We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommend a nicer hotel, but would stay here again if needed.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mother Nature's Inn

Mother Nature's Inn
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tahoe City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mother Nature's Inn
Save
You added Mother Nature's Inn to your Saves list
551 North Lake Blvd., Tahoe City, CA 96145   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Tahoe City
Sacramento, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Recommend a nicer hotel, but would stay here again if needed.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

This hotel is convenient. It is located across the street from the beach and is within walking distance to some of the best restaurants in town. We chose this hotel because we decided at the last minute to take a vacation on the 4th of July and this was the only hotel that had rooms left in downtown Tahoe City. And since they were the only hotel with rooms left and the prices were still relatively cheap, we were expecting a dive for a hotel. We were pleasantly surprised. It was clean, cozy, and quaint. There are a few things that we did not care for though...

The window coverings were cheap blinds with really thin (cheap) curtains that were so light weight that they used yarn as ties to pull them back. This meant that however light it was outside is how light it was inside. There was a solution though, you can put a blanket over the window. The window on the other side of the room was worse. Technically, it was the bathroom window so it was high, small and glazed so they did not have any curtains at all. However, since the sun came up on that side of the building, at 5:30/6:00 in the morning, our room was very bright really early. Again, we were able to stuff the bed pillows in the window for the remainder of our stay and it worked nicely. The only other issue was Friday night. Because the hotel is located right next to something that was playing music, it was a little noisy. Saturday night was not an issue. However, there is a wall unit air conditioner in the window that covered up the noise relatively nicely. So there are solutions to the issues, but we would have preferred to pay a little more to get a room that did not have these issues. If this hotel was the only option for future trips, we would probably do it again but be prepared to deal with the issues a little better.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    17
    4
    2
    4
See reviews for
13
22
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Eureka, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

I love unique, friendly and convenient places that make me smile, and this Inn was all of those things.
1) Great decor (mountain rustic that that the owner also sells in the fairly large furniture store in front), 2) The most pet-friendly place I've ever been to (a special pet sheet to throw over the bed, food and water bowls, treats and a dog park around the corner, 3) Very friendly (a personalized welcome note/board, helpful staff...) 4) Easy walking to everything that Tahoe City has to offer (historical sites, city park and beach, pier, lots of restaurants, shops, etc.)

Neighbors were a little noisy, but stopped after 9:30 pm. I've already recommended this place to friends, and I will definitely stay at this place again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

One of the best pet friendly hotels ever!!! We were greeted with 2 friendly ladies in the store and given our keys! Our room had a welcome message to us and our dog! Plus, cute dog bowls and an awesome blanket for boomer to sleep on!
Shower was nice and hot, room was clean and comfortable! Thank you!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

You could easily walk past Mother Nature's Inn on the street and not realize that there is a hotel here, as the rooms are in the back of a furniture store. Nonetheless, we enjoyed our stay here and found that the somewhat out-of-the-way location really helped to keep things quiet and peaceful. We brought our dog with us and were pleasantly surprised by the additional amenities of the pet-friendly rooms - doggie treats, bowls, and an extra sheet to put down on the bed. Be aware if you bring pets that their policy is that you cannot leave them unattended in the room while you're out and about. This wasn't an inconvenience for us, as our dog doesn't seem to mind sitting in the car by himself.

The hotel has a nice website, but no online reservations. This led to the only hiccup of our stay, as the receptionist accidently booked us for Friday and Saturday nights, whereas we were actually planning to stay Saturday and Sunday nights. Fortunately, there were rooms available and everything worked out, although we did have to change rooms for the second night. Hotel staff were very accommodating in honoring our reservation and even offered to move our bags for us.

While the hotel doesn't offer a view of the lake, we found both of the rooms we stayed in to be quite nice. We liked the rustic furnishings and the free Wi-Fi worked very well. Our room had a small refrigerator, but if you want to microwave something, you'll have to use the communal microwave down the hall.

The hotel is very conveniently located in the middle of Tahoe City, and you can walk to just about any place in town in 10 minutes or less. Rosie's Cafe is right next door, and is an excellent place for a meal. The lakeshore is across the street and down a flight of stairs.

Overall, this was a nice, cozy hotel with reasonable rates and a great location. We really enjoyed our visit and would definitely stay here again next time we're in town.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonopah, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

When we arrived the women gave us our key. When we went to our room there was a naked man inside, apparently they have our room away. The women was very unapologetic and said, "What do you want me to do about it?". We were left with no room for the night even though we made our reservations months in advance. Lucky the women at the Tamarack Lodge saved the day, it was a much nicer place anyways.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inland USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Attending conference at nearby resort. Resort full. I just needed bed and shower. This room better than I expected. Decor was a little different to me; which was a plus. Clean in appearance. Light wear visible in carpet. Had a short sharp noise - source unknown -which woke me. I think it was another guest operating something outside. One night, I could hear neighbors yappy little dog. But window A/C drowned the yap well enough. The window unit runs constantly. That is a plus vs on and off cycling. I used no service. Parking good. Coffee shop nearby.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed at Mother Nature's Inn last September which is the start of Tahoe's slow season, but awesome weather in my opinion. Rustic cabin furniture, small refrigerator, TV, full bath. All you need. Walk across the street to Lake Tahoe. Walk to many restaurants and shops. Perfect place for an individual or couple to stay.

We go to Tahoe often in the Summer since it is only an hour and a half from our house.

This is where we like to stay before the Winter and then head to our Winter getaway at Villa La Estancia, Nuevo Vallarta. We are looking to see if Mother Nature's Inn would consider doing an exchange with us for our Villa. Maybe an special offer to their Summer guests on where to stay in Mexico in the winter?

Brad & Joey
Villa 1302
Villa La Estancia, Nuevo Vallarta, Mexico

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms. No views from any of the rooms we've stayed in, but we are only in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Mother Nature's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mother Nature's Inn

Address: 551 North Lake Blvd., Tahoe City, CA 96145
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe City
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Tahoe City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Mother Nature`s Hotel Tahoe City
Mother Natures Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mother Nature's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.