We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious Lakeside Stone Residence with Delightful Hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chaney House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tahoe City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chaney House
Save
You added Chaney House to your Saves list
4725 W. Lake Blvd., Tahoe City, CA 96145   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Tahoe City B&B and Inns
Golden, Colorado
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Spacious Lakeside Stone Residence with Delightful Hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

What a treat to drive through stone pillars beneath towering pines overlooking the beauty of Lake Tahoe! The high wooden beams of the 1920s-era living room beckoned us with its warmth. Our room was the Master Suite - lots of space, quiet, private, upstairs, comfortable king-sized bed, charming furnishings, roomy closet and private bathroom. One joy was waking in the morning seeing sunlight highlighting the various colors of the pines. Our hosts, Lori and Gary, made us feel as welcome as welcome can be: scrumptious breakfasts, wine and nibbles at 5 p.m., and great dinner recommendations - Sunnyside, Beacon Bar and Grill, Wolfdales, River Grill, and River Ranch. What a week!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
22
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

Staying at The. Chaney House for four days was a real treat. The accomodations are wonderful and the breakfasts cooked by Laurie Chaney are absolutely gourmet quality. The house is picturesquely located on the shore of Lake Tahoe. I have traveled extensively and am very familiar with Tahoe including boating all over the lake. This is place for an old Tahoe hand or a first time visitor. Gary Chaney is well informed on the lake and can help you plan your day, He is both an expert boating but winter sports too. Would strongly recommend The Chaney House for anyone who wants a wonderful experience in one of the most beautiful places on earth.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McQueeney, Texas
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I cannot say enough about the Cheney House. The owners are lovely people..very accomodating and genuine. The house and grounds are beautiful. Breakfast out on the porch or in the dining room each is not only tasty, the presentation is lovely. Early evening wine sipping with the owner in the family room is a wonderful way to meet the other guests as well as learn a lot about the area. Highly recommend this B&B if you're planning a trip to the area.

Room Tip: We stayed in Jeanine's Room. Lovely!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We were driving along and discovered this beautiful looking historic house and when we pulled in we were immediately welcomed by Gary & Lori they sat us down with a glass of wine most welcome after our long drive. The room was very clean and comfortable with all toiletries provided. We had access to the lounge room and also had the offer of blankets if we wished to stargaze out on the jetty on the lake. We went out for a lovely dinner at river grill on recommendation from Gary it was delicious. The rooms are lovely although not soundproof not that this was a problem to us but could be if there were noisy guests staying. We had a baked egg with spinach and a cheese sauce for breakfast also melon and Danish pastry. Very warm hospitable people would definitely recommend

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We recently stayed at the Chaney House and found Gary and Lori to be the warmest B&B hosts we have ever encountered. They make everyone feel welcome and Gary takes special care in making sure that guests are well set with their plans for the day (in our case hiking and dinner reservations). They are both very warm people and create a very friendly social atmosphere. The afternoon wine socials are a lot of fun. Lori's breakfast dishes are yummy and hearty. We would definitely come back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

The warmth of the host and hostess make this a standout B&B. More than a lodging, it is a welcoming mileu.

It is also well-situated for hiking, with many fine trails nearby.

You will not go wrong staying at the Chaney House!

Room Tip: The floors are a bit creaky. If you are a sensitive sleeper you might prefer an upper story room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Louisiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Gary and Lori are charming hosts. Lori's breakfasts were outstanding. The house is absolutely gorgeous, and rich in history. Whenever travels take us back to Tahoe, the Chaney House will be our home away from home.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chaney House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaney House

Address: 4725 W. Lake Blvd., Tahoe City, CA 96145
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe City
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Tahoe City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chaney House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.