City
Granlibakken Resort Tahoe City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Granlibakken Tahoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.