We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch resort dining” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wolfdale's

Wolfdale's
640 N Lake Blvd, Tahoe City, CA 96145
530-583-5700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Wolfdale's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 55 Restaurants in Tahoe City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Grove St.
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
334 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Top notch resort dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Wolfdale's pretty much exemplified top-notch dining in an area like North Lake Tahoe. Most of the competition is (at best) over-priced, not really top quality ingredients or prep, and suffering service issues - and dependent on location, location, location to rescue them.
By contrast, Wolfdale's starts with a great location, then layers on top quality ingredients, outstanding preparation, and excellent service, to yield a very solid 4 star experience.
So far, this is the pick of the crop (by a nose, over the Rustic Lounge) for Lake Tahoe.
The halibut was superb, as was the Rib Eye special and the Thai Seafood Stew.
Very nice wine list ($$$).
The bocce court was a very classy way to spend the time waiting for our table!
Will return for any special occasion in the area!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    24
    8
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We are in Lake Tahoe for 10 days - ate at Wolfdales tonight. The setting - our table for 2 overlooking the water- was great. We started with the chicken dumplings and tuna poke cones. Both were terrific.. They make a nice martini as well! I had the halibut which was so good we may cancel elsewhere and return to have it again before the trip is over. My husband had lamb shank and said it was great. They have a lovely wine list - w had Merry Edwards Pinot which was great. Service was attentive but not irritating. This restaurant could hold up in major cities. Highly recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
186 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Good Food, overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We went here July 16th, after eating at Jake's. we had the venison, which was excellent (and not gamely at all), and the seafood stew. Nothing outstanding about the stew. We ordered a 2009 tempranillo, which was the best value on the wine list, and it was excellent. The blueberry crisp was very small for the price. The waitress was not attentive, so we had to ask for the check.

Summing it up: the entrees are too expensive for what you get. I expect more from my food when paying this much. Also, we were in a corner away from the outside, so we had no view, either.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodside, California, Usa
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Ummm Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Great food, fun crowd, generous well drinks, warm atmosphere and don't miss the opportunity to sit outside.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I was there Sunday with friends. Of course, the view of the lake is great. The atmosphere is warms and friendly and not at all stuffy. There is something on the menu for everyone.
Each of us ordered something different but, cocktails, wine, salads, small plates, sides, entrees - ALL perfection. Service was good. The sauce for the spring rolls was SO good, I ate the leftover sauce with the rolls. If you want extraordinary, this is the place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wolfdale's also viewed

Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Wolfdale's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wolfdale's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.