We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hellman-Ehrman Mansion

Hellman-Ehrman Mansion
Highway 89 at Pine Street, Tahoe City, CA 96145
530 525 7982
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #7 of 21 attractions in Tahoe City
Type: Historic Sites
Attraction Details
california
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Our tour guide was knowledgable, local and very, very nice.
The home is wonderful and it was fun to take this trip back in time. Just sitting on the front porch watching the lake was relaxing and a great way to take a break.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Redwood City, California
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A lovely old authentic tahoe home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This is a great place to picnic, and to visit the ol HELLMAN-ERHMAN Mansion. We have gone through many times, and each time learn something new, This is a good way to see how the rich and famous vacationed.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaker Heights, Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Worth finding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We had trouble finding this as it is in a park. We parked and headed for the lake instead of the mansion. But the walk was lovely and we saw the mansion up on the hill. We peaked in windows. There were tours available but we were in a hurry. I think the tour would be interesting.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“beautiful grounds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Our family spent some time in Lake Tahoe and were busy with kayaking, hiking and boating most of the time. We took some time away from all the sports to see this mansion and really enjoyed all the information that Dave (the docent) provided about the home and the history of the Lake Tahoe area. The home has many interesting features and there are beaches and areas to walk around the grounds. We really learned a lot about the history and nature of the area.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“How the wealthy lived a hundred years ago.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Docent guided tour through a portion of the enormous mansion.
Original kitchen and many original furnishings. Nice beach in front. Well worth the time for tour. Smaller children may be bored. Grounds are enormous.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hellman-Ehrman Mansion also viewed

Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Hellman-Ehrman Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hellman-Ehrman Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

You added Hellman-Ehrman Mansion to your Saves list