We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chaney House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tahoe City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chaney House
Save Saved
You added Chaney House to your Saves list
4725 W. Lake Blvd., Tahoe City, CA 96145   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Tahoe City B&B and Inns
McQueeney, Texas
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Loved it!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I cannot say enough about the Cheney House. The owners are lovely people..very accomodating and genuine. The house and grounds are beautiful. Breakfast out on the porch or in the dining room each is not only tasty, the presentation is lovely. Early evening wine sipping with the owner in the family room is a wonderful way to meet the other guests as well as learn a lot about the area. Highly recommend this B&B if you're planning a trip to the area.

Room Tip: We stayed in Jeanine's Room. Lovely!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
22
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We were driving along and discovered this beautiful looking historic house and when we pulled in we were immediately welcomed by Gary & Lori they sat us down with a glass of wine most welcome after our long drive. The room was very clean and comfortable with all toiletries provided. We had access to the lounge room and also had the offer of blankets if we wished to stargaze out on the jetty on the lake. We went out for a lovely dinner at river grill on recommendation from Gary it was delicious. The rooms are lovely although not soundproof not that this was a problem to us but could be if there were noisy guests staying. We had a baked egg with spinach and a cheese sauce for breakfast also melon and Danish pastry. Very warm hospitable people would definitely recommend

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We recently stayed at the Chaney House and found Gary and Lori to be the warmest B&B hosts we have ever encountered. They make everyone feel welcome and Gary takes special care in making sure that guests are well set with their plans for the day (in our case hiking and dinner reservations). They are both very warm people and create a very friendly social atmosphere. The afternoon wine socials are a lot of fun. Lori's breakfast dishes are yummy and hearty. We would definitely come back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

The warmth of the host and hostess make this a standout B&B. More than a lodging, it is a welcoming mileu.

It is also well-situated for hiking, with many fine trails nearby.

You will not go wrong staying at the Chaney House!

Room Tip: The floors are a bit creaky. If you are a sensitive sleeper you might prefer an upper story room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Louisiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Gary and Lori are charming hosts. Lori's breakfasts were outstanding. The house is absolutely gorgeous, and rich in history. Whenever travels take us back to Tahoe, the Chaney House will be our home away from home.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

After travelling for approximately 7 hours from Yosemite to Lake Tahoe, we were greeted at Chaney House by Gary and Lori, an extremely friendly couple who immediately made us feel right at home. It was an instant reminder of why B&Bs can offer a much more welcoming and personal experience than any hotel. It definitely felt more like we were staying with relatives rather than strangers!

We stayed in the Russell suite which was cosy, had a huge bed and had a view (if you crouch down!) of the lake. The only slight negatives were that access was only up through a spiral staircase which was tricky with a larger suitcase, so if you’re travelling with a lot of stuff I would advise one of the other rooms. Also if you’re much taller than 5’8” you might struggle with the low shower head.

The location on the west shore was perfect, it’s within easy reach of some fine walks and quiet beaches and there are lots of good dining options nearby. We were very impressed with the Sunnyside restaurant in Tahoe City (5 min drive away) and the Swiss restaurant that’s within 10 minutes walk.

Breakfasts were typically a fruit course followed by a help-yourself selection of pastry / loaf cake and an egg course. While some of the Mexican-style egg dishes were not to our taste (although it was nice to try something different!) they were cooked very well by Lori and there was plenty of food to fill up on. In the afternoon there’s complementary cheese and wine, which was a great time to relax outside under the patio heater chatting to Gary, Lori and the other guests.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Co Down, UK
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011 via mobile

Gary and Lori will really look after you in this great B&B.! This is our second visit and neither have disappointed us in any way. Lori's breakfasts are unsurpassed. Gary has a fantastic local knowledge and you might also see some local fauna in the yard. Locality is very good for great local restaurants and activities. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chaney House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaney House

Address: 4725 W. Lake Blvd., Tahoe City, CA 96145
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe City
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Tahoe City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chaney House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.