We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice pet-friendly hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mother Nature's Inn

Mother Nature's Inn
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tahoe City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mother Nature's Inn
Save Saved
You added Mother Nature's Inn to your Saves list
551 North Lake Blvd., Tahoe City, CA 96145   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Tahoe City
Paso Robles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very nice pet-friendly hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

You could easily walk past Mother Nature's Inn on the street and not realize that there is a hotel here, as the rooms are in the back of a furniture store. Nonetheless, we enjoyed our stay here and found that the somewhat out-of-the-way location really helped to keep things quiet and peaceful. We brought our dog with us and were pleasantly surprised by the additional amenities of the pet-friendly rooms - doggie treats, bowls, and an extra sheet to put down on the bed. Be aware if you bring pets that their policy is that you cannot leave them unattended in the room while you're out and about. This wasn't an inconvenience for us, as our dog doesn't seem to mind sitting in the car by himself.

The hotel has a nice website, but no online reservations. This led to the only hiccup of our stay, as the receptionist accidently booked us for Friday and Saturday nights, whereas we were actually planning to stay Saturday and Sunday nights. Fortunately, there were rooms available and everything worked out, although we did have to change rooms for the second night. Hotel staff were very accommodating in honoring our reservation and even offered to move our bags for us.

While the hotel doesn't offer a view of the lake, we found both of the rooms we stayed in to be quite nice. We liked the rustic furnishings and the free Wi-Fi worked very well. Our room had a small refrigerator, but if you want to microwave something, you'll have to use the communal microwave down the hall.

The hotel is very conveniently located in the middle of Tahoe City, and you can walk to just about any place in town in 10 minutes or less. Rosie's Cafe is right next door, and is an excellent place for a meal. The lakeshore is across the street and down a flight of stairs.

Overall, this was a nice, cozy hotel with reasonable rates and a great location. We really enjoyed our visit and would definitely stay here again next time we're in town.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    14
    2
    2
    4
See reviews for
10
21
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tonopah, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

When we arrived the women gave us our key. When we went to our room there was a naked man inside, apparently they have our room away. The women was very unapologetic and said, "What do you want me to do about it?". We were left with no room for the night even though we made our reservations months in advance. Lucky the women at the Tamarack Lodge saved the day, it was a much nicer place anyways.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inland USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Attending conference at nearby resort. Resort full. I just needed bed and shower. This room better than I expected. Decor was a little different to me; which was a plus. Clean in appearance. Light wear visible in carpet. Had a short sharp noise - source unknown -which woke me. I think it was another guest operating something outside. One night, I could hear neighbors yappy little dog. But window A/C drowned the yap well enough. The window unit runs constantly. That is a plus vs on and off cycling. I used no service. Parking good. Coffee shop nearby.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed at Mother Nature's Inn last September which is the start of Tahoe's slow season, but awesome weather in my opinion. Rustic cabin furniture, small refrigerator, TV, full bath. All you need. Walk across the street to Lake Tahoe. Walk to many restaurants and shops. Perfect place for an individual or couple to stay.

We go to Tahoe often in the Summer since it is only an hour and a half from our house.

This is where we like to stay before the Winter and then head to our Winter getaway at Villa La Estancia, Nuevo Vallarta. We are looking to see if Mother Nature's Inn would consider doing an exchange with us for our Villa. Maybe an special offer to their Summer guests on where to stay in Mexico in the winter?

Brad & Joey
Villa 1302
Villa La Estancia, Nuevo Vallarta, Mexico

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms. No views from any of the rooms we've stayed in, but we are only in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We were here during the off season so had no trouble booking the day-of-arrival for 2 nights (Friday and Saturday). It is in the perfect location to walk everywhere in Tahoe City, the west side of the Lake. We checked in at the Mother's Nature Store and were greeted by a very friendly lady. The store closes at 5, but just call the phone number (530-581-4278 or 800-558-4278) and the innkeeper will come check you in if you arrive later. They have only 8 rooms but the rooms are decorated with a log cabin feel and are very homey and comfortable. There is a coffee maker in the room and a microwave in the hallway. The room had a coatrack, desk, phone, plenty of shelves, was spacious, a great bed, was quiet, and had free, fast wifi. It is across the street from the lake. We would definitely come back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night on our way from the Midwest to the West Coast. We loved being able to walk across the street and sit in the park, enjoying the view of Lake Tahoe, and taking a walk on the trail just below that park. We had a great dinner at Hacienda, overlooking the lake, and a lovely breakfast at Syd's Bagelry, just across the street. The room itself was cute and quite comfortable. One downside was that we had a very hard time controlling the heat; we turned it on, it got uncomfortably warm, we turned it way down, and it stayed uncomfortably warm. Also there was no ice whatsoever in the cabinet where the ice was supposed to be. The place was clean and the proprietor was pleasant and helpful. Since the inn is behind a home decor store on the road directly across from the lake, one cannot see the lake from the rooms. Also it is important to note that there is no elevator; this didn't cause us a problem but it might be important to others. The price was excellent for the location. We were glad we stayed!

Room Tip: If carrying your bags up a flight of stairs is a problem for you, make sure to ask for a room on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarasota
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

This place is clean and comfortable and really loved by the owners. The only issue is the paper thin walls. It's an old quaint place where the thin walls will always be the same. If you are lucky like we were it will be annoying at most. The owners take really good care of this place and even the pet rooms have special features just for the pets. One of the two of us won't go back; I would give it another try.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mother Nature's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mother Nature's Inn

Address: 551 North Lake Blvd., Tahoe City, CA 96145
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Tahoe City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Mother Nature`s Hotel Tahoe City
Mother Natures Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mother Nature's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.