We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food but expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of River Grill

River Grill
55 W Lake Blvd, Tahoe City, CA 96145
530-581-2644
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 54 restaurants in Tahoe City
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Clare
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Delicious food but expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We had a beautiful evening meal here but it was expensive. The food was delicious and service very good.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    40
    30
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Pelham, Alabama
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful meal and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

The food was delicious, beautifully served and service were superb. My husband and I were fortunate it was an evening when we could sit on the deck under the warming lamps next to the river. Beautiful view at sunset on the river and tranquil location watching the ducks swim by.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilsonville, Oregon
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Delightful Dinner!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Upon arriving in Tahoe City, we unpacked and visited downtown. Since it was dinner hour, we stopped at the River Grill. What a pleasant surprise. The weather was nice so we opted to eat on the deck. The food we ordered was very good and the waiters were attentive. The night we were there, they had a fellow playing guitar and singing solo a number of tunes. It was extremely enjoyable and made for a wonderful evening of good food and excellent entertainment. We definitely would return to this restaurant.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Always great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This is a place that we always enjoy going to ... it is right on the Truckee River, has gas space heaters on the deck and live music (at least last night night).

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Great Happy Hour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

This restaurant is located right off of hwy 89 and tucked in a little alley so can be missed as we did for quite sometime. It is frequented by locals and tourists and the dining experience was great, but Happy Hour is really good too. Their outdoor seating has fire pits and heaters so eating outside is a must as you sit along side the Truckee River.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River Grill also viewed

Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to River Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.